We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great but the bathroom!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Everything was great, it had great facilities and just far enough down the esplanade to get away from the tourists.

However, our bathroom had mould all over it and all the silicon around the edges was green with mould. the glass was all soap stained and the tiles were stained with left over shampoo. We got the cleaner to come and disinfect the bathroom but not all the stains and mould could ne removed....needs to seriously be replaced as that really let it all down!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L_P110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a nice hotel to stay in Cairns although it is a little walk form the main area. The rooms were nice and bright and my boyfriend said the gym was also good. We didn't spend much time in the pools but the staff were very friendly. It is also just 15 mins form the airport.

Room Tip: I think paying extra for the sea view was worth it. You could see all around the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Suzi C,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our friendly staff looked after you.

Hope to see you back again.

Regards,
Chinmay & the Rydges Esplanade team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I found this hotel to be decent and affordable as a family hotel within walking distance of Cairns. They have laundry facilities and a great pool and buffet.
They are also environmentally friendly by using organic products that aren't tested on animals. Well done !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear LE,

Thanks you very much for quick and nice review about us. We are glad to know you enjoyed your recent stay with at Rydges Esplanade Cairns and hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,

Chinmay and the team @ Rydges Esplanade Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although this is one the outer edge of the Esplanade it is still within walking distance to everything. A great place that has extremely comfortable beds, just what you need after a days pounding the streets or out on the reef. We upgraded to an Ocean View room and this was the right thing to do, given the fantastic sunrises and watching the boats go out to the reef. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THanel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear THanel2014,

Thank you very much for a lovely feedback about your recent stay.

We have to agree that our ocean view rooms offer stunning view of the esplanade. Ocean view room balcony is the perfect place for enjoying sunrise and watching boats pass by while you unwind after a long day of sight seeing. Glad to know you loved your stay.

Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Chinmay and the team @ Rydges Esplanade Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Coming from the Stamford in Sydney the night before I just didn't enjoy the hotel that much the rooms are only just average cleaned as you can tell the daily clean is OK, but lamps ,mirrors, wall tiles etc was overlooked, not blaming the cleaning lady, but perhaps a deep clean should be scheduled every week as there is dust and dirt in many of the extra little places that gets overlooked by the daily clean. The Asian guy who checked us into the hotel was very average in making us feel welcome, I felt like I was buying chewing gum at a Seven Eleven, not checking into a high standard hotel, no info about anything, so we thought the only pool was the freezing one at the front of the hotel, 2 days later discovered that the kids pool at the back was heated !! Just average, management could take this to a top level hotel with better staff training. The facilities are all there !!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank bela1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I regretted the choice to stay at this hotel from the moment I walked into the lobby upon arrival. They did not have the room we requested and we had to settle. The room was musty, the carpet was dirty, and if you opened the balcony doors to get fresh air the smoke from others came into the room. Also the internet never worked.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location. Close to the airport and the marina.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Robert-RRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We upgraded to an Ocean view room and I regret it . The ocean view was small and long way away . Our corner room was really disappointing I would have been happy to pay less and not have the "view" . On the upside the bed was comfortable. Most staff members were nice and helpful. I'm glad we were only passing through. I would not rush to tell my friends about it when there is so much choice on the Esplanade .

Room Tip: Check how much Ocean View you are getting first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annapashmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $86 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing