We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although this is one the outer edge of the Esplanade it is still within walking distance to everything. A great place that has extremely comfortable beds, just what you need after a days pounding the streets or out on the reef. We upgraded to an Ocean View room and this was the right thing to do, given the fantastic sunrises and watching the boats go out to the reef. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THanel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear THanel2014,

Thank you very much for a lovely feedback about your recent stay.

We have to agree that our ocean view rooms offer stunning view of the esplanade. Ocean view room balcony is the perfect place for enjoying sunrise and watching boats pass by while you unwind after a long day of sight seeing. Glad to know you loved your stay.

Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Chinmay and the team @ Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    408
    231
    78
    38
See reviews for
263
327
77
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Coming from the Stamford in Sydney the night before I just didn't enjoy the hotel that much the rooms are only just average cleaned as you can tell the daily clean is OK, but lamps ,mirrors, wall tiles etc was overlooked, not blaming the cleaning lady, but perhaps a deep clean should be scheduled every week as there is dust and dirt in many of the extra little places that gets overlooked by the daily clean. The Asian guy who checked us into the hotel was very average in making us feel welcome, I felt like I was buying chewing gum at a Seven Eleven, not checking into a high standard hotel, no info about anything, so we thought the only pool was the freezing one at the front of the hotel, 2 days later discovered that the kids pool at the back was heated !! Just average, management could take this to a top level hotel with better staff training. The facilities are all there !!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bela1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I regretted the choice to stay at this hotel from the moment I walked into the lobby upon arrival. They did not have the room we requested and we had to settle. The room was musty, the carpet was dirty, and if you opened the balcony doors to get fresh air the smoke from others came into the room. Also the internet never worked.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location. Close to the airport and the marina.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RRSATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We upgraded to an Ocean view room and I regret it . The ocean view was small and long way away . Our corner room was really disappointing I would have been happy to pay less and not have the "view" . On the upside the bed was comfortable. Most staff members were nice and helpful. I'm glad we were only passing through. I would not rush to tell my friends about it when there is so much choice on the Esplanade .

Room Tip: Check how much Ocean View you are getting first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapashmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nice, large rooms with free wifi available throughout the hotel - apparently a rarity in Australia. I had a balcony with a nice view of the pool and the bay. The staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good. It was about a 10-15 minute walk into the main part of town along the boardwalk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank slaventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear slaventure,

Thanks you very much for a nice review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation in Australia and we were part of it to make it memorable.

Regards,
Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a beautiful hotel! It's quite a large hotel right on the Esplanade which is a perfect location for Cairns, short walking distance to all bars and restaurants. It has 3 pools, a gym, spa, tennis court, bar and restaurant. The rooms are very, very clean and spacious we had 2 double beds in our room which was lovely. Large balcony with an amazing sea view. I would upgrade to a sea view room it's worth that little bit extra. Free wifi and very helpful staff, can't fault it!!!

Room Tip: Sea View!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kello O,

Thanks you very much for a lovely review about us.

We are please to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I stay with there with my mother recently and discovered the beds don't get maid. We were there for 4 nights and never had our beds made, we received new towels but never a made bed. Other then that the beds were comfortable, and the oven view was great!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darcie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.9 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing