We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Bangalore
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Rydges Esplanade Cairns in Aug'13 - liked the hotel for its tidy and friendly outlook. Highly competitive prices at a hot tourist destination. Hotel is ideally located and close the sea front. Good breakfast spread

Room Tip: Good place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsuresha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Rsuresha, thank you for your great review, glad to read you enjoyed our buffet breakfast.

I hope you have enjoyed your stay in Australia.

Hope to see you again sometime.

Shannon and the team at Rydges Esplanade Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    463
    250
    83
    42
See reviews for
296
369
86
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Have stayed 5 nights in this hotel, great spacious rooms and comfortable beds. View terrific and all reception staff could not do more. Great for booking your tours as well. Location is good, about 5-10 minutes to the center, which is nothing at all, you get the benefit of being a bit far away from numerous backpackers. Would always come back to this hotel. Pool was big and the swim there fantastic!

Room Tip: ask for the ocean view, which should not be too difficult to get it is fronting the ocean anyway :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a great trip to Cairns, and appreciated the time we spent at the Rydges.

Overall the staff was friendly, mostly knowledgeable and gave good advice about the city, the attractions, and tours offered. The biggest problem for this hotel is it's location, it's a good 15-20 minute walk from the Pier, so there aren't many options for entertainment or restaurants close by. There are many, many other hotels further up the esplanade from the center, so it's by no means the worst, but it feels a bit lonely at night.

The second problem is the hotel internet costs 29 AUD/night. Several other people have commented that backpacker hostels offer free wifi, and management has responded that wiring the hotel is expensive. While this may be true, at this point wifi is an old technology, and hotels have had connectivity for more than 10 years, so the capital costs should have been mostly recooped. As such, for 29 AUD/night, it's a better deal to buy at Telstra or Optus LTE router rather than support a business that charges because they can.

In looking at the other reviews, a few people mentioned that the hotel felt a bit dated. While our refrigerator looked like it came from the 1980s, the rest of the hotel was in above average condition. At no point did I feel like we stayed in a run-down establishment.

Lastly, a very minor grip, but like most hotels across Asia and Oceania, there's only powdered coffee and a hot water heater in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radioactive76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Was only at the hotel for one night before going on a 3 day snorkel trip on the Great Barrier Reef. They still upgraded us to a top floor Ocean View room for no charge. Very thoughtful. The room itself was clean and the bed perfect to catch up on some much needed intercontinental travel sleep. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello Griffin L, glad you enjoyed your upgrade and that spectacular view..

We hope you loved your trip to the reef.

Shannon and the Team at Rydges Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hardly any staff and seemed a bit disorganized. Great view though and free parking is always nice. We didn't try the buffet though as there was a little waterfront restaurant a quick stroll away that was also next to a park. Very old and tired rooms but fully functional. The location is at the far end of the esplanade so besides the one restaurant you are 20 minutes from the rest of the restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domstar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our first time in Cairns and we had an amazing time. the hotel was well situated on the beach front ,clean and serviced well every day, a nice walk to the center of town and the staff were so friendly and helpful, especially the bar and restaurant staff, one person in particular was Tony Edward Smith he made our stay exceptional with his excellent service and particular attention to detail making it a holiday that we will never forget.

Room Tip: we had a room with a sea view which was a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Lynette S, thank you for fantastic review, I always love reading about how well the Rydges Team have looked after our valued guests. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again.

Shannon and the Team at Rydges Esplanade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice to see a hotel advertised as a resort and really deliver. Great gym, the biggest I've come across, well staffed and well stocked. Couple of pools to choose from, and a fantastic spa to help unwind after a "hard" day.

A hotel is only as good as its staff and I thought they were terrific. Helpful, efficient, organised and clear communicators. Couldn't find any fault with them from my perspective.

Had a great meal in the restaurant to cap off a great day. Bed was really comfy - this helped (sadly not always the case in some 4-star establishments). Ocean view room was spectacular. Unfortunately only stayed one night but my wife and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StPatrickSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi StPatrickSydney, what a fantastic review, so glad you and your wife had such a great experience.

We look forward to having you back soon

Shannon and the Rydges Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing