We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very average, look elsewhere!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very average, look elsewhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel has rooms that are extremely tired, hard beds, cheap furniture and in desperate need of a refurb. When you stay at an apparently 4 star hotel you generally expect well maintained clean rooms, not filth (see photo) The disappointment didn't finish there unfortunately. It cost $55 per head for an understaffed and poor quality restaurant in the lobby.Rydges also frustrate me in the fact that no Frequent flyer or Priority guest rewards are provided because we booked through Expedia, very annoying considering the rate paid was $170 per night, doesn't encourage any loyalty! It should be based on amount spent not what channel it was booked. People probably paid $150 through the hotel and got rewarded. All in all a pretty poor hotel, much better options in Cairns! Will certainly ask work to book elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMCJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello DMCJQ,

I was disappointed to read that you did not feel you received value during your recent stay with us, and that you feel our Priority Club does not encourage loyalty. This is certainly not what we set out to achieve and I apologise that we did not meet expectations during this stay. I can certainly be contacted if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Thank you for the feedback.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    433
    236
    82
    39
See reviews for
277
341
80
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good family hotel. Very helpful staff. Spacious rooms facing the ocean! We could see the entire esplanade. Every thing was so close by, the fishing boats, the cruise ships, the sky diving and even the food courts.....The Church too for mass...when we were not at the Great barier reef diving we were in the 3 pools around the hotel.Enjoyed our family stay!

Room Tip: A good hotel for family with kids.Take your touring n sightseeing from their travel counter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi ElsieGabriel,

What a great review from of senior contributor, glad you and the family enjoyed your stay, we are certainly work towards being as family friendly as we can, so any/all thoughts and recommendations are greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you and the gang again soon.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found our stay nice enough. Our room was average sized, clean enough and the bed was comfortable. I still find it hard when hotels have a shower curtain and not a glass door though - not only is it dated but there is also the issue of hygiene. The pool is definitely the highlight of the hotel. The location is ok - the hotel is not really on the esplanade but close enough and a short stroll from the lagoon and restaurants. Service was not great - we had to wait for our room to be ready and also as we had booked 2 nights separately (booked 1 night originally then decided to arrive a day earlier) they made us check out and then check in again which seemed very inefficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsNinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Ms NinaJ, glad you enjoyed spending time in the pool, hope you had a chance to lounge with a cocktail/mocktail.

I apologise you had to wait for your rooms to be ready; it's very rare that we are not ready to go at 2pm check in time.

When booking we recommend our website Rydges.com, it offers more flexibility when extending stays prior to arrival; that said we aim to please so I will remind the team the importance of making that process as seamless as possible.

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is at a well located place.The room size is large add clean.The beach is very near to the hotel.The swimming pool is very nice,the staffs are very cordial.The breakfast is superb.The lobby space is very small.It should be well decorated which is a lack in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mani-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi mani - 1952, thanks for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have a bit of a lobby refresh on the cards this year so hopefully by the time you return you will notice some changes.

See you next stay.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is located at a very good place.The sea beach is very near to the hotel.The room where we stayed are large in size.sevice staffs are very friendly.the amenities avaible in the room are nice.The swimming pool is very attractive .I enjoy my dinner by the pool side.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabindra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Rabnidra M,

Thank you for your great review, glad to read you were well looked after during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon at a Rydges Hotel or Resort.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Recently I went to Cairns for the first time. I book this hotel online and through the pictures and research I believed that this hotel would be nice. The stay began with no complaints, however, there were several inconsistancies with how the actual hotel looked. The breakfast was overpriced for the quality of food that we recieved. The menu consisted of runny eggs and the food seemed undercooked. The location is nice, with a small walk to go into the city center. I believe that if we go back that I will choose a better hotel for our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fadetoblack19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi fadetoblack19,

I apologise that you found breakfast offerings under cooked. Just for clarification purposes the Buffet consists of 20 or so different items with 2 styles of eggs, we do not offer a menu as such during the breakfast period.

We do have 3 Rydges Hotels here in Cairns perhaps that could explain the inconsistencies you mention in the hotel's appearance from research.

That said it is always disappointing to read a customer has not enjoyed their stay, and we hope you will reconsider staying with Rydges again.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

As locals we have dined at the Fire & Ice Buffet at the Rydges Hotel for the last 5 years - enjoying the discount offered by our Rydges Priority Guest Card. We arrived with friends tonight to be told the cardholder's discount no longer applied to the restaurant. The price of the buffet had increased by $5 and we were offered $10 "locals" discount rate - still making the meal more expensive than previously, with the Prority Card benefit. So with only 4 diners in the restaurant, we left and dined instead at Mondos. Go figure the logic, losing local patronage in an empty restaurant - locals who will never return! The Duty Manager who broke the news to us of the discontinued benefit just shrugged his shoulders with disinterest when we chose to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachbumsCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing