We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, look elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel has rooms that are extremely tired, hard beds, cheap furniture and in desperate need of a refurb. When you stay at an apparently 4 star hotel you generally expect well maintained clean rooms, not filth (see photo) The disappointment didn't finish there unfortunately. It cost $55 per head for an understaffed and poor quality restaurant in the lobby.Rydges also frustrate me in the fact that no Frequent flyer or Priority guest rewards are provided because we booked through Expedia, very annoying considering the rate paid was $170 per night, doesn't encourage any loyalty! It should be based on amount spent not what channel it was booked. People probably paid $150 through the hotel and got rewarded. All in all a pretty poor hotel, much better options in Cairns! Will certainly ask work to book elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMCJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hello DMCJQ,

I was disappointed to read that you did not feel you received value during your recent stay with us, and that you feel our Priority Club does not encourage loyalty. This is certainly not what we set out to achieve and I apologise that we did not meet expectations during this stay. I can certainly be contacted if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Thank you for the feedback.

Shannon Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good family hotel. Very helpful staff. Spacious rooms facing the ocean! We could see the entire esplanade. Every thing was so close by, the fishing boats, the cruise ships, the sky diving and even the food courts.....The Church too for mass...when we were not at the Great barier reef diving we were in the 3 pools around the hotel.Enjoyed our family stay!

Room Tip: A good hotel for family with kids.Take your touring n sightseeing from their travel counter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElsieGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hi ElsieGabriel,

What a great review from of senior contributor, glad you and the family enjoyed your stay, we are certainly work towards being as family friendly as we can, so any/all thoughts and recommendations are greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you and the gang again soon.

Shannon Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found our stay nice enough. Our room was average sized, clean enough and the bed was comfortable. I still find it hard when hotels have a shower curtain and not a glass door though - not only is it dated but there is also the issue of hygiene. The pool is definitely the highlight of the hotel. The location is ok - the hotel is not really on the esplanade but close enough and a short stroll from the lagoon and restaurants. Service was not great - we had to wait for our room to be ready and also as we had booked 2 nights separately (booked 1 night originally then decided to arrive a day earlier) they made us check out and then check in again which seemed very inefficient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsNinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hi Ms NinaJ, glad you enjoyed spending time in the pool, hope you had a chance to lounge with a cocktail/mocktail.

I apologise you had to wait for your rooms to be ready; it's very rare that we are not ready to go at 2pm check in time.

When booking we recommend our website Rydges.com, it offers more flexibility when extending stays prior to arrival; that said we aim to please so I will remind the team the importance of making that process as seamless as possible.

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shannon Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is at a well located place.The room size is large add clean.The beach is very near to the hotel.The swimming pool is very nice,the staffs are very cordial.The breakfast is superb.The lobby space is very small.It should be well decorated which is a lack in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mani-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hi mani - 1952, thanks for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have a bit of a lobby refresh on the cards this year so hopefully by the time you return you will notice some changes.

See you next stay.

Shannon Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is located at a very good place.The sea beach is very near to the hotel.The room where we stayed are large in size.sevice staffs are very friendly.the amenities avaible in the room are nice.The swimming pool is very attractive .I enjoy my dinner by the pool side.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabindra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hello Rabnidra M,

Thank you for your great review, glad to read you were well looked after during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon at a Rydges Hotel or Resort.

Shannon Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Recently I went to Cairns for the first time. I book this hotel online and through the pictures and research I believed that this hotel would be nice. The stay began with no complaints, however, there were several inconsistancies with how the actual hotel looked. The breakfast was overpriced for the quality of food that we recieved. The menu consisted of runny eggs and the food seemed undercooked. The location is nice, with a small walk to go into the city center. I believe that if we go back that I will choose a better hotel for our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fadetoblack19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi fadetoblack19,

I apologise that you found breakfast offerings under cooked. Just for clarification purposes the Buffet consists of 20 or so different items with 2 styles of eggs, we do not offer a menu as such during the breakfast period.

We do have 3 Rydges Hotels here in Cairns perhaps that could explain the inconsistencies you mention in the hotel's appearance from research.

That said it is always disappointing to read a customer has not enjoyed their stay, and we hope you will reconsider staying with Rydges again.

Shannon Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As locals we have dined at the Fire & Ice Buffet at the Rydges Hotel for the last 5 years - enjoying the discount offered by our Rydges Priority Guest Card. We arrived with friends tonight to be told the cardholder's discount no longer applied to the restaurant. The price of the buffet had increased by $5 and we were offered $10 "locals" discount rate - still making the meal more expensive than previously, with the Prority Card benefit. So with only 4 diners in the restaurant, we left and dined instead at Mondos. Go figure the logic, losing local patronage in an empty restaurant - locals who will never return! The Duty Manager who broke the news to us of the discontinued benefit just shrugged his shoulders with disinterest when we chose to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BeachbumsCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $116 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing