We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Overall a pleasant stay. We were overnighting in Cairns in order to catch an early morning flight. This property represents good value given its location close to the esplanade area. The property is probably showing its age, but has all you need and is clean and tidy. The rooms are very spacious , with a balcony allowing views of the sea. The bed was the best we had experienced in our travels. The check in was efficient and well organised as was the check out. All in all just what you want from a 4 star corporate city hotel, efficiency and value.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hi Traveller19701,

Sounds like you had the pleasure of experiencing one of our fantastic dream beds; a good night’s sleep is definitely a requirement for a great stay. Hopefully next time you’re in town you will be able to spend a few more nights with us.

Thanks for your feedback

Shannon Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    433
    236
    82
    39
See reviews for
277
341
80
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this Hotel in November 2012. A fabulous hotel, with high standards. Beautifully clean with rooms of a very high standard. The Hotel is very conventiently located a short walk from the main Esplanade and Marina. Approx 10 min walk into Centre. The Hotel has a lovely outdoor pool, and provides an excellent breakfast. We only had breakfast, but it was a full buffet style, with everything you can think of to eat, accounting for all palates. Staff most helpful/friendly and tours can be booked from the Hotel. Although recommend going to the Information centre at the Esplanade as it's probably cheaper to do that. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus into town at 3pm 6pm and 9pm, but you either have to walk back or get a taxi or pedicab (great fun on pedicab). A great hotel, thoroughly recommended.Beware Cairns is very very hot in November as it's their summer and burn time is 15 mins. You should apply at least factor 50-100 every 15 minutes.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (12th) with a lovely view. I think all rooms have a view of the ocean, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TissueViability3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEagleHawk, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi TissueViability3, what an awesome review, great to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Australian adventure as much as you enjoyed Cairns.

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment my Husband rang up to book a room he was met with very friendly staff wanting to assist us. I had broken a bone in my foot and was in Cairns to attend the hospital. The lady taking the bookings suggested a room for easy access that caters for the disabled and I am glad she did.
The room was one of their budget rooms but it didn't show in the décor. The only thing that was budget about it was no view but that was ok. The room was a good size with a fridge and good quality coffee on offer. The bathroom was excellent with a walk in shower with a bench to sit on and the personal care products were excellent.
The beds were very comfortable as well.
The Hotel had a wheelchair for our use during the stay and they even let us take it the hospital.
the staff were very friendly and were concerned for my well being. The parking was free and undercover and very accessible.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruralmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEagleHawk, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi ruralmum, great review from a local, we hope you are well on your way to being healed and back in action. I will pass on your warm words to our friendly team.

By the looks, you frequent a few of our Rydges hotels, thanks for the patronage and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had an oceanview queen room on one of the upper floors and the view was really great. Private balcony overlooking the very large, originally-shaped swimming pool that is surrounded by palm trees and other tropical plants. Very pleasant walk along the esplanade to the beachfront restaurants and the centre of town. Considering the location, and the size and nature of the rooms, etc., we felt this to be reasonable value for money - AUD 456 for three nights room only (we paid almost the same price for a SINGLE night at a hotel at the Ayers Rock Resort - although we are pretty sure that we were ripped off there, but that is another matter).

The only issue we have, is that we feel it is unreasonable for such a high standard of hotel to expect guests to pay for internet access. In all but extremely budget hotels in Europe these days, one expects to have free and unlimited internet access.

Room Tip: Probably fairly obvious, but sea-facing rooms on the higher floors have great views - worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

if u r visiting cairns n looking for the sea view room???? where is the sea... in cairns if u wish to stay take the rooms near CBD only like between Shields St. or Spence St. in between Abbott & Esplande St. otherwise nothing much more to do in cairns. Cairns it self so much beautiful but most happening is CBD or u can say City Center area near Casino. About Rydges Esplande it is ok ok hotel, staff is too good but I am a frequent traveler i didnt like the location as it is 20 minutes walk to City Center. if u dont find the choice near CBD n want to just stay in the room n don't wanna go anywhere then :-). CBD is the most happening place in cairns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just had five nights here and as a vegetarian, I would have gone hungry if I had relied on the restaurant every evening. They did not cater for vegetarians and when I asked, I was told that there was soup and salad! In addition the wifi price I was quoted was 15 Aus dollars for 30 minutes. Alternatively there were computers to use at 2 Aus dollars for 20 minutes Internet connection.
The rooms were OK and if I you get a room with a sea view it's nice to sit on the balcony. All rooms seem to have balconies. The hotel also has 2 laundry rooms where you can do your own washing and drying for 3 Aus dollars each.
There was a tour booking desk and the staff there and at reception were very pleasant and helpful which was more than can be said for some of the restaurant staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was my second time to the Rydges in Cairns and it was just as wonderful as my first stay. The rooms are amazing - beautiful views. The location is great, the breakfasts are beautiful and the staff are friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing