We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is a little tired, but was clean. Had great water pressure in the showers. The personnel were okay with the exception of the dining room staff - they were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet had a nice variety and the dinner buffet was very good with lots of choices. It was very conveniently located - one block to the esplanade and 4-5 blocks to the downtown which was a nice pleasant walk. The air conditioner wasn't the greatest as it was cooler in the hallways and you could not control it. Overall, okay..but definitely not high end.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    462
    250
    83
    42
See reviews for
296
369
85
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week at the end of oct 2012. From the description on the net I.e. a 'resort' you would expect all the usual things you would get from a resort for the price, I.e decent breakfast as part of the price, morning paper, clean rooms, free wifi..

Well don't expect any of that! My room had dead bugs inside the sofa and all under it, behind the curtains and around the sink. Laziness on the cleaners part? For the full breakfast you are looking at $29 and the continental around $19, Erm rip off?! Worst part being the wifi, similar to my last review, get with the 21st century!! $30 a day for wifi access!!? I could stay in a motel or hostel for that price with free wifi! The other option is the 'business centre' ($2 for 20 mins access) - Crap pcs which don't work and won't allow you to access most sites, plus the time can disappear often so you pay and get 5 as oppose to 20 minutes. Anyway I'm rambling now so overall, stay here if you get a deal, the staff were friendly and the ocean view we had on the 12th floor was great. Oh and the partner gym, has everything a gym goer could ask for. 15 minute walk to town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Luke
Thank you so much for your frank and honest review of our hotel.
You are correct, the cleaning service you experienced on this visit is not up to our usual standards in this instance and this has been addressed with our Executive Housekeeper. I apologise for this lapse in our servie to you.
Your comments regarding the internet service have been taken on board and we are investigating various alternatives to upgrade and modernise this facility. Please contact us directly prior to your next visit to Cairns so that we can confirm the upgrade and hence disappointing you a second time.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Only spent 1 night here but was impressed with the service and size of the room. Would have been beneficial to have a local guide/info in each room to assist with navigating our way around Cairns, and the showers weren't the best for a tall person.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlpblonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I could have titled this "soooo Rydges". It ticks the boxes...affordable, clean, friendly, no excesses, good view etc etc but it is sort of in the middle of nowhere unless you want to visit the hospital! At the Northern end of the Esplanade, it is quite a walk to other restaurants, tourist shops, wharf etc. Parking is convenient so if you have a car you can always drive.

Room Tip: Absolutely an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Out of the three Rydges in Cairns, this one is probably the oldest building. But with an interesting architectural planning, all the rooms in this hotel facilities are sea view which is great. Close (minutes walk) to the CBD and everything that Cairns can offer. The pigeons might want to share your food if you choose to dine in your private balcony, be it snacks or from the room service :)

Room Tip: The corridor is relatively narrow. Better to stay far from the lift if you cannot tolerate some/litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahid I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

A weekend getaway with the family and enjoyed the hospitality, no fuss, good service, late check in with no problems, fast checkout with no issues with a young family this was important. We got an excellent deal on the room rate so value for money 10/10
Bags taken straight to our room and since I had hired a pram the very friendly porter was more than happy to check delivery by the service provider and bring back to our room.
Our room was clean, inviting and spacious enough. The beds were big and very comfortable!
Ordered room service mainly breakfast, good food. Great location close to everything.
Pros: free parking, great rooms, comfy beds, daily service. Cons: not sure if there is free wifi.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMAINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you TAMAINI.
It is certainly our pleasure to host you during your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

this hotel was right in Cairns central with many shops and eating places around.
We were comfortable here in a nice big modern room with all our amenities available.
The staff were happy to help us arrange things.
Was a nice stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quintes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, quintes99.
It is a pleasure to hear such positive feedback and also to pass it on to our staff. They certainly appreciate your recognising their efforts.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing