We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rydges Esplanade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rydges Esplanade”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good breakfast but no tropical fruit & this is Cairns!! Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms need to be cleaned especially the ceiling fans. Great mountain view from balcony but no chairs to sit & enjoy it. Very good yoga teacher and masseuse, these do cost extra. A distance from town but easily walked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    472
    253
    86
    42
See reviews for
302
375
86
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Firstly, we are not complainers, but I had to write this review
We stayed for one night last week, a huge disappointment! We checked in late and felt very rushed to our room by a desk clerk whose English was not great.
The room was in dire need of a complete refurb. The carpet was heavily stained and I dread to think what had been on the lid of the ottoman.The fridge was old, there was verdigris on the toilet flush button , and the shower curtain had a couple of holes in it.The towels were thin and old
There was thick dust in the air vent and on the bathroom tray, and mildew around the bath
The pool towel we were given was frayed! pool area disappointing too
My husband woke up with a rash on the inside of his arms ewwwww?
Breakfast was $30 each , we didn't bother!
Glad we were there only one night

The only good thing about the hotel was Fred the concierge, who was most helpful on departure
The clerk on checkout also couldn't speak English very well

Sorry Rydges, you need to address these issues...your hotel is not clean.
We were due back there to stay, after a cruise, but even though we have paid in full, decided to lose the money and book in at the Shangri La Hotel, a much better location too

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiecrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and I booked seven nights at rydges esplanade through flight centre, and it left us wishing we had stayed at a backpackers and spent the savings on things to do. We could hear conversations through the door connecting us to next room and when we asked to have our room changed we were told that we would have to pay and extra 20 dollars a night for the remaining five nights. Although the the staff were helpful, the manager was unyielding and would not let us change rooms. The room itself was old looking and needed refurbishment. For anyone looking for a resort holiday, try somewhere closer to town. I wish we'd had the sense to stay at a cheap motel and spend the savings on fun stuff!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed in a "Family Apartment" which is actually 2 rooms - dusty, out of date. Specifically asked for internet in room then and spent the whole time there with tech trying to fix the internet connection. We have stayed at Rydges properties on several occations and this one is not up to there usual reasonable standard. Apart from the technical issues, the hot water jug was not working properly and was quite dangerous, I had to take it down to reception to get a new one, no one was going to make the trip up to me even after several requests.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justdoitcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

From when the key card wouldn't work on the first night to the incorrect checkout date. It wasn't a pleasant stay. The room was nice enough but we could easily hear next door talking and coughing all night. The verandah is big enough to stand on but you can't fit a chair on to have a drink and watch the beautiful view. Cairns is a great tourist destination with so much to do, just choose other accommodation. Be careful when taking the package where you stay four nights & get one free. Our voucher said it included breakfast but Rydges said it was one or the other. Would have been nice to know as we had to pay for the 'free' night. We found out from housekeeping that we were checking out when we asked for another towel. My fault for not reading fine print but I had clearly stated checkout day and number of nights. We travel a lot and found Rydges very disappointing. Taxi driver said Hilton is better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HunterTweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great service, good view overlooking cairns beach, sea, shop and more. The room was old need new bathroom, carpet need replacing. Happy to stay there again if bathroom get replace it to low u hit your head on the shower head.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mprie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in an apartment at Rydges because are a family with two teenage boys.

Good part: very large apartment with 2.5 baths... excellent choice for a family who doesn't want to be packed into a hotel room. We could spread out, which was much needed on a 2 week vacation!

Not so good part: A bit of a walk to the Esplanade area - other hotels are closer. Room was a bit 'dated'..needs to be updated with some new furnishings, carpets, art.. etc.

By the way, the 'beach' in Cairns is awful...a huge mudflat with crocodile warning signs. Downtown area of Cairns reminds me of the party beach cities of Florida for singles. Seemed very touristy. I wouldn't go back to Cairns - we spent several nights in Port Douglas and it was a much, much better choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bull12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Bull12
It’s great to hear your accommodation choice was appropriate for your family and we are happy we were able to be of service. Our Apartments are extremely popular for families traveling over an extended period. For shortly stays we have just introduced a new family room to our hotel product. This separate room for children offers their own separate TV’s coupled with an Xbox that allows for split screen gaming. In addition we offer complimentary hire age of games and DVD’s to assist.

Thanks and regards
Steven
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing