We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is ok, Cairns is not.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel is ok, Cairns is not.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in an apartment at Rydges because are a family with two teenage boys.

Good part: very large apartment with 2.5 baths... excellent choice for a family who doesn't want to be packed into a hotel room. We could spread out, which was much needed on a 2 week vacation!

Not so good part: A bit of a walk to the Esplanade area - other hotels are closer. Room was a bit 'dated'..needs to be updated with some new furnishings, carpets, art.. etc.

By the way, the 'beach' in Cairns is awful...a huge mudflat with crocodile warning signs. Downtown area of Cairns reminds me of the party beach cities of Florida for singles. Seemed very touristy. I wouldn't go back to Cairns - we spent several nights in Port Douglas and it was a much, much better choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bull12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Bull12
It’s great to hear your accommodation choice was appropriate for your family and we are happy we were able to be of service. Our Apartments are extremely popular for families traveling over an extended period. For shortly stays we have just introduced a new family room to our hotel product. This separate room for children offers their own separate TV’s coupled with an Xbox that allows for split screen gaming. In addition we offer complimentary hire age of games and DVD’s to assist.

Thanks and regards
Steven
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    480
    256
    87
    43
See reviews for
306
381
88
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

On arrival I was "upgraded" to a room with a "mountain view room" but truly would have rathered been able to see the water and to be on the front side of the hotel away from the noise of car park and street at the rear of the building. After seeing the room I returned to the desk to ask if this was possible to have a room on the otherside of the hotel which faced the water (with or without an upgrade). The man on the desk didn't even attempt to look in the computer when he said "we're full and you can't change rooms".

Later that evening I went to dine at the restaurant and found the girl who attended to seating people to be exceptionally friendly and helpful - she ended up being the best feature of the hotel. The restaurant is nice and clean BUT the seafood would have to be the worst I have ever eaten. Someone should tell the chef that spanner crab should never be frozen and then served as "fresh" because it is absolutely tasteless and mushy. The "fresh" prawns were old and had also been frozen so they were disappointing. On a positive side, there is the capacity to have small serves of meat, fish, prawns or calamari cooked by a chef on an open grill while you wait. But again the seafood was disappointing - the prawns were the same as the frozen ones you buy from the supermarket.

My mountain view room ended up being one of the noisest rooms I have ever slept in and I wish I had remembered to take ear-plugs. There was a child screaming most of the time in one room across the hall from my room and a person who ordered room service at odd hours in another room. On my frist night I was woken at 1.50am with someone knocking at the door (across from me) who shouted "ROOM SERVICE". Then from 5 to 6am there was a host of garbage trucks and around the hotel and buses and trucks in the street below.

Like another Rydges hotel I have stayed in recently, the carpet begs to be replaced or at least cleaned. There were large stains on the carpet that looked awful. The room I stayed in had 2 double beds (although I had booked a room with one queen size bed) but both of them had past their "use by date" as you could feel the springs in the matress.

There is more I could say about my experience but overall I was just glad I only had to stay 2 nights at this hotel and was pleased to get home for a peaceful sleep.

Room Tip: If it costs extra to stay in a room with a water view I would pay the money as the "mountain vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Jmkel

Your comments are received well and we will put to action for review. I am pleased the team extended a complimentary offering by way of an upgrade to enhance your stay with us. The minimal difference in room charge from a complimentary upgrade to an Ocean view is minor and highly encouraged to enjoy the fantastic view.

Thanks and regards
Steven
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night out of the three we were booked due to being delayed in LA. Hotel rooms a little worn, but large with comfortable beds. We were facing the rear so we had mountain views. Breakfast buffet very good and the dinner buffet was excellent. A chef cooks your meat and seafood to order and many sides and salads. First time we ate kangaroo! Friendly staff. Cannot speak to the location since we arrived in the afternoon and left for the outback the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Jenves

Thanks for the great review and a shame you couldn’t stay longer. Enjoy your Australian adventure and should the opportunity arise again, we would appreciate your patronage.
With thanks

Steven
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very large room with 2 queen sized beds for a very reasonable price. Had a balcony with sea views. Beds were very comfortable.
Staff were helpul and friendly.
Bathroom was more basic than rest of room but clean and functional.
Location is good, just on the Esplanade and easy to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorphOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear MorphOnTour

Thanks for your feedback. It’s always great to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay. The views are amazing and to be honest, you never get sick of them. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Kind regards
Steven
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembagapura
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great beds, great views, spacious room.
Lousy level of service, not clean, no wifi.
Staff doesn't seen to have vacuumcleaner or clean bedding and towels.
For what they charge you, they shoul offer more.

Room Tip: Try find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DirkSmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear DirkSmama,

Your comments are noted and I have been trying to identify your stay dates with no success. As your comments are concerning you are welcome to contact myself direct to discuss.

Regards
Steven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

So we booked this as there was a good deal going. So glad we did. Yes, it is further from Cairns Central than other hotels - about 20 minute walk, but it was a nice walk along the esplanade. The hotel does have a free shuttle bus service, but we never used it.

Here are the good points: we received a good rate for the room, nice views (mountain or ocean view rooms), generous size rooms, staff were friendly & professional, concierge was helpful especially with things to do in and around cairns, the restaurant was good (we had a la carte one night and then the Fire and Ice Dinner another night) and the free onsite parking. The bad points: the rooms could do with a revamp, don't trust the ice machines - bad hygiene procedures, some may complain about the distance to the city. Overall our stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: There's 3 Rydges in Cairns - make sure you remember which one you're booked at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teamsami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Teamsami

Your positive comments are appreciated. Thanks for highlighting the team’s service, large room size and acknowledgement of our food and beverage offerings. We will look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks and regards
Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is older but the staff is excellent. The location could not be better. The tour desk is one of the best I have encountered in my travels. I recommend this property. Many good retaurants are in the area and the views are excellent.

Room Tip: Good value for the money. Ask for an upper floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Robert B

The team here is definitely a large positive. We are fortunate enough to have a group of individuals that take pride in the hotel and are passionate about quality service.

Thanks
Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing