We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for business or for city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Nice colonial style to hotel. rooms are a bit dated, but mine was very clean, very large, well serviced, and good airconditioning. Only gripe was that the curtains don't fall all the way to the floor, so you awake at the crack of dawn (no daylight savings)... hard when you travel until late at night. Hotel is central to most things in Cairns, and very reasonably priced for last minute deals on wotif etc. watch out for parking, internet etc costs though.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,936 - 1,942 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

Charming hotel but a little bit dated/overpriced. Is in a good spot in Cairns. Has a colonial feel but also the rooms/decor fell a little bit dated.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Stayed 3 days and used the hotel as a base for sightseeing trips in the area (Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest). The hotel has a really nice atmosphere - something which is quite unusual. The building is quite old and some of the details in the rooms bear witness to that (e.g. loose electrical plugs and antique air-conditioning system) but it's all made up by sheer charm.
The mini bar in the room was not completely full of stuff we wouldn't have bought anyway, so we had plenty of space to store our own food and drinks in there. We decided to interpret this as an understanding gesture by the hotel although it probably means they sell fewer mini bar items.
The breakfast is up there with the best hotel breakfasts we have ever experienced. Don't miss the honey!! I know that sounds weird, but once you've seen it you will understand.
We had no problems with noise between rooms but there were functions by the pool every night, which were quite noisy, but they ended promptly at 11 pm.
An amazing service experience: I called the front desk on our first night expressing concern about the very noisy party by the pool. The front desk assured me the party would end at 11 pm and since it was 10:30 already I told them there was no problem.
The next day, we got a friendly call from the front desk morning crew asking if we would like to change rooms because there would be another function that day (again, ending at 11 pm). Now THAT is what computer systems are for.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Spent four days at this Hotel, room was made up every day, however they neglected to give us clean towels, this is normally no big deal but Cairns is very hummid and nothing dry's damp towels are not very pleasant. fab pool etc., didnt get the chance to enjoy. Must pay for parking $15 per day and $20.00 on a Saturday. As there is no parking around this hotel you have no option. Food expensive however close enough to Town to go out for breakfast etc., The airconditioners at the Casino running all day and night are a bit annoying if you want to sit on your balcony. Over all it was good for the price. Bed is comfy. Most of the staff were nice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sebel - a little bit of luxury on a girls get away. Service was great and loved those cocktails in the lobby bar. The pool area was a favourite place with plenty of shade if needed, comfy lounges and poolside service. Close to everything, shops, casino, waterfront, restaurants etc

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peachie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

After using TA for all most of my holiday/travel research , I decided it was high time I contributed. The Sebel is well positioned. The pool area is gorgeous but in general the rooms feel like they are in need of an update. They are spacious but in need of a revamp. I had requested a king bed but got a room with 2 doubles so wasn't very pleased as I was travelling with my husband but was told they were booked (maybe because I booked at a good rate through Wotif?). The bathroom had a seperate bath and shower cubicle but was very dark even with all the lights on. Also be careful with the bathroom tiles..i sprayed some insect repellent on before walking out the bathroom and the combination of the spray and tiles was not great. I slipped and hit my head on the door frame. I found the food to be expensive for room service so ate out. In general, if they updated the rooms I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Good location and nice views of the harbor. Friendly staff but couldn't get early checkin.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,331 reviews
0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $137 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing