We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 7 nights in this hotel.
It's a little dated but very nice and comfortable and most importantly clean.
It had a great location. Service was great. Pool was beautiful but no pool bar.
Breakfast was a bit over priced.
Hotel has a day spa and a tour desk which is great
Overall was very happy

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Michelle V,
Thankls for taking the time to post a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We are just getting through Cyclone Ita at the moment so for once being in Sydney is probably better than Cairns!
I hope we can see you up here again.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    768
    267
    68
    36
See reviews for
345
860
112
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I recently hosted a small group of colleagues (22) for a 4 night stay at the Pullman International, not to be confused with the Pullman Reef Hotel & Casino, which is directly across the street. I received no complaints from the group. The hotel upgraded the group to superior waterfront rooms and graciously offered me an upgrade to the executive suite. While the rooms are a bit dated, they were very clean and certainly functional and all came with balconies. The included breakfast buffet was conveniently open from 6:00 - 10:00 and had a decent selection of fruits, vegetables, juices, hot dishes, breads & egg station.

What didn't work so well was our planned functions: 1) Training area was in an open section on the upper mezzanine ; 2) Our awards cocktail was set up in the lobby away from the bar and a little too open and busy with foot traffic. I had hoped the function Manger would have reached out to check on us, but the staff that did were pleasant enough, but likely were not in a position to assist us beyond what was provided.

Great location near the start of the esplanade with views of the Trinity river inlet and within 5-10 minute walk from Cairns Central Shopping Mall, Night Market & Rusty's Fruit & Vegetable Market. I would have rated 4 stars or higher if the planned group functions were executed a bit better. For a couple, family or small group of friends it would be a good place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Ron,
Thanks for a fair and balanced review - I note your comments regardingn the functions and I have discussed this with the team.
I'm glad you enjoyed the location and that your meeting was successful. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review -we really appreciate the feedback.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stay for 3 nights. Great location that near the reef fleet terminal, Cairns railway station and the night market, within 15 mins walking. It helps me to save the transfer cost. The room is spacious, clean and tidy. The staffs are friendly, helpful and efficient. A little bit noisy till late night at Sat since my room is opposite to casino. A good choice in Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mantommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi Mantommy,
Thanks for posting a positive review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay, the location of the hotel and the helpful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was a beautiful hotel to stay in. Clean and great staff. But the bed was extremely uncomfortable - sagged in the middle. The buffet breakfast was a little disappointing also, lacking freshness and quality. There was not much of a view either, with other buildings in the way of seeing the water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi Sweetawee,
Sorry about the beds but thanks for letting us know and we shall certainly look into it. I have also passed your comments regaridng the breakfast on to the kitchen. All feedback is gold so I appreciate you taking the time to let us know.
Thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I visited the Pullman International with a group of friends. The hotel itself is beautiful & the foyer makes for some great photography with floor to ceiling windows with natural daylight that flows through the foyer.
We enjoyed high tea complete with a fresh fruit tropical cocktail. High tea was so lovely, it came out on the traditional teared stand and had finger sandwiches, pork belly wontons, fresh fruit, petit fours and the best scones with jam & cream. We shared this between 3 and it there was plenty to go around.
I recommend this for an afternoon tea with friends and family & it would be perfect for a birthday or hens party.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Kylie,
Thanks for the nice review - more importantly its great you enjoyed our High Tea experience. HIgh Tea is certainly 'back in fashion' and we have mbeen working hard on our product. We have done some great combinations with our Spa and High Tea for some Hen's parties which has been areal afternoon of indulgence for the ladies!
Anyway thanks for the recommendation and we hope to see yopu back again
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, but the staff are outstanding. A big shout-out to Kellie, Michael and Ashley. The were always helpful and smiling first thing in the morning. The only negative is the lack of free WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi Lorrie R,

I'll bet Rotorua will getting a little bit cold at this time of year -maybe you should come back for some more sun! Thanks for your post and I will pass on your comments to the guys -we have a great team here and I'm glad you found that as well.
Thanks for taking the time.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Staff were amazingly friendly and efficient in their jobs. Nothing was too much trouble and I felt like they were happy in their jobs.

My First room had an interconnecting door, but due to poor soundproofing I could hear the neighbours conversation. Went to reception and within seconds had a new room (same type and layout) which was the room next door. No sound issues in this second room.

Dined at Coco's all but one night, two buffet dinners and three a la carte menus. Excellent value with the Accor Advantage Plus Card.

Pool was a good size and we used the voucher for spa treatments.

Highly recommend this hotel.

A nice touch was the cold water they put in your car each time you used the valet parking.


Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jamesking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi James,

Thanks for the great review - great to see you getting good use of your Ad Plus card. It is really heartening to hear the staff are 'doing the job' in terms of looking after people -we have a really good team here and it is great when we get comments like this. Thanks again.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing