We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
“Top hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I have recently enjoyed three nights at this impressive hotel as part of our FNQ experience.
What a spectacular lobby entrance which gives the hotel a great feel.
We arrived early but were accommodated straight away. The staff were friendly and helpful and our suite was clean and spacious with it's own balcony and wonderful view.
In fact the whole hotel is spacious (lobby, lifts, passages, foyers, rooms etc) which provides a great vibe.
The hotel location is ideal being directly opposite the casino and just a short walk to the harbour area and city shops.
The pool area is another plus being (again) sufficiently large to provide plenty of options to swim, sunbake or sit and read with relative privacy.
The buffet breakfasts also lived up to expectations.
All in all a wonderful experience, we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Southerner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    780
    270
    68
    39
See reviews for
352
872
113
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Pullman not knowing anything about it June 18-22 after searching for a hotel within walking distance of the marina. We were tempted to use the Hilton, but the Pullman International was significantly less cost, very close, and had great reviews. We were glad we made the decision. The lobby area is simply beautiful. The service was excellent everywhere in the hotel, and we had a great view from the 11th floor of the city and the river with partial views of the ocean and marina. Even the rooms on the back side of the hotel have a view of the river (and pool). The room was very nice, although the carpet was slightly stained. The meat and cheese platter in the bar is delicious and the bartender Manny makes custom signature cocktails, as well as being super friendly. I had a slight issue with the wireless and the front desk had it solved immediately. We had booked a tour through another organization on the internet and had a slight problem with it, yet the tour desk in the hotel promptly called and got it straightened out for us. And next to the hotel is an amazing Italian restaurant. A block and 1/2 down the street is a Woolworth's grocery story where you can purchase water and snacks that will fit in the mini-bar in the hotel. The bed was VERY comfortable, but the sheets are tucked in and non-fitted so when you pull them open to jump in, they all get pulled out. We re-adjusted the bed every night so the sheets wouldn't come off. Although our checkout was at 11, our flight wasn't until 5 so the hotel gave us a key to the pool area to hang out, and the gym locker room to change for our flight. The pool area also has food and drink service so we enjoyed lunch while we were sunning. All in all, 5 star service, 10 min walk to the marina and the reef boats, and we would definitely stay there again. Just a few minor issues that Pullman might address that would have really put the Pullman over the top:

The 3 elevators are slow. Granted there was a convention going on in the hotel while we were there, but it was slow all the time.

The writing on the phone for the 1 button service calls (room service, bell, front desk, etc) was about 2 font and we couldn't read it, even with a magnifying glass. Sounds minor, but it was annoying when we were trying to order room service and reach the front desk.

The room safe is too small to fit a lap-top. We did manage to squeeze an Ipad and our camera into it.

The Jacuzzi was cold and wouldn't warm up. Maybe this was a seasonal thing.

I think you would be hard pressed to beat the value and service this hotel had to offer. Every staff member we interacted with was outstanding. Thanks for making our vacation stay surprisingly great!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a higher floor and facing the front of the hotel. The back faces their wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Cairns. Close to restaurants, shops, wharf and casino. Rooms are a good size and from the 12th floor there is an excellent view to eithet the mountains or over the city and harbour area. Staff and service were professional and the beers at the bar were cold.

Room Tip: Try the Italian restaurant next door....excellent food
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is definitely a five star hotel. The staff were all very helpful, the rooms were perfect and the food excellent. We travel overseas regularly and this hotel would rate as one of the best we have stayed in. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel and I also would recomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank joel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

A friend and I returned from a 3 night trip to Cairns where we stayed at the Pullman Cairns International. This hotel is well located (walking distance to everything) and I was impressed with it's style and friendly atmosphere.

I arrived around lunch time and was happy to be able to be checked into my room straight away rather than having to waiting to 2pm. I was originally assigned a room on the 3rd floor but after asking for a higher level I managed to get a room on level 16 (the top floor). The room (twin double) was pretty good - nice size, clean and the bed/s were comfortable - yes I tested both. As you would expect the view from the balcony overlooking the harbour was excellent.

Breakfast at Coco's Restaurant was good with tasty food and a great easy to use coffee machine. The Spa looked very good although I only had a quick look - wish I had made time to check it out properly. My impression is that this hotel attracts more mature minded travellers/families so it's unlikely you will have to be concerned about rowdy backpackers. Although the hotel was fully booked it was a very peaceful place to stay.

My only criticism is internet access. Free internet access is available in the lobby lounge area (which is a nice place to chill out) but in room internet is a bit pricey and very slow.

Overall, this hotel is good to very good (4 out of 5) and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level at check in - even if you have to pay a little extra. Don't pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Enjoyed my stay convenient location just wish it may have been a little cheaper so I could have afforded to stay longer and was a little disappointed to find undercover secure parking cost extra would have been nice to have that included in the price of accommodation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dotti66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are local and stay in town when meeting friends for a night out. The Pullman Cairns International has friendly staff, a great location, clean and have great rooms. We have stayed a few times now and find it to be reasonably priced. We also had breakfast at Coco's which has a variety of foods. The view from the rooms are also spectacular and there is no street noise, so we get a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank CairnsLocal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing