We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A girlfriend and I stayed for one night on the 9th February. The greeting at reception was fantastic as the staff member was very professional and happy. We were lucky enough to get put on the 16th floor at the top so our views over the city and mountains were amazing. Room cleanliness was superb however you could hear people when they were in the hallway which wasn't fantastic at 7am.

We ordered room service for dinner as we were getting ready to go out, on the menu it had Pork Rib. This was misleading as it was just a pork cutlet and considering the price and reputation of the restaurant it was prepared in I expected a lot better. We also got the "Asian Platter" which should be renamed "Asian Tasting Plate" as there wasn't enough on there to be classed as a platter. Room service breakfast was ten times better. We ordered the pancakes which were delicious and the bakers basket which was also lovely. We only encountered two grumpy staff members which was a shame however the overall experience of staff was lovely. The valet staff were very nice and happy to help, also the tour desk staff member who I believe is Nathan was lovely.

In the morning we had our massage which was included in the room deal and the Mii Spa staff were absolutely wonderful. The massage was amazing!

I think the hotel overall is in desperate need of a refurbish as beds weren't a very big size and not as comfy as they could have been and most of the furnishings were very outdated.

I would recommend this to anyone and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    803
    280
    72
    40
See reviews for
373
908
117
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here in january and had only planned to stay for 2 nights. However because of the flooding in Queensland we ended up staying for 5 nights. We thorougly enjoyed our prolonged stay. The hotel is in an excellent position, the rooms are large, clean and well planned, although some of the furniture is showing signs of age. the balconies are lovely and the pool deck is amazing. There is wireless internet but it seems a little patchy.
We found the staff to be excellent Special thanks go to Lauren, Alisha and Candice who were so helpful in sorting out our cancelled onward travel.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms have the better view but if the casino opposite is busy can be noisy. Mountain vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertino2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel although we had been meaning to try it for several years. On becoming a member of the Accor group it gave us good reason to do so. We have Accor Advantage plus membership and were able to pick up a bargain half price deal so stayed for a week. On arrival we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and received an upgraded room to an upper floor with a harbourview. The rooms are pleasant, comfortable and spacious although a little dated. I believe that now it is a Pullman they will probably do some renovations.
We had several meals in Coco's restaurant and found the food to be divine, although had a la carte not buffet. Breakfast was also good if a little busy for us. The restaurant staff were extremely helpful and friendly (special thanks to Michael and Imogen for helping to make our stay more enjoyable). The pool area is wonderful and spacious as well.
Location of the hotel is perfect- walking distance to cbd, restaurants and the waterfront. The casino is right next door and does get a little noisy on weekend nights. If you really need peace and quiet you would need to forego the water view and book a mountain/city view.
We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will definitely be back asap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We had been booked with another hotel, but our reservation had been stuffed up and we ended up here somehow. Wow, we were so happy and surprised by this property. At first we were sad that this was not an apartment hotel, but the classiness of the place really took us by surprise and we put up with the studio room happily! Lobby great . Restaurant great. Breakfast great. Pool better than great. Casino over the road, CBD 2 mins walk. Famous esplanade 10 mins walk.

We were very happy with this property. Only bother was the price which, like all Australian properties, is just too expensive.

Would we stay here again ?..... Definitely !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodyinthemiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Woodyinthemiddle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities. I agree with you - I think it's a great Hotel in a great location!

I will certainly pass your positive feedback onto the team and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit Cairns.

All the best

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Pullman Cairns International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The staff are fantastic, the location is great, the room cleanliness is of a high standard, but the rooms are outdated and the furniture needs replacing.
The room we stayed in had a Queen Bed that was aged and sunk in the middle, the pillows were flat and as hard as a brick and we could hear a band playing from the hotel next door. We were on the 8th floor facing the casino and it was very noisey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased you thought the staff were fantastic (I agree with you), I will certainly pass the feedback onto the team.

With regards to refurbishment works in the Hotel, we have almost completed the Lobby works whick include new furniture throughout, new reception desk, and our Lobby Bar.

I really appreciate your feedback and hopefully we will get the oportunity to welcome you back to the Pullman Cairns International in the future.

All the best

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Pullman Cairns International.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have been staying in this hotel since it opened about 25 years ago and with the many changes of ownership/management it has declined over the years. Staff told us that accor will make changes and improvements. Staff was very friendly and accomodatimg to our requests. Attended a function and food was excellent. Breakfast ok but pastries looked very uninviting. Due to the extreme heat we were sitting at the entrance of pool area in the shade and found the entrance door very annoying ad noisy.

Room Tip: as an accor club member we got an upgrade to top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear MaffieAustralia,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so glad you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the food served at the conference, I will certainly pass your positive feedback to the team.

We have almost completed the refurbishment of the Lobby Bar, Hotel Reception and we are now in the process of introducing new and exciting furniture throughout the Hotel Lobby.

Again, thanks so much for the feedback and I really hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit Cairns.

All the best

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Pullman Cairns International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the Pullman Cairns International for a conference and I was very happy with the hotel, the facilities and the service. The hotel has a really nice pool deck and the location is very central. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The dinner buffet is pricey. There are better options down by the wharf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Fridgie,

Thanks for the review on Tripadvisor - we really appreciate your feedback.

I am so glad you enjoyed the Hotel and the facilities - I will certainly be passing your feedback onto the team.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pullman Cairns International when you next visit beautiful North Queensland.

All the best

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Pullman Cairns International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing