We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite hitting the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not quite hitting the mark”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having stayed here before and wanting one last blow out before going back to work, we decided to stay one night. On this stay we had a fantastic view over the inlet, looking at the boats etc. The room itself was reasonably clean however, wehn sitting outside we found a big (foreign) hair on the table where I had a drink sitting. We availed ourselves to the bar and had some really nice cocktails. Upon breakfast next day we were a little disappointed with some attitudes by the staff. Apart from the fresh omlette (which was excellent) that was cooked for me, the rest of the food was either cold (bacon etc) or dry (pancakes & waffles).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    792
    275
    69
    40
See reviews for
357
898
116
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice hotel, lovely area. Had trouble with one of the lifts (our swipe key would not work in the particular lift). Disappointed we paid extra for a "premium" room and did not receive a newspaper in the morning, although we were supposed to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s370570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am glad you were impressed with both the Hotel and it's location.

I am sorry you experienced difficulty with one of our elevators, I have passed you comments onto our Engineering Department to further investigate.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the Pullman Cairns International.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have stayed regularly for several years, through Four name changes to the hotel. Even convinced my company to all stay here when in Cairns.

Then, when checking-out from my most recent stay, was told "Surprise! We're the Pullman group now!"
My 'frequent-stayer' membership had been reset to ZERO. All my built-up history with the hotel and priveliges were wiped clean.

I was humiliated at reception, in front of other guests, and was forced unexpectedly to pay full price, for items that used to be free with the hotel's frequent-guest programme.

This reneging on all past promises was not advised at time of booking, nor at time of check-in. During my stay the matter cropped up, and reception informed me that my membership with the hotel's former frequent guest programme would be honoured, AND that I would be receiving an email that would give me an option to switch my frequent-guest membership from Sebel to Pullman.

At check-out this promise was NOT honoured, furthermore I was trapped by the "Surprise - we've tricked you! We're a DIFFERENT hotel now" that was publicly pulled on me.

The only staff who were sympathetic to my plight were the concierge crew, one department that seems to be very well run.

I'm so embarrassed at having been talked down to. In the several years I've been staying here, I've never before been treated as if I were a thief - which is how I was treated for unwittingly enquiring why I hadn't received the usual privileges of a frequent guest.

I'm not without influence over the men in my company, they're most distressed at my treatment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Quality of hotel was excellent five star but you pay for what you get.

Service was great, really appreciated the valet service with the car. Even got a loan umbrella for one day of our stay.

We mainly just had breakfast but also had the dessert bar which was excellent. Petite portions of each but you could taste everything and not just one portion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robgwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Robgwen,

Thanks for taking the time to post you comments on trip advisor, the team and I really appreciate it.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the great dessert buffet. I'll certainly be forwarding your great feedback to our team of Pastry Chef's.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Cairns.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Pullman Cairns International.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is not the fanciest or newest of hotels (it seems like no one has built any new hotels in the in Cairns over the last 10 years) but for what we paid we couldn't complain. It was clean, well maintained, and has all the amenities one would expect from a modern hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 14andrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Andrew C

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

The team and I are so pleased you enjoyed the Hotel and it's facilities.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit beautiful North QLD.

All the best

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Note: this hotel was formerly known as the Sebel.
My wife and I stayed here Dec 22,23, and 27 2012. The hotel is a level above a Hampton Inn but below a Ritz Carlton. Our room with a double bed cost about $250 AU per night.

The hotel is located a block away from the water and Esplanade area. If you're embarking on a water activity in Cairns, this hotel would be very convenient. It is also within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

We had breakfast at the hotel and were impressed by the full buffet. There were may food choices available including some Asian dishes. The price was about $30 AU.

The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and lounge area. There is a small gym as well. All parts of the hotel were clean and looked well-maintained.

The staff provided exceptional service. When we first checked in on Dec 22, two of our bags had not made it from our flight from San Francisco to Sydney. We were embarking on a three night scuba diving excursion to the barrier reef, and the hotel manager promised to track down our bags and have them for us when we returned on Dec 27th. Sure enough, when we checked back in for the night of Dec 27, our two bags were waiting for us in our room.

Whether you are a business traveler or on holiday with your family, I would recommend this hotel as your base of operations in Cairns.

Room Tip: The "low season" in Cairns is December. I was told that the city gets very busy during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pulpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Pulpy,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It's pleasing to know that you enjoyed the Hotel facilities, service and recognised our great location. I am also pleased that we were able to locate and store your luggage for you.

I will certainly pass on your positive feedback to the team.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Australia and beautiful North Queensland in the future.


Best regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing