We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit to the Sebel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was here one year ago and thought I would return as the position of the hotel is great. Nothing has changed, no upgrades or changes to the service levels. Still as good as it was. I would say that I think it should be upgraded soon as it is showing its age. It is an older hotel, quite grand and not at all contemporary.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better for the views
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auzzigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear auzzigirls,

Thanks for returning to The Sebel Cairns and also the positive comments you have posted on Tripadvisor.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass on your positive comments to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Cairns when you are next in beautiful North QLD.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Cairns International
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Really good value in a fantastic location. The room was large light and well appointed. Whilst the views from the room were impacted by the buildings acroos from the hotel it was still a very nice view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Ron D,

Thanks for posting your thoughts regarding The Sebel Cairns on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate the positive feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and so glad you enjoyed the faciliteis.

We hope to see you again when you are next visiting Cairns

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights July 2012 and enjoyed our time here. Very pleasant hotel, light and airy with that famously impressive lobby. Even the upper corridors were light and spacious. Room and bathrom a good size and well maintained although no really splashy extras. Nice little balacony - although the wind kept us indoors. Walking distance to the terminal for the day cruises and plenty of restaurants on the harbour, these are located in the ground floors of Harbourlights and Shangri La. Friendly and helpful staff on reception, concierge and tour desks. Very extensive buffet breakfasts hot and cold, although like all hotel breakfast buffets quite expensive, there is alille coffee shop next door that serves breakfast if you want a cheaper option. Did not dine in the main restaurant in the evenings but did have a very satisfactory Bar Meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abfabnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear abfabnz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Sebel Cairns, I will certainly be passing your positive comments onto the team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you when you are next visiting North QLD.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a one night stay here arriving late and departing early whilst on our way further north. The hotel staff were all very friendly and we enjoyed our brief stay. The bedrooms and bathrooms were of very good size and were in good condition. The only downside to the hotel was the less good noise insulation between rooms with occasional loud chair scraping noises being audible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peder182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Peder182,

Firstly, thank so much for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor and thanks for choosing to stay with us on your way further north.

I will certainly pass on your positive feedback to the team. With regards to the noise levels, thanks for the feedback - I will certainly investigate this further.

Once again, thanks for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in beautiful North Queensland.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

As others have mentioned, the lobby and entrance to this hotel is absolutely stunning - the pictures on the hotel website don't do it justice at all. It is worth bearing in mind that the bar/restaurant area is located immediately next to the lobby which makes for a very pleasant atmosphere (unlike some hotels where the restaurant is placed in a bland, separate dining room.)

The rooms are spacious and comfortable; it is worthwhile paying the extra for a harbour view.

We were here on a girls' weekend/trip away and it's the perfect place for that sort of thing; there's a day spa located within the hotel and the high tea in the bar/lobby is great as well. The pool and spa facilities are superb - again, it's a very spacious area with lots of deckchairs and despite the fact that we were travelling in peak season, it felt peaceful (not crowded at all).

All in all it is hard to find anything to criticise about this hotel. We found it a relaxing place to stay, with good and prompt service throughout - highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank marian637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Marian637,

Thank you for the review of The Sebel Cairns on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel facilities. I will certainly be passing your feedback onto the team!

We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Cairns when you are next in Tropical Far North Queensland.

All the best

Craig Syphers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

stayed at the sebel for 3 nights. The entrance is truely fantastic as is the pool. The room however was pretty average. I paid 348.00 for a queen room with what was supposed to be harbour views but because of the building that is in front of it the view is pretty limited. The room has a musty smell and while clean wasnt worth the price. The bed was comfortable, the inhouse information was obly availabile via the TV which did not contain the information you always require ie whihc channel is the movie chanel.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms with the view over the pool might be better.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emmajb255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Emmajb255115,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am so glad you thought the Hotel Lobby and Pool Areas were fantastic, we certainly agree with you!

Thanks for your feedback regarding the information via the TV, I am currently in the process of organising free standing channel guides for all rooms.

We appreciate you choosing to stay at The Sebel Cairns and really look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Visited Cairns for our 4th anniversary. What a great place to stay. Room was spacious, well appointed, very clean. Ammenities 1st class.
I'd come back any day & highly recommend this hotel. Has a beautiful feel about it, helpful staff.
Magnificent foyer welcomes guests. Concierge service was quick & knowledgeable. Booking desk helped greatly. Love this place, very special memories.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the pool deck & spa.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooshy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Mooshy555,

Firstly, a big congratulations on your 4th wedding anniversary!! We are thrilled that you decided to stay with us to celebrate this special occasion.

Thanks so much for posting your comments on Tripadvisor, I will certainly pass on your positive comments to the team, in particular our tour desk staff.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time in beautiful North Queensland and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Cairns when you next visit.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $149 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing