We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good cheaper range hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good cheaper range hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel had a great bed but no balcony. The bathroom was adequate but the fridge was not working. The service was excellent. It took them 2 minutes to come and help me with the TV and they were very accommodating and helpful. Checking out late was not an issue and I could store my baggage and get the airport shuttle from there. Location wise it is close to the main shopping centre but restaurants are about two blocks down which worried me a bit walking as a single woman but there was no suggestion of any problem as it turned out. It is a bit rundown in terms of decor. The airconditioning was good. They also had a pool.

Room Tip: I could not really suggest anything here. I think all the rooms are probably much of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
17
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I am currently here overnight for work and it was not my choice to be accommodated here! Do not believe the website it is nothing like the pictures! It may have been nice 20 years ago but I'm guessing they haven't done a thing to it since! I will say the lady at the desk was lovely and very proud of her hotel but that's where it ended!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abbyfryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Was booked into the All Seasons Sunshine Tower at Cairns, first impression was not good from the outside. Checked into the room and found bed bugs in the bed. Packed my gear up and left there and found another motel to check into. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Justpassingby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The accomodation up front, although a bit old school, seemed ok for the money. The room rate was $80 per night, not a lot but concidering how many are on the same road for cheaper, i would expect better.
I asked for the room to be serviced and all that was done was the rubbish bin empties. The old towels and face washer were just hung back up. The tea and coffee centre noe refilled even after specifically asking and the bed, they didnt even bother to make it, just peuuled the doona up to cover the thing.
All in all a really crap experience and i hope nobody uses this accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippyinsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin - Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

When I heard we were off to cairns i was delighted - Plenty of sun
I got there to find that Cairns can have rain in July.
that might be why I was not impressed with this hotel
We had an apartment beside the pool.
the room did not look clean and i spent my first night cleaning the outside of the fridge
there was a restaurant on site but breakfast was from 7.30 and seemed to end before 9.
Dinner seemed to end very early also , but was very nice and a good price also.
Overall I was not happy with hotel/ apartment

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

This is an affordable, but ordinary hotel on the main road from Cairns city out to the airport and the north. The rooms are fairly standard motel-style arrangements with nothing special to note. The bathroom was a bit faded. There were a few things I wouldn't have accepted in a higher-rated hotel, but given the price (quite cheap for Cairns) and my short stay, I didn't mind it too much.

The staff were friendly, but the hotel is a bit of a walk from anything of interest in the city. It can be just a little bit uncomfortable walking at night in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant_traveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.3 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#20 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.9 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#39 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns

Property: Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Address: 136-140 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Sunshine Tower Hotel is ideally located just 3 blocks from the city centre and 10 minutes' drive from the Cairns International Airport. The hotel has a beautiful backyard with a large sun deck, an outdoor swimming pool, heated spa and barbecue facilities that can be used free of charge. The hotel's location is the perfect starting point for exploring the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Atherton Tablelands. The rooms are decorated in a tropical style, and all have air conditioning, tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a private en suite bathroom. Get advice at the tour desk before exploring the area. Guests also enjoy free secure car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing