We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad attitudes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trinity Links Resort and Apartments
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bad attitudes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I had the misfortune to stay at this property recently.
The supercilious attitudes of the property managers (Ursula and Ross) were almost enough to make us look for alternate accommodation on the spot, as was the property’s gestapo like rules and regulations, of which we were quite forcefully advised on check-in.
On our arrival at our apartment we discovered that the property had NO WATER due to some sort of ‘emergency’ (which was never explained) and they were hoping that it would be re-stored by 5.00pm. Well after 6.00pm there was still no water, so we had to make a mad dash to a supermarket to buy water.
And as if this situation was not bad enough, when we checked out, there was a charge on our room account for an ‘after hours’ call to Reception to further enquire about the restoration of the water (apparently all after hours calls to Reception are chargeable...!!!).
Naturally we refused to pay this amount and the charge was reluctantly waived.
We also had to contend with the following defects in our apartment:
*The dishwasher did not work and was not repaired until the day BEFORE we left.
*The ceiling fan in the lounge room would not work on low – it turned itself off if the lowest setting was selected.
*The air conditioner in the third bedroom did not turn on.
*The toaster lever would only occasionally lock into place to enable the element to activate.
*Security gate #3, which allowed access into our apartment’s area, only worked one day out of the seven that we were there – so much for a secure gated community..!!
The complex was again without water for most of the day on Wednesday too.
The bad attitudes of the managers and the lack of attention to detail with the standard of accommodation at this property makes it one to avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in Cairns - this property is a good 10 minute drive from the CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMC1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
48
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Large apartments at a quiet location, albeit a bit out of town but it only takes 10 minutes by car to get to Cairns CBD from this resort.

We booked under Wyndham and everything went well. The staff were helpful even when we arrived a few hours after their office closed to check in. The pool is lovely although a little cold during our visit.

My only complaint is that the bin liners they provided were flimsy and too small for the kitchen, and they did not supply enough (to be fair we didn't actually ask for more because we were out all day and it was only after office hours that I thought to ask!)

Overall, a very pleasant and relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've stayed in these apartments a number of times over the last 8 years. They are big 3 bedrooms with an ensuite and main bathroom, this one was set up as 2 bedrooms plus an office which suited us fine.

The kitchen is full sized and well equipped, good for a long stay, and the furnishings thoughout the apartment well maintained.

Not in the centre of Cairns but about 10 minutes drive south of the city the resort is situated next to a golf course in a really quiet location. The grounds and pools were immaculate offering great resort facilities though the heated spa wasn't working during our stay.

A fantastic place to sit and unwind or use as a base for travelling throughout the Tablelands/Daintree no matter if you're travelling as a couple or a family with friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GordonAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

As one of wyndhams associate resorts, this was a let down.

Staff were rude, clueless, unapproachable, unwilling to help. It took two days of calls to get the soap holder in the ensuite repaired and for an anti slip mat for the shower to appear.

Three bedder, ground floor, pool outlook. That was ok. Room needs painting, maintenance check as there are damaged Walls, door frames. Also you need to be careful when getting up from the lounge suite as it doesnt sit on a mat and slips easily on the tiles.

Impossible to fibd car spacebar night as we arrived after reception closed and the directions we were given were vague. Also couldn't find the room for the sae reason.

You do need a car to get around as it is not close to the shops. Shopping centre though is about 10 minutes in the car and is a big shopping centres with woolies, big w, fruit shop, other shops.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank robynk2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Booked this via Wyndham so we knew what to expect, a comfortable base outside the city, which was exactly what it was. We got a sparkling three bedroom ground floor apartment facing the pool which was ideal for our 2-yr-old granddaughter. We didn't get to use the pool much as the water was too cold but did enjoy sitting outside until the mozzies and sandflies came attacking. This happened at all hours so it's good to splash on some heavy-duty insect repellant for all-day protection. The rooms were well-equipped with ac and ceiling fans, comfy beds and the master bedroom had its own TV and ensuite. Everything worked but the dishwasher which was fixed immediately. The facilities were consistent with the high standard of Wyndham resorts but the service wasn't. There was one very helpful receptionist though who was different from the rest of the staff. She (Pam) made up for the rest of them. The gym and sauna had limited operating hours which was a big let down. Altogether, a very pleasant stay and easy to get to anywhere location. A car is a must.

Room Tip: Ground floor poolside rooms great for families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

The pool and spa are absolutely freezing. Nice pool layout spoiled by ridiculous temperature of pool. Was expecting a week of lazing around a pool I could casually use but it was a matter of getting up the courage to have a swim - Not good enough!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank See-it-as-it-is-tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

The rooms were good, amazing pool area, great layout and functionality. But, the first person to check us in was pleasant, although sort of short tempered and rude. So we hoped she was the only one, but all the other people we encountered there were either unhappy, rude or just not pleasant to deal with. We felt like everything we asked for was annoying!
Not going back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasedebase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
3.9 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cannon Park Motel
Cannon Park Motel
#37 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Links Resort and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Links Resort and Apartments

Property: Trinity Links Resort and Apartments
Address: 72 Kowinka Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity Links Resort and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Links Resort and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing