We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
A TripAdvisor Member
Tembagapura
1
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Pleasant Hotel. Walking distance to shops and harbour.
Obliging staff.
Returned many times and will continue to.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,975 - 1,981 of 2,370 reviews

An Accor traveler
Townsville
1
Reviewed December 14, 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Quick check in, the staff were more than happy to help and were very useful when it came to getting directions to any were in the area. Hotel is close to everything that we wanted to do such as shop and dine. Best thing was the free internet which is a rare thing on the gold coast . Beds were extremely comfortable in fact this was one of the few times we really need the wake up call to wake us up. I agree the pol towel situation could be handled better but it is not a big thing. All in all this is a good place to stay. Used the dinning room for Breakfast and found it good value for money but explored the many restaurants in the area for our evening meal.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kincardinepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

wanted to get in a long weekend and dive on the reef without the Port Douglas price tag so we stayed in Cairns for 1st time.
Got a great rate online for 3 nights with pool view & breakfast included.
Room did smell musty but that fades quickly with some fresh air from the balcony, and the room is clean. Bathroom a little dated but again, shower was hot and everything clean.

The selling point for Novotel Oasis is the pool area (with swim up bar) and the location (it's one street back from the main drag).
check in and all other staff were friendly, though some of the travellers working the pool bar were a little out of their depth, but you get your drink in the end!

Like others we were amazed at the amount of fruit bats in the adjoining trees, more amused at their antics than concerned. Use the free internet stations in the foyer to learn more about them :-)
It isn't a luxury option but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a great stop for a short stay & access to Cairns restaurants & the reef trips. I'd consider staying at the Novotel when in cairns for a short break again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2007jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Cairns
1
Reviewed December 13, 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whirled_Travell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We had read reviews on trip advisor and due to being advantage plus members decided to try this hotel.

We arrived about 10am on Sunday and realised that check in was later in the day. Reception tried to accomodate us earlier but we were prepared for this and had decided that we would have a walk around town. It was a huge concern and we were happy to wonder.

Check in occurred on our return to the hotel and we went to our room. We have travelled extensively and had read the reviews and we were expecting a high level of service and conditions. Unfortunately when we arrived at the room and on opening the door the room smelt very musty. However as soon as the air conditioning clicked in it wasn't a big issue. Room was tidy, basic, but sufficient. We didn't opt for pool view and it didn't matter as we didn't spend a great deal of time in it.
As everyone has said the pool was great. Refreshing, clean, pool bar open and accessable. Always chairs available, quiet and secure. Service was great throughout the hotel.

Location was the best. Easy access to the CBD/esplanade for a wide variety of choices for shopping, eating and entertainment. Esplanade is entertainment in itself with fantastic swimming and lots going on. Markets are interesting.

Likes
-pool was glorious
-breakfast had wide variety for everyone - $28 each (advantage plus card $28 for 2)
-staff were helpful and friendly
-free internet access
-location

Dislikes
-suggest pool towels by the pool rather than in your room, fresh towels don't always coinicide with room cleaning and going to the pool
-musty room smell
-delays in check in is understandable but frustrating after a long trip

However overall had a relaxing holiday and look forward to returning again in the future

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $101 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing