We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply glorious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Simply glorious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

This resort is simply devine. Soft beautiful furnishings and a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. I was happy to find plenty of FREE parking which is a bonus in busy resorts like this one. The pool looked devine even though I didnt get the opportunity to test it.
My fridge leaked on the first day I was there but hotel maintenence were there in no time. The Resort buffet is plentiful although the 'earlybird discount' never got applied to the bill both evenings I dined so I had to always remind them.
All in all a beautiful relaxed resort where id definitley stay when in Cairns again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    904
    537
    196
    95
See reviews for
637
844
136
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

After staying 3 month in a hostfamily up at the Notehrn beaches, my parents came to visit me for two weeks, staying at the Oasis Resort. I was quite worried, coz usually we don't like staying in Hotels situated in town, but this was differnt! The atmosphere was just really relaxing and enjoyable. It's really worth it's name. It is indeed an Oasis! It was quiet and the only noise you could hear, were the Flying Foxes in the evneing and the birds waking you up in the morning. The pool and the yard give you a tropical feeling. Dining outside is really worth an experience and the food was delicious. Unfortunately the bar situated at the pool was most of the time closed but anyway, it is pretty cool and has a big offering. The rooms weren't special, but nice and tidy.

The only negative experience we had was with booking the rooms. We booked a three bed room with pool view. What we got was a room with street view, what wasn't that nice and too small for three persons. I mean that is what can happen when booking via an agency. So we asked them to swap in one two bed and one one bed room. Unfortunately it took them really long to sort it out even though they still had many spare rooms. But that was alright, at every other ocasion the staff was really freindly and competent, they helped us organisig trips and weren't tired of answering questions and caring about individual needs.

The hotel is close to the esplanade and the main streets. Visiting Cairns you should know, that you can't swim at the beach in cairns town, that's why they built a big pool called lagoon at the esplanade where always something is going on. That is only 10 minuits to walk from oasis hotel. Along the road you find seasited bars and reataurants of every price level as well. In case you wanna go to a propper beach, there is a bus leaving at a bus stop two minuits to go from the hotel (sunbus 2a or 2) going to the Nothern beaches what takes about half an houer. It might be even good with little children coz the compound is big and playgrounds are just around the corner at the esplanade.

So, me and my parents heartly recommend everyone to stay at the Oasis hotel. After checking out other hotels around, we reckon this one is one of the best places in town in this catagory.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilingTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

we were able to check in an hour earlier which was very helpful and left our luggage the day on check out and enjoyed the pool as our fligh t did not leave till late that day so had one and a half days stay loved the pool area . Only comment wa bathroom decor was date but very clean

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

we had a room which over looked the pool'
Clean room, lovelly breakfast
Fruit bats feed in the trees at dusk and amaing sight
If you leave the hotel entrance turn right and then right again this will atke you straight to the esplanade where all the restaurants are, about ten minutes walk

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

The room is just enough for two adults with two children. However I forgot to pack up two T-shirts for kids when we left and seems lost forever. the swimming pool is the kids' favorite place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We returned to Cairns to visit family and had another enjoyable stay at the Novotel Oasis. The resort is very well situated and close to the City centre. The rooms were confortable and clean and the breakfasts were of high quality. Free undercover parking is an added bonus. The staff are friendly and always have a smile for guests. My wife rated the pool as the best she has encountered in an hotel or resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Novotel in Cairns during October. The weather left much to be desired however we found solitude in the bar and foyer while waiting for our room. Once checked in we found the meals were healthy, inviting and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening buffet. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would say the prices of drinks were a little steep but otherwise the hotel was generally good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing