We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being on a Tropical Island !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My friend and I spent the most relaxing week ever here at the Novotel. We each left our 3 kids and hubbies for a week of relaxtion, and that we most certainly did !! The staff, location, cleanliness, rooms (especially the beds - so comforatable ! ), were A1. The lagoon pool was absolutley gorgeous. During our 1 week stay we spent 2 whole days, just lying by the pool relaxing. It was great to be able to enjoy a cocktail at the swim up bar. The green gardens and surrounds were just stunning, it was like being on a tropical island. We had breakfast every morning in the restaurant, and we were able to eat indoors, but still enjoy the outdoors as all the panelled windows were opened. In one particular area you were able to sit right near the outside water fountain, hearing the water trickling, just lovely. The breakfast was plentiful, they even had freshly extracted fruit juice and you could use the machine to make your own vegetable juice. Percolated coffee was divine. Fresh fruit wasn't crash hot bit tasteless which i thought being in queensland would be sweet and tasty. Would have been great to alter the hot breakfast slightly and they never had mushrooms ! Loved the natural yoghurt with pureed fruit and the smoothie cups, rice pudding pots divine! Unfortunately home made baked beans were terrible and tomatoes needed to be grilled, they were quartered and heated, didn't taste nice. Seriously only minor complaints, all in all everything else was yummy and walked out each morning content, without having to eat lunch that day. Indulged in numerous cocktails at the Novo Bar !! Just delicious ! The barman, Remi was great. The conceirge was very helpful organising and booking our day trip to Palm Cove and Port Douglas. Reception was excellent with booking taxis, delivering ice to our room and any request really was attended to promptly. The main foyer had lovely couches with large cushions, where you could sit and relax after a hard day !! Great to have a balcony outside our room, often been to hotels where you were enclosed and couldn't open windows, we were able to leave sliding door open at night for a cool breeze. Congratulations and Thank You Novotel, you made our relaxing 1 week holiday in Cairns amazing and unforgettable ! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,984 - 1,990 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

This hotel really impressed me. First off.. free internet! This was something I found out to be very few and far between in Australia hotels. Secondly, the staff was beyond helpful. They were personable and extremely kind. The hotel itself its beautiful. Two 25 year old girls going to Australia on a tight budget.. we got to this hotel and felt like it was the biggest treat to ourself. Out of Brisbane, Cairns and Sydney, this was our most favorite hotel we stayed in by far. The pool is quiet and calm and we loved the resturant outside and visited there every afternoon for a yummy lunch. The hotel is at a PERFECT location. We walked everywhere and felt safe doing so. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy a great stay in Cairns!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snapple24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2010

Thanks for your great feedback... I have shared it with the team who were pleased to be recognized for their friendly service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Cairns when you are next in Cairns.

Kind regards

Greg
General Manager
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We loved the Oasis - stayed for 6 nights and got a pretty good price on one of the swankier king rooms through wotif or last minute or one of those....

Room was wonderful, furnishings modern and everything in good condition. Pillows a little hard but you can order others from reception.

The pool was great, and cocktails at the bar were lovely. There was a little kitty kat in the pool gardens while we were there, who was friendly and made our day. Great place to sunbake and build sandcastles, and the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming.

The hotel bartender was accommodating and made a special dessert cocktail for me - delicious! We didn't eat at the restaurant, the menu looks nice and diet friendly though. We ordered room service on night, as we were exhausted and didn't want to go out. The menu made our mouth water, but the actual meals delivered were not as described. We told reception about the disappointment as we were checking out, and they remedied this for us.

All in all a great experience, especially if you can score the discounted rate... I think we paid around $140 a night in the end, which was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mereki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2010

Thanks for your feedback, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will look into our pillows, of course we have others to chose from but we want to make sure the ones on the beds are also comfortable.

Unfortunately the cat just wander in off the street, its now been happily rehoused with one of our staff. I know some guests enjoyed it but we couldn't leave it living in our gardens.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards

Greg Erwin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed at the Novotel Oasis to 2 nights in May before departing on a liveabord to the great barrier reef. The resort had excellent facilities, good size swimming pool and the rooms were clean. Staff were all friendly and helful. The Oasis is very well located, just off the main Esplanade and CBD, close to the port and railway station.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loadsofemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2010

Thanks for your review and choosing Novotel Cairns before embarking on your cruise. I am delighted that you had a nice stay.

We are very proud of the resort and pleased that you liked all that it has to offer.

We hope to see you again soon...

Kind regards

Greg Erwin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Nights of stay: May 13 and 14, 2010
Room location: Fifth floor, west side, street side
Odors: None
Cleanliness: Beds clean. Very tiny ant-like creatures crawling floors and vanities, but this is the tropics.
Noise: Muted traffic noise; very quit cooling unit fan.
Staff: Very helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable
Available Breakfast quality: Superb, better than excellent

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

Thank you for your feedback, I was delighted to hear that you rated our Breakfast so highly. We recently won an award for Novotel Best Breakfast so its pleasing to see our guests responding so well.

We are certainly working hard with our pest control regarding the ants. The rooms are serviced regularly but as you alluded to the tropics is a difficult place to control them.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns...

Kind regards

Greg Erwin
General Manager
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We just returned from a trip through Fiji and Australia and I just had to write a review on the Novotel in Cairns. It was a first-class hotel with courteous and friendly staff. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Esplanade (a boardwalk that runs along the waterfront). Although there is no beach in Cairns (it's mostly mud flats), the Esplanade provides a great place to go for a walk and the tour person in the hotel lobby is very knowledgable and can direct you to almost anything around town. Our room was quite nice and clean although furniture was a little sparse (no real dresser with drawers). There is a WiFi zone in the lobby for those with laptops and for those without, there are 3 Apple machines availble at no cost in the lobby. Internet access is available in the room, but at a cost. We would definately stay at this hotel again if the opportunity presented itself. The swimming pool has a swim-up bar and white sand at one end for children (resembling a beach).

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank RetiredCanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

Thank you for your very positive feedback... I was delighted to read the comments about our staff and will be sure to pass your compliments along.

Luckily if you are looking for a beach in Cairns we are the only hotel in the CBD that has a beach in our Pool. Its a great feature for the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort when you are next in Cairns.

Kind regards

Greg Erwin
General Manager
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Great location, on edge of CBD only 10 mins walk from bus station and taxi rank. Easy walking distance to sea, boat trips to Barrier Reef, shopping centre and railway station. Airport only 10/15 minutes by taxi. Large bedroom with 2 double beds. Outdoor swimming pool. Bats in trees in hotel grounds are a great spectacle at dusk.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnTipodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $120 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing