We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities, well located and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed at the Novotel Oasis to 2 nights in May before departing on a liveabord to the great barrier reef. The resort had excellent facilities, good size swimming pool and the rooms were clean. Staff were all friendly and helful. The Oasis is very well located, just off the main Esplanade and CBD, close to the port and railway station.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loadsofemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2010

Thanks for your review and choosing Novotel Cairns before embarking on your cruise. I am delighted that you had a nice stay.

We are very proud of the resort and pleased that you liked all that it has to offer.

We hope to see you again soon...

Kind regards

Greg Erwin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,309)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

Nights of stay: May 13 and 14, 2010
Room location: Fifth floor, west side, street side
Odors: None
Cleanliness: Beds clean. Very tiny ant-like creatures crawling floors and vanities, but this is the tropics.
Noise: Muted traffic noise; very quit cooling unit fan.
Staff: Very helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable
Available Breakfast quality: Superb, better than excellent

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

Thank you for your feedback, I was delighted to hear that you rated our Breakfast so highly. We recently won an award for Novotel Best Breakfast so its pleasing to see our guests responding so well.

We are certainly working hard with our pest control regarding the ants. The rooms are serviced regularly but as you alluded to the tropics is a difficult place to control them.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns...

Kind regards

Greg Erwin
General Manager
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We just returned from a trip through Fiji and Australia and I just had to write a review on the Novotel in Cairns. It was a first-class hotel with courteous and friendly staff. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Esplanade (a boardwalk that runs along the waterfront). Although there is no beach in Cairns (it's mostly mud flats), the Esplanade provides a great place to go for a walk and the tour person in the hotel lobby is very knowledgable and can direct you to almost anything around town. Our room was quite nice and clean although furniture was a little sparse (no real dresser with drawers). There is a WiFi zone in the lobby for those with laptops and for those without, there are 3 Apple machines availble at no cost in the lobby. Internet access is available in the room, but at a cost. We would definately stay at this hotel again if the opportunity presented itself. The swimming pool has a swim-up bar and white sand at one end for children (resembling a beach).

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank RetiredCanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

Thank you for your very positive feedback... I was delighted to read the comments about our staff and will be sure to pass your compliments along.

Luckily if you are looking for a beach in Cairns we are the only hotel in the CBD that has a beach in our Pool. Its a great feature for the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort when you are next in Cairns.

Kind regards

Greg Erwin
General Manager
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Great location, on edge of CBD only 10 mins walk from bus station and taxi rank. Easy walking distance to sea, boat trips to Barrier Reef, shopping centre and railway station. Airport only 10/15 minutes by taxi. Large bedroom with 2 double beds. Outdoor swimming pool. Bats in trees in hotel grounds are a great spectacle at dusk.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnTipodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed at the Oasis for 5 nights -front desk staff helpful and friendly & the tours booking agent during the week was spectacular. Room with 2 double beds was adequate, but the bed was horrible and pillows hard and headache-making. Room wasn't cleaned properly, never adequate towels and there were ants crawling up the walls. Noticed the ants because I laid a cheese and cracker packet on the night stand and it was invaded with ants in minutes. Found ants in my morning coffee!!! Front desk said that the ants aren't harmful. Shameful. Pd nearly $200 US per night which did not include breakfast. So my one breakfast was the small buffet for $28-outrageous price. Location okay but with hotels along the Esplande with real waterviews are available at same price, I wasn't impressed with the man made "lagoon." It was ok for swimming. Hated taking my laptop to the lobby for free service but there are 5 desktops available at 20 minutes time. Unfortunately, even though it's adequate as a hotel, the prices were outrageous for what I got.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

over priced motel room full of beds and bassinetts for a single person checked in at 1am checked out at 8am would have stayed a week, the bath was a torture impliment staff were happy to take my money and couldnt care less that i was dissatisfyed went and stayed at a backpackers for $20 at least it was honest about what it was.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank Kenyum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We spent 9 days at the hotel as part of a world trip. On arrival the reception staff couldn't be more helpful, and our room was clean and well appointed. The location near the sea front , restaurants and facilities was excellent. At the hotel there is also a guest laundry as well as underground car park. Easy to get around the area from its location. Hotel Restaurant and food was excellent value, and at Breakfast we got a free newspaper. Again the staff were very helpful. Free internet was also provided.

We can recommend this hotel and in our world trip rating of many hotels, this was high in our list as one of the best. We will stay again on our return to Cairns.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $122 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing