We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“slightly disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Mandurah
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had an 8 night stay here. The location couldn't be better, 5 minute walk to the Cairns Esplanade and a 5 or 10 minute walk to Coles/Woolies. The pool are is great, grassed area, a sandy bottom area for the kids, bbq area, so that was great. The rooms itself are terribly dated which was disappointing. The carpet was a disgrace, bathroom so small, shower over bath and a small vanity. We paid for a room overlooking the pool but you can't sit on the balcony as its too small, and there is no chairs or a table there anyway. We had a terrible smell in the fridge, told reception and they said they would get the guy to look at it. It seemed slightly better on our return but still a smell then a couple of days later, water leaked out of the fridge all over the carpet and saturating the cupboard. All our ice creams melted. The floor wasn't vacuumed in 5 days and after that I asked if it could be done and the bin wasn't emptied for 2 days which was overflowing on the first day. We had to ask for that to be emptied as well.
We didn't eat there, so can't comment on the food/resaurant. All the staff were friendly. One thing that was a bit annoying, the phone in the room seemed like an ordinary home/alarm clock phone so made several trips down to reception to tell them about the fridge etc. When checking out I over heard the receptionist telling some people who were just checking in, to dial 9 or 0 (whichever it was) if you needed anything. Would have been handly to know prior because our room was in a different block which involved lifts and walking along a couple of long corridors. The brick paving, especially around the lifts, need a good heavy duty clean. That was really bad. Would I stay there again, don't think so. Needs a good clean and a refurb. 10 minute drive to airport. Wifi was hit and miss

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandurahmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    821
    501
    180
    89
See reviews for
587
770
128
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for five nights.Positives...close to town, ok pool. Negatives...this hotel is very dated and run down.Upon checking in our room was very mouldy/musty smelling which was unacceptable with children, so we were shown another room which was better but not available?. We decided to try turning off the old unclean aircon and it improved enough that we could sleep with the door open( a door that barely could run on its track) luckily it was not mosquito season! The bathroom grout was stained and the carpet stained and the beds lumpy. The door card played up also and there were no information booklets about the hotel in the room. There are no tourist brochures available in the hotel also, which the reception staff explained as unnecessary as most people know where to go! there is a private tour desk which gave the impression they were not interested in helping us unless we wanted to book a tour. We had booked a package with the Novotel which included breakfast( not anything spectacular unless you like mushy scrambled eggs, bacon and baked beans every day) and a trip to Green Island. Luckily we turned up early at the wharf because the Novotel staff had not booked our day trip and the boat was full, so we waited 20 mins whilst the helpful gentleman at Big Cat cruises tried to get answers from the Novotel staff and eventually he squeezed us on a very full boat. This was quite stressful since we only had that one day to go to the Island. When we returned to the hotel the manager apologised but was reluctant to accept responsibility...we were offered a bottle of cheap and nasty house wine which we could not even drink. Overall the service was not up to standard. The gardens were unkept, the pool area had radio music on which is not perfect when you have young children and the news and adult adverts come on. We have stayed in better hotels for that price and quite recently.Can't recommend and will not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This my 4th stay with the hotel but this time brought family (2 x teens). Excellent hotel, much improved on last year and back to the standard it once was. Pool area is excellent, restaurant is great, staff couldn't be faulted. The only fault I have was that there are no 2 bedroom suites but we were comfortable in the family suite. Value for money is fantastic and I will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A lovely garden area around a very cold pool. Very pleasant staff. Only found out later that wifi was available in the garden area. Piped music in the reception area, restaurant and pool area was often intrusive. Rooms have limited storage and uncomfortable seating. Excellent location within walking distance to central Cairns and Esplanade.

Room Tip: Some are adjoining family rooms and the connecting door allows all sounds through especially late ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is now the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel so I am getting a good feel for it. I must it's great. The swim up pool bar is awesome. It is very close to the centre of town 7 the breakfast buffet has a good selection. I found staff to be very friendly & accommodating. I stayed solo but is family friendly & relaxing.

Room Tip: Upper floor on the ocean side is the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed with our 2 children in a room with 2 double beds. We found the room quite small with a musty smell. But apart from that everything else was nice. The pool was lovely we spent the best part of 2 days around it and ordered drinks and food for lunch at the poolside which was very nice. The staff at the poolside bar was very friendly as were any other staff we had contact with. We didn't eat at the restaurant apart from a small breakfast one morning. The location is very central to most shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.4 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing