We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    890
    531
    194
    92
See reviews for
627
835
133
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hotel was chosen for the attractive pool surroundings and garden, which I enjoyed over the weekend I was there, although the area was very busy with families and a wedding party. Unfortunately the rooms did not match the outdoor area - the door to the balcony didn't work, there were chips and scratches in a lot of the paint work and the towels particularly, were definitely very well worn. Probably not the best location in town, either, if you don;t like walking in the heat.

Room Tip: The fruit bats are very noisy and may wake light sleepers. Choose a room on the side of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janem0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was surrounded by big trees which where full of bats!!! Maybe you can find bats quite interesting but try to sleep when they start making a cry noise all at once. Additionally, the hotel facilities needs to be renewed. The only good thing was the location near the Esplanade.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Silviamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
While I am glad that you like the central location of the resort, I am sorry to learn that your stay was impacted by the presence and noise of the Spectacled Flying Fox colony that roost in trees nearby the resort. You may not be aware but their roost is protected. It has been reported in the local press that the city council is currently working with the Queensland Department of Environment to move them away from the city centre. In the meantime we try to allocate all guests a room that is located away from their roost when occupancy allows.

Once again we are sorry you had this experience and we hope to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Wodonga
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Bad service from Greg one of the night reception.Novetel lost out on 6 breakfast because of hes rude attitude. He was not happy to help at all. I hope Novetel call me and speak to me about this.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. It is important that we provide our guests with a high standard of service and it is evident from your feedback that we failed to deliver on this occasion. I wish to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Your valuable feedback is important to us so I would be grateful if you would contact me so we can discuss and learn from your experience; I may be contacted on 07 4080 1888.

Kind regards,
James Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I don't think this hotel should have a four star rating. We stayed here recently for 4 nights, the staff was lovely but the beds were too soft, we spoke to reception and they organized to put a board under the mattress, but that made no difference, so my husband and myself tried with the mattress on the floor, it still made no difference. The beds were that soft that my 3 year old grandson would sink into the mattress . Its a pity as we had choosen this hotel because it was a four star hotel close to all amenities, sorry to say we wont be back, as now I have to see a osteropathy im in that much pain

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for providing valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. While I am happy to read that you received good service from the resort team, I am sorry to learn that you did not get a good night's sleep. I wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Following your feedback we will complete an inspection of our guest rooms to determine if the issues you encountered is limited to one room or if several matresses need to be replaced.

Once again, we are sorry you had this experience and we hope to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing