We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“jules” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“jules”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

good size room , service good, did have ants in the room, that needs attention, apart from that it would have a much better score, good location , breakfast was disappointing, great pool area with nice sandy beach in the middle of the resort, foyer was not clean , but resort was busy,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie-smaroochydore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    890
    531
    194
    93
See reviews for
627
835
133
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just had 2 nights at the Novotel oasis resort. What a lovely hotel and indeed a oasis right in the middle of a bustling city. Beautiful pool area though not enough pool lounges for the size of the pool. Staff all very helpful and just a really nice feel about the place. The "state of the art" gym may of been state of the art 30 years ago but the treadmill was very old. Unfortunately my room was dark, ground floor with tiles in an extremely high traffic noise area. I did not feel like I was staying in a hotel as it was so dark and musty smelling, took me back to my backpacking days of hostels. Great location though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great location 2 blocks back from the Esplanade and in the centre of town easy walk to everything. Fantastic resort pool with sandy beach. Restaurant good value however not a lot of atmoshere and kept very cold with air conditioning even though we travelled in winter and it was not needed. We were disapointed with the first room we got it was right in the canopy of a tree loaded with fruit bats, which were both noisy and smelt. The room itself was smelt and was dark. Staff were helpful and I changed rooms and I felt the standard of the room was what I would expect from the Novotel. We stayed for 5 nights and whilst we tended to eat out the hotel was overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

As soon as you walk into the lobby one can see the hotel is dated and needs some upgrades. The room was worse. It was musty and felt dirty. But what really topped all this were the red ants in the room and bathroom. And it was not exclusive to us as we had a second room (a distance away) for other family members and the red ants were there too. Needless to say we were all tired by them ... Not pleasant!

Location wise, this hotel is close to the CBD and Marine Jetty where all the tours start from. Charlene at the Front Desk offered excellent customer service and was a pleasure to work with. If you stay here, take a minute to go out their back gate and view the hundreds of bats in the trees right outside the gate. Quite a sight ... But watch out for the droppings!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frem862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Although it is nice to read that you like the central location and you received excellent customer service, I am sorry to learn that you felt the hotel is dated and that you had sugar ants in your room. I wish to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Your valuable feedback has been shared with the resort maintenance team and they will take the steps necessary to address the issues you encountered.

Once again we are sorry you had this experience and we hope to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We've just returned from a short break in Cairns having booked this hotel on lastminute.com at a very reasonable rate. It is really conveniently located, just a few short walk from the Esplanade and the shopping mall. We arrived on an early flight but were still able to check in - check in was fast and easy, no complaints there. The room had a slight musty smell on opening the door but it was clean and the smell disappeared very quickly. It was quite small for 3 of us and lacked storage space - we left things in the suitcase as there really wasn't much drawer space. I wouldn't say it was 4.5 star standard but for the price it was perfectly comfortable and acceptable.

The pool looked very nice but to be honest we didn't use it or any of the restaurants. We did use the tour desk and the lady was very helpful. We didn't have any issues with bats like some reviewers have reported and on the whole it was very quiet in the building we stayed in (room 423). The room was always cleaned by the time we returned in the afternoon.

We checked out at peak time but it was fairly fast and the guy was extremely polite and helpful.

I would stay here again thanks to the reasonable price and great location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkingwombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing