We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a reno, never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 4, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank HappyMum3Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,333 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I often stay at the Novotel Oasis due its great location and amazing pool! The swim up cocktail bar is a treat too!
Rooms are good, bathrooms a little dated but still the best place to stay in Cairns!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank adsa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Short stopover in Cairns but good clean basic facility with good level of services and friendliness. Good follow up to any requests.We arrived very late but staff were still courteous and helpful. Set up of childrens bedroom was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank fmac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andre808
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after flying into Cairns and heading off to Port Douglas. The hotel served its purpose i.e. clean, tidy, quiet and comfortable. We booked through Wotif.com so got a good deal but we had a room with an average view (not really an issue for us as we just stayed the one night). The hotel is just a short walk away from the esplanade so I would say good location if you don't have a car. I would not want to stay in this hotel if I was after a relaxing resort style holiday it is in my opinion better for shorter stays. The pool did look nice but we didn't actually swim.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool, I would think it would be nicer than a view of a roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to let Trip Advisor readers know that our hotel is "clean, tidy, quiet and comfortable".

The resort is in a great location and we also recommend booking an upgrade to a Pool view room. Sorry you did not get a chance to swim in our pool, it is the largest resort style pool in Cairns and has a swim-up bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were only at the Novotel for a couple of days but had hoped to find a hotel with a big pool, swim up bar and beautiful sunny rooms. It certainly had a big pool but the rooms left a lot to be desired.

We were assigned our room but it was clear that it had not been used for a good few weeks as it was incredibly musty with mould growing on the chair. We asked to be given a new room but the hotel was booked out due to the Ironman so we would have to wait until the following night. So we just left the balcony door open for the duration of our stay.

The following night we moved rooms to a pool view room. It was the same room as previous just without the smell. The rooms were OK. Standard hotel rooms with old TV's.

Yes, the pool was there with the swim up bar but it was cold. I guess they figure they don't need to heat the pool, even in winter. So we didn't end up going swimming. Though it was a beautiful setting.

However, I can't fault the staff. They were wonderful. Incredibly helpful when we mentioned the state of our room, they were unfortunately a bit stretched with the Ironman, but were happy to assist us with things to do in Cairns and day trips around the place.

Oh, but don't travel in Cairns if a big AFL game is on. They don't show them on free to air at any time and even the pubs would prefer to show a France Vs. NZ union game than the AFL game.

Room Tip: Try and stay within the main building and not one of the outer wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwansFanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $109 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing