We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Overall the experience was good but not great.

The room we stayed in was some distance from the main entry in a connected building but there were no exits apart from the main entry/exit.

Our room was next to trees that were full of bats when we arrived, noisy and dirty creatures. The bats left at dinner time but were back very early the next morning and were very noisy.

The hotel is not in the main part of town but close enough although you wouldn't walk up the side of the street with the bats.

Parking was accessible and cheap, breakfast (Buffet) was very good and service was very friendly.

I may stay there in the future but would request a closer room away from bats.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 009401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 2,371 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

When we checked in, our room had not been cleaned from previous guests and so had to walk all the way back to reception and when we told them of the mistake, they did apologise, but they did not seem surprised! Then we were given new room only to find when you walk out into the balcony, there were two sanitary pads on the roof over the restaurant! Beds were very comfy but pillows were thin and jorrible. Must say the housekeeping lady was very friendly and did a great job! Was close to the city but will probably not stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saph_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

While I am pleased to discover that you received friendly attentive service from our team and you liked the central location of the resort, I am sorry to learn that we sent you to a room that had not been cleaned. I wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Your feedback is important to us, so I wish to assure you that we will take the steps necessary to address the issues you encountered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I will start by saying very good location could not ask for anything better in regards to the location. Although there are thousands of fruit bats in the trees outside the hotel when you walk to the Esplanade, can be a little dirty.
When we arrived our room had mouldy mothball smell. We notified reception and they sent some one in to spray it. The smell seemed to go but was still some what there throughout our trip but was bearable.
Room service was very poor, our towels in our room only got changed once out of four days. And we noticed room service meals sitting outside doors for more then 12 hours.
Buffet breakfast was very good, we had this including in our package and was very good.
The pool is great and drinks at the swim up bar are reasonable priced.
TV Quality is shocking in the rooms.
All and all Novotel Cairns is not great but not awful. Some great things about it and some disappointing things.

Room Tip: Try to get pool view room. Other views are very boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

While it is great to hear that you enjoyed many things about the resort, such as our cenral location, the large lagoon style pool and our buffet breakfast; I am sorry to learn that your room was not serviced to our usual high standards.

It is important that we provide a high standard of cleaning and service to our guests and it is evident from your feedback that we did not offer this level of service on this occasion.

Once again we are sorry you had this experience and we hope we get to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Everything was good except for two points. Air conditioning in the foyer and the dining room was set to Antarctic. When you've come from a British winter you don't want that. When you've come to the tropics, you've come for, erm, the tropics!
It was disappointing that Wifi was only available in the foyer refrigerator. For the marginal extra cost to Accor it could easily have been free in the rooms. And the ethernet could certainly have been free in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Coldfinger258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I thought it was a 4 star hotel when I booked it. From my experience I am not sure if it's a first class hotel. Bathroom was not in good shape at all. Tiles were cracked. Ants were all over in the bathroom and in the room. Mattress was very lumpy and not comfortable. Breakfast was average. No complains about the location. It's perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank abby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

unexpected bargain. great hotel, central to the main vibe in cairns. great facilities and the bargain price even included breakfast. room was comfortable but basic and the bathroom was a bit old hat.. but it didnt detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mingomagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Upon arrival I was greeted by excellent customer service at the check-in desk. The man (i think his name was George) waived my parking fee for the length of my stay which immediately put me in a good mood. He was also very informative and explained the hotel and the local area.
The room was a bit of a walk away, but extremely clean and decent in size.
There was an informative room guide, which included information about the extremely comfy bed! There was a choice of complimentary pillows in the room guide, which we ordered. They arrived immediately and further improved our already comfortable sleep!
The swimming pool was massive and nice and clean too.
Included in our stay was a buffet breakfast package, which was very nice with lots of selection.

Room Tip: check out the room guide - you get to choose your own pillows!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yumst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $102 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing