We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect family escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Charters Towers, Australia
1 review
“perfect family escape”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great location to see all that Cairns has to offer...the beds were very comfortable.the breakfast was brilliant with organic options :-) The lagoon pool was fantastic for our whole tribe to relax in after exploring ......very family friendly accommodation. We will definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Outdoorsy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Glad to hear that the whole family enjoyed their stay at the resort.

Boasting the largest lagoon style pool in Cairns with a sandy beach at one end for the kids to enjoy, barbecue facilities, a kids corner in our restaurant and Muddy's children's play ground located only 2 blocks away, our resort is the best place to have a family holiday in Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    916
    542
    196
    95
See reviews for
642
852
137
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here one night whilst transiting through Cairns. I found the hotel clean with great facilities.
Room service on goes to 10pm, which is a minor issue if your flight gets in late. However there are options close by.
Lastly these are the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in:-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant6974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Have stayed regularly in novotels whilst living in Australia due to their rooms which can accomodate 2 adults and 2 small kids aswell as kids free breakfast which is great.Have stayed in Brisbane and Sydney to compare. This hotel is fine except for the cooked breakfast and internet . In regards breakfast I personally wouldn't waste my money again on full breakfast as it was pretty poor and we ended up having a continental each morning. I'm from UK so I know what a full english should be! It isn't fatty uncooked bacon, vile cheap sausages, sloppy scrambled eggs and spagetti instead of beans!!! No hash brown in sight and had to ask for a fried egg! The chef really needs to be flown down to Brisbane or Sydney on a course to improve.The internet was really poor-they offer a mac corner which cant load any pages! Couldn't access even hotmail which took 10+ minutes to load if at all, and then shut off at 20 minutes-really frustrating! Had to use front desks computer eventually to send important business issues. Soooo- overall nice accomodation in nice place but spoiled by poor food at breakfast and poor internet. Probably wouldn't stay again due to food-plenty of other options in Cairns.

Room Tip: dont pay for full breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andygog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Sorry to learn that your experience at the resort was mixed, with some good impressions and some poor. We are keen to make every stay at the resort memorable for all the right reasons. So I wish to apologise for failing to deliver a high standard of food at breakfast time and for the slow internet speed.

Your valuable feedback was shared with the Kitchen team and we shall take the steps necessary to address the issues you encountered.

Once again, thanks for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The Novotel offers a lot for a reasonable price - its a lovely venue with great facilities and helpful staff - but there were a few letdowns. The cleaning people were absolutely terrible - the bathroom was always left in a bad state, including failing to clean the bath and toilet, not replacing our towels, and basically left us feeling as though it was only half finished. Unfortunately it was left this condition every day, so theres a bit of a staffing problem there. However the reception and tour staff were always very helpful and attentive. The hotel it pretty nice - there are some signs of age, like water damaged timber in the rooms, no hot water for a night, and tears and stains on the floors and fabrics, but overall it was pretty ok. The surrounds make you feel as though you're in a big resort, with a huge pool in the middle and lovely trees and surrounding facilities. The hotel is really close to everything - walk to the waterfront, casino, shops, and restaurants. Overall the stay was enjoyable and well priced, but could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had Novotel Big Cat Family Pak.
Staff did not know what the package was and requested me to provide details to him.
Welcome gift for children were not gave until I asked.
Complimentary Nickelodeon cartoon network of the package was not provided.
As for Full Day at Green Island cruise in the package, they neither gave me vouchers nor did they tell me to go to Reef Fleet Terminal to get my boarding card, so I spent half an hour going between the boat and terminal to get things done. Worst experience. I regret I also book hotel in Dunedin & Melbourne with accorhotels.com for my next trip in May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank randal4634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Darwin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great family resort with a lovely pool area that has sand down one end. A place for kids to play volley ball on the grass. It also has BBQ that can be used.
Great location nice awl to the Esplanade and other shops an restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank winesunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Upon check in, was given unclear directions to our room from Reception Staff. Room Slept 3 guests but only had 2 bath towels. Complementary toiletries missing, no bin in bathroom. Fridge had previous guests drink/food left in it & was dirty. Stained carpet. Cheap iron leaked water. Gardens smelt from Bats. Lift near pool constantly had water on floor which was dangerous. Buffet food served at breakfast was cold & coffee machine was too slow to produce coffee. Staff were not friendly or caring.

Room Tip: Middle rooms are away from trees which contain Bats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
By the sounds of your experience you are right to feel disappointed with your stay at the resort. It is evident from your feedback that too many small touches were overlooked by the resort team, such as placing enough towels in the room and an iron that works.

I am sorry we did not deliver the standard of service that we aspire to on this occasion. Rest assured that our Housekeeping team will take the steps necessary to address the issues you encountered.

I hope we get the opportunity to provide a higher standard of service the next time you stay at a Novotel hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing