We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

After having traveled for over a week and missing my own bed and pillows I has the pleasure of staying at Novotel Cairns.

The bed was like a giant cloud, so soft (yet supportive) and a range of pillows to choose from. I had a great sleep and didn't want to get out of bed in the morning!

The staff were friendly, though on check out when asked if I'd had anything from the mini bar and saying no, somehow a mini bar item ended up on the bill?! He quickly fixed that with minimal fuss.

If I was to be picky, the only thing I would mark them down on is leaving the room service trays in the corridor all night. They were still there even after returning from breakfast. The breakfast was delicious by the way- so many options.

All in all, a great place to stay and one I recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels_a-lot0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 2,333 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you want to enjoy Cairns, this is the place to stay. It's a short walk to anything in town. Staff was courteous and friendly, rooms clean, buffet breakfast good, beautiful pool area. What we enjoyed the most was the fact that we could come and go with no hassles, felt completely safe at night, and was such an opportunity to see the city, eat out, roam the shops, and sit by the waterside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The pool was the highlight and a great refresher after 27 plus hours of travel to get here. The grounds were well kept and it looked like more upgrading was going on. The rooms were clean and modern and while not large were good size especially as we compared to others we stayed at in Melbourne, Sydney and Adelaide. The hotel is two blocks from the water front and easy walking to all the shops and restaurants.

The flying foxs (fruit bats also nested nearby and were very interesting to watch on their nightly flight out to the rain forest to feed.

A very good value

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brad c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay at the resort.

Yes we are happy to confirm that we are doing our annual spring clean at this time of the year when there are fewer tourists visiting Cairns. We have been doing plenty of painting and gardening in advance of a busy Easter period.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinaberi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Love this hotel if you stay in rooms 478 480 482 484 or 378 380 382 384 you will see what I believe is the best wildlife experience in Queensland
The fly out at dusk is truly spectacular
You can safely watch them quite close up often with their babies all chattering with each other.
They don't disturb your sleep as soon as you close the door you can't hear them.
We live south of cairns and always stay in this hotel in one of our favourite rooms when we stay over.
Great pool great hotel at reasonable price and very close to main tourist area .

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I can think of no other place in the centre of a city where you get such a wonderful wildlife experience for free. there is an amazing flying fox camp right beside the hotel. The flyout at dusk is a staggering spectacle and you can watch them at tree level if you are lucky enough to get a room near their trees. They are beautiful to watch...we decided to order room service at sundown so we wouldn't miss any of the spectacle. The pool is great, surrounded by palms and old mangoe trees - wonderful setting- amazing wildlife....a very unique place to stay

Stayed: February 2013
2  Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is surounded by a huge bat colony. Went you walk out of the hotel and towards the main part of town you are going to be walking under bats, which I did not like. Even though they were in the trees outside my room the noise did not bother me. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from downtown. It has a great big pool. The rooms are a good size but very plain. In the bathroom they only had soap and shampoo. No conditioner or moisturiser. And one of those horrible wall hair dryers. There is an undercover carpark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $109 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing