We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Would stay there again”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Overall a good experience and the pool there is great. Only critisism is that the bed was way too hard, the cane chair in the room was uncomfortable to sit in so if you wanted somewhere to sit you had to sit on the bed. The airconditioners in the room was really noisy asit was the old compressor split systems type and finally the lounges around the pool were uncomfortable as they were the hard plastic type. So to end on a good note the food and the staff there were nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAL19832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    916
    542
    196
    95
See reviews for
642
852
137
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We recently stayed in a pool view room. The rooms have been recently renovated and were quite nice, but don't think the bathroom was included as it was quite outdated. The foyer was nice and was great having the apple computers for free internet. And the pool was great too. However service was quite poor - no conceriege when we arrived and had to ring twice to get a cot brought up to the room (which was pre booked). We were also told our luggage would be brought down when we left, but wasn't so had to go back up and get it ourselves. Its not that we couldn't do it ourselves, but its those extra little things that really make a place. I would recommend not including the buffet breakfast, it was probably one of the worst buffet breaky's we have had. It did have a fresh juice station but everything else was pretty limited. Also be aware of the bat problem around the hotel, I know that the hotel can't do anything about it, but there are literaly hundreds (if not thousands) of bats in the trees surrounding the hotel. We were lucky to be in the same building as the foyer, but other rooms were right under one of the trees, and it was so noisy. This also caused a problem when walking into town, as you had to make a run for it not to get pooped on. Overall, a nice hotel but certainly nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northshoredeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Novotel Oasis. The staff were great and their customer service was brillient! The hotel was just lovely. The pool.... Wonderful, what more can I say. The environment suited everyone, families, couples and buisness.

Great work Novotel Oasis!!! I will recommend you to everyone :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooloomooloo
Level Contributor
381 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This has always been my preferred place to stay in Cairns, usually due to its central location and the friendliness of the staff. However, the young man on checkout, who was clearly employed for his language and culture skills rather than his commitment to customer service, was unbelievably (and unjustifiably) abrupt and rude. This really soured my stay, and left a poor last impression.

That said, this arrogant receptionist probably sticks out more here because the rest of the staff are really very good. It is true that the rooms are starting to show signs of wear; this time I encountered a mouldy bathroom, a noisy refrigerator and vibrating aircon. However, the lagoon-style pool area is fantastic, and it is worth paying the extra for a room overlooking it.

On balance, the small signs of decline and the rude receptionist are enough to jolt me out of my comfort zone, and in future I will be trying other options in Cairns rather than automatically booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the way to go, with high floor rooms on western side also getting a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great Hotel for a leisure stay, staff very helpful without being overbearing, however it did seem like the restaurant may have been a little short staffed.

Rooms are quite nice and housedkeeping staff were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing