We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

I stayed in a standard room which was large, airy, air conditioned, and well equipped. The room and furniture were pretty basic but it certainly has all that you need for a comfortable stay and it is very clean. The hotel is right in the centre of town and a short walk from the bus and rail station and coast/esplanade. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, there's a roof-top swimming pool which is great in the heat and I'd consider the value to be very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Louise_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay with us in Cairns.

It is always nice to receive great comments from people who have experienced good hospitality

Thank you once again and we look forward to looking after you again in the furture

Kind regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    114
    119
    93
    74
See reviews for
84
94
40
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

It was a fabulous place to stay for a holiday away with my Mum. Brilliant location and staff that were very helpful with my Mother's needs. I enjoyed the delicious food and the fantastic bar, with staff that have great personalities.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you fro taking the time to write a review following your stay at the hotel recently.

It is great to get feedback from our guests saying how much they enjoyed their stay with us. We hope that you will be able to come back and stay in the future.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Rydges Plaza Cairns would have to be the most conveniently located hotel in Cairns. It is right in the centre of all the action, from shopping to nightlife to dining - it is all literally steps away from the front door. The rooms are of a good standard with very comfortable beds but if you can afford to splurge on the Suite rooms they are worth every cent of the extra money for the additional space, full sized fridge, kitchenette and balcony with table and chairs. The other rooms are more of a standard hotel room and only have step out balcony so no room for a table and chairs. The hotel has recently refurbished its bar and restaurant and the result is just excellent. Meals ordered at the bar are great value and are really tasty. There is an adjoining outdoor area and the hotel has been really successful in creating a trendy and relaxing 'salsa' bar with real atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and willing to engage with guests on a real level rather than a superficial business level. If you have a car - be warned, there is a parking fee to use the hotel facility. This is my favourite hotel in Cairns and after staying in just about all the four and five star establishments there, I just keep coming back to Rydges Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stavanger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to rovide us with your feedback following your stay with us.

It is great to get positive feedback from our guests and i will be sure to pass this on the team at the hotel.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Stayed here last in 2008, the b'fast buffet has not improved, nor the insufficient level of staffing in any sectors of the hotel's operation. However, the rooms are good and the bed's are comfortable. It's a cut-price operation but it's sufficient for most and the pool area is quite good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WernMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback following your stay with us.

You will be pleased to hear that we are currently going through a review of all our food and beverage offerings including the presentation with the new launch happening very soon.

Thank you once again for your comments they really are appreciated

KInd Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

Travelled with teenager - room with 2 double beds. Ok if you just need somewhere to sleep - don't expect too much. Clean and central to the city and markets.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns, Is this the worst service a tourist will get in Australia?
My wife and I are convinced it is!
a) We asked for early check and ended up being kept waiting passed the standard check-in time.
The excuse - the rooms were not ready after a big new years night!
Big deal we say - we paid up front for the room - it should be ready - there are no excuses
After a red eye flight from Melbourne we needed to freshen up and offload our bags and in Cairns
on New Years day its dead - so nothing to do.
b) We were by no means the only ones waiting - queues of Japanese tourist also waiting in the lobby
c) Staff attitude - complete indifference - hick town approach - not my responsibility - couldnt care less
d) Finally got to our room - its dirty! - the bathroom is run down and obviously in need of a make over
and not just with a bottle of bleach
My wife adjusted a cushion on the bed - fluffed it up and the odour of dust filled the air - disgusting!
Room facilities - absolutely basic at best - and definitely struggling to make 3 stars!!!
e) Food service - avoid it - fast food takeaways would have been better - ordered room service burger - it
arrived cold - greasy and not even good fast food standard - over-priced and overrated!!!
Avoid the belly ache and buy out.
f) Breakfast - serviced in a room with no atmosphere, scant food (greasy again) and coffee straight from a
billy tin - taste of tar and not much else - forget the breakfast - the refugees eat better food
g) Contacted Rydges - all the Hotel manager could offer was to give a night free to redeem themselves!
Therefore he expected we would fly all the way back to Cairns to experience the same thing!
Now that is arrogance if ever there was
I emailed suggesting we could be tempted to a night at Rydges in our own home town.
No reply

In other words dont bother complaining they dont care less
And we strongly recommend saving your hard earned holiday funds for something else, you deserve better

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartrussian84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Hotel.

Firstly my sincere apologies for a less than great stay with us. It is certainly our intention to deliver a great experience and on this occcasion we have failed and for that i am sincerely sorry.

Your feedback has really been beneficial and for that i thank you. We have a new GM on board and customer service and the upgrading of our all our menus is currently underway, so that we can deliver a memorable stay in our hotel.

Our aim is to try and deliver a true hospitable time to everyone and your comments will help towards this.

My sincere apologies once again

Kind Regards
Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

Pros - bed was comfy.
Room was clean. Air-con didn't make noises. Had some basic Austar.
Central to town.

Cons - could hear other guests above (walking around/showering/tv)
Bathrooms not refurbished & 1 star in appearance (patchy colour paint, ugly style, various marks & dints everywhere including "rusty" marks on mirror).
TV reception for standard local channels was not good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodchuck_jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us in Cairns.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the rooms and facilities available. You will be pleased to know that we have already started upgrading the bathrooms on some floors with this looking to continue this year.

Thanks you once again

KInd Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#13 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#43 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing