We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Plaza Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

When we arrived in Cairns we struggled to find anywhere in which we could sleep, however this hotel only had one room available. Although the prices were steep, we were unable to decline as most other places were also fully booked. This Hotel room did not include breakfast, however there were places round the corner that served lovely food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi Charlie,
Thanks you for your review. It looks like you chose a busy time to visit Cairns. Our location is perfect for an early morning walk around. Next time in Cairns you should get along and try our Rise breakfast we think it is one of the best in town.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    100
    101
    76
    55
See reviews for
66
82
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

2 nights for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids with a great view of the pool and over the city. Rooms are a great size. The staff were very friendly and actually read the notes you add on when you book. Breakfast was included in the package we selected and it was unbelievable value for money! Could use an fresh coat of paint and upgrade some stuff but we were still very happy with the place. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowgirl0278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your great review. Our staff are a huge asset to us here at Rydges Plaza and your comments have been well received. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are up here in the Far North Queensland.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The price was fairly steep and for this we were still asked to pay $10 for parking we night.

The bathroom looked older than me, definitely needs an upgrade if they think they can get away with charging that much.

The beds were comfy though and a great view and location.

The check in staff was very very very courteous (a Japanese lady).

I give it a meh score...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lukesalakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi Luke,
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review of your recent stay here at Rydges Plaza. Appreciate your comments regarding Yuki one of our great Front Office team members, and we agree our location is perfect and you cannot beat the Rydges Dream bed for a great night’s sleep.
Hopefully we get another chance to see you in the near future.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
391 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 5 nights and the rooms are ok and the bed fine. I didn't eat in but the restaurant seemed fine with a good selection of dishes. Overall the place is looking a little tired, rusty shower fittings etc. The staff were great though and it is in a very central location close to the casino and esplanade. I'd probably stay somewhere else if I was visiting cairns for pleasure and not business.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi John,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay at Rydges Plaza Cairns, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you are right in saying that our location is perfect to see the best of what Cairns has to offer.
Again thank you and we do hope to get another chance to see you here at Rydges Plaza.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent location, rooms were decent, beds comfy and friendly service. Great price on the room. Have stayed in others that were not as central or as nice for more money. Easy walking distance for entertainment, dining or shopping. Thanks Rydges :)

Room Tip: easy walking distance for eating, entertainment and shopping. Highly recommended and a good price t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriciaRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi TriciaRenee,
Thank you for your great review. You are right in saying that Rydges Plaza is central perfect access to everything Cairns has to offer. And yes the Rydges Dream beds always allow for a great night's sleep.
Thanks again and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Cairns
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Myself and 4 other colleagues spent 5 nights at the Rydges back in May for business.

Impressions were quite negative:

* Showers disgustingly rusty
* Dust and mould everywhere
* Dead cockroaches and hair found within bed linens
* I personally had a piece of chocolate sitting on the floor under the minibar the whole time (which means there has been no vacuuming)
* Bed bugs in one of the rooms
* Minibar items expired 4 months ago

Very happy to finally check out, some of our credit cards got charged (with no authorisation from our end) even though there was a company card on file. On top of the room charge, some of us got charged some random $50 fees which took almost a week to clear in our bank accounts.

Spoke to the hotel and barely got a reply let alone an apology.
Would definitely explore other options if I had to go back to Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauri2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Lauri,
I was extremely disappointed to read your review regarding your experience at Rydges Plaza Cairns. I have alerted the Executive Housekeeper about your cleanliness comments, and these areas will be of a central focus of the team to improve. Your bed bug comment is a little off the mark as we had the room professionally checked and no traces were found, though these are known to travel within guests own luggage. I have also spoken with our reception team about the comments made and though apologised at the time and via email – please accept my further apologies for the inconvenience. Being from within the hotel industry yourselves I am sure you realise mistakes can happen from time to time.


Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here for a night last week. Not a high standard of cleanliness - hairs in the bath and sink. I called someone up to have a look and they were very apologetic and offered me a room change but I didn't bother. I wasn't asked at checkout how my stay was and I thought well if they don't care enough to ask, or mention the fact that I complained, well I don't care either. I'm going up to Cairns for a week tomorrow and I will be staying elsewhere!

Room was cold at night. No heating. It's pretty cold in QLD at the moment so heating would be a plus.

Great bed, and the USB charging point and free WiFi are a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#7 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#56 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing