We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't pick the right Rydges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #58 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Booked flights with Jetstar whilst in Australia and they offered hotel deals in Cairns where we were staying. I usually do plenty of research into my hotels and remember looking at the Rydges chain in Cairns which had fairly good reviews but I think the other two that were available would have been a better choice. The Rydges Plaza hotel was well located for all the amenities such as travel eating shops etc. so my initial reaction was positive.

The family bedroom was very tired with worn and dated furniture and when I opened the very small wardrobe their were 3 coat hangers between 4 of us. It was very noisy mainly because it was holiday weekend and there were a lot of young party going types staying in the hotel. I was a bit alarmed to see the young party in the room opposite carrying 5 or 6 cases of beer into their room. They did not disappoint and seemed to party most of the day. Luckily we did not spend much time in the hotel.

Although I was disappointed with the quality of the hotel I want to stress the staff were absolutely fantastic. I could not fault their understanding and helpfulness including the room maids who did the best of a bad job in keeping our room clean and tidy. They always took time out to be polite and assist with all our trips and enquiries. I would like to single out one person (Evan Coleman) in particular who always seemed to be on duty at the reception. Evan would print us out maps, bus time tables and explain the best places to go for trips and sightseeing - one of the most helpful members of hotel staff I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shiner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 511 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. The room itself has everything we needs with the beds super comfy. The hotel is just dated...mould...cracks..light falling down in bathroom etc. The reception staff were great...very friendly and warm. The car park is small and hard to find the entry button butr hey at $10 a night cant complain. Location is great and overall when needing a bed for the night it is a good palce to stay. Need to pick up game with room service...plates left outside room at 7am still there at 11am.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolej77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Nicole,
Thanks for taking the time to send in your feedback on your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our service and our reception staff are the perfect example of this. Also as mentioned there are areas that we need to pick up our game and we have been addressing these.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Comfortable hotel although its age is showing in some areas. The pool was nice but would of been nicer if it was cleaned more thoroughly. The bed was very comfortable which is rare in a hotel, so that was a huge plus!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Pictures online don't reflect the actual property. Very damp and musty smell. Bathrooms are dated and mouldy. Rydges Group should consider a major refit.
Staff were lovely and restaurant and menu was great :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bic_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in Feb and I would definitely considered something else if I return to Cairns. The room and bathroom were a good size however the bathroom was very dated. The room also didn't seem to be overly clean, something had been splashed over the wall and it could be easily seen from the bed. The bedroom was very comfortable. The location of this hotel was good for getting around and seeing the main things around town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freybaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate you doing so as it helps us to continually improve our facilities and the services we offer. Your comments have been passed on to our Housekeeper so he can look to work with his staff to improve the issues raised.
We hope we do get another chance to show you what we are capable of in the near future.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have stayed here many times over the past four years and Rydges Plaza is great eveeytime. Rooms are always clean and staff are always very welcoming. This is also a great place for families as it has a pool and it located right in the heart of Cairns city and is walking distance from numerous restraunts and shops. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank afalvs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hello and thank you for your great review,
Great to hear such positive feedback from a regular guest, we really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have just spent the weekend here for my daughters athletics comp and we could not be happier with our stay. The staff at reception we're amazing,helpful especially Yuki who helped us find things to do when it was wet. Breakfast is wow, we could not fault it and the omelettes were so good. Didn't get to use pool but looked clean. Our room though dated was very clean and the cleaning ladies were nice. I have read several bad comments about the hotel but we could not fault it. We will be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hi Sally,
Thank you for your great review of your time here at Rydges Plaza. Our Rise breakfast is great and I have to agree the Chef does create a very good omelette!!, and Yuki really is a star on the front desk for us.
All of your comments will be passed onto the team and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip up here in the FNQ
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#18 of 63 in Cairns
557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $101 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing