We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold water, musty and a bit grubby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've stayed here a few times now and this hotel seems to be aimed at the cheaper end of the tourist market - so don't expect 5 star. Normally it's not too bad but this time it was quite disappointing.

The hotel is centrally located and the staff are friendly and efficient, however are let own by old and poorly maintained facilities.
This time my floor and room had a strong musty odour (?damp), the bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked well. The bathroom is really dated (circa 1980s?) and in a poor state of repair with cracked tiles etc and really quite dirty with several surfaces coated in a black grime. To top it off in the morning there was no hot water- a call to reception and the lady said she would need to reset the boiler and it would take around 10 minutes- unfortunately the hot water wasn't restored in time for me to get a shower before I left (around 30 minutes). The staff were apologetic and explained that the boiler did this on a regular basis.
Room service was quick and the food pretty good, Internet is fast and $18 for 24 hours, the breakfast is typical hotel fare but hot and pretty good, check out was friendly and efficient..

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Plaza Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 494 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Don't be seduced by the flashy reception area. My room had tired decor, lights that don't work, ill-fitting curtains, stained bathroom fittings and shoddy furniture. Good, central location but desperately in need of refurbishment. There are many better places to stay in Cairns.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank The_man_in_Seat_29C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Rydges was good value for money, compared to Perth prices. $190 a night between Christmas and new years is not too bad. The location is ok, a couple of hundred meters to the cafe strip. The rooms are starting to show there age, showers in baths I didn't like. They were comfortable and clean. It has a nice pool and pretty good views.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Hi Rod,
We appreciate your feedback especially coming from a seasoned traveller. Couldn’t agree with you more regarding our location we think we are in the perfect location for shopping, eating out and a trip to the reef. Also taken on board you comments regarding our bathrooms and we are addressing.
Hopefully we get to see you again next time you are up in the FNQ.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My two girlfriends and I stayed here on New Years Eve.... Disaster on all fronts... Despite there being two queen beds in the room they insisted on charging us an extra $52 for the one extra guest who ‘wasn’t on the list’. At this point the manager ‘Paul’ was rude, belligerent and just plain offensive to us all. However despite the extra guest not being an in post on any extra laundry or bedding and paying the extra $526 - there was no extra towel/s provided, nor coffee cups, glasses – well anything really. Then at check out – all the lifts were broken (that no one had told guests about) – so after 10mins of waiting, we then went down the staff service elevator (disgusting!) and out the back entrance and then had to drag our luggage around to the front for check out – all with no assistance, guidance or apologies. My husband and I have stayed here a couple of times – on all occasions, its felt old and dated with no services – even the pool bar has never been open, and on all occasions they’ve failed with room service (we even had to go down to the foyer to get an ice bucket!). So after the most recent epic fail – we’re done, never again Rydges plaza…. We’ll go back to the Hilton and Harbour Lights thanks!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The attitude and manner of the managment and staff more than compensate for the few short comings of this hotel. The breakfast buffet is still the best being served by any of the Rydges hotels, they just need to add tomato juice.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hi David,
Thank you for your review of Rydges Plaza, Our Rise breakfast is great – one of the best in town we believe and I will pass on your comments to the team up in Lilo, and we always have tomato juice on hand so please let us know and we can accommodate.
Once again thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I went to cairns at the beginning of November and stayed for 2 nights. First there was no parking available so you have to park on the streets and the receptionist wasn't welcoming . She had a blank look on her face and didn't bother much.

Room was ok for the price i paid. Location of the hotel is good , its near the main esplanade area ( Though there are better hotel even closer to the city .

There are two Rydges hotels in cairns, so better to find out which one you are booking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hi there,
Thanks for your review; we can’t agree with you more about our location it is so close to everything Cairns has to offer and all within easy walking distance. My apologies regarding your check in and we have spoken to the team as we pride ourselves on our service.
Once again thank you and hope we get another chance to show you what we can do.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old and the amenities are way past their 'use by' date. Every time the toilet was flushed in the room beside ours, the pipes screamed. There is mould on the walls, which is a safety issue. The room wasn't cleaned properly, and the sheets smelt like someone else had slept in them before us - very disconcerting. WIFI cost was separate from the room & overpriced. There is no gym. Taps in the shower left water dripping for some time after use. Our room service tray from dinner wasn't collected until after 1pm the following day. The room has a permanent 'damp' smell. Every time we used the lift from the carpark, there were large crates of dirty towels & linen at the lifts as well. We will not be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank JudiJabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#18 of 64 in Cairns
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 64 in Cairns
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#33 of 64 in Cairns
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $123 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing