We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wouldn't come back”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was on a $99 special down from an average rate of $120/140 for a standard room. It was basic and somewhat clean there was hair on the tiles and bathtub but thankfully none I the bed. The couch was falling apart and looked fairly sad. When we plugged the phone charger into the wall where the tv was then entire wall shook. The receptionist oncheckin was very rude; no greeting, and just laughed when i asked where to park my car. However the late night receptionist was lovely. The receptionist for the morning looked hung over. The LILO bar was wonderful though and we throughly enjoyed having a few drinks up there. The location was good very central to a restaurant we were booked at. Overall it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear lexif,
Thank you for your review on your stay. I assure you that customer service is of our utmost importance, and that your comments will reconfirm the level of service that needs to be provided by all staff. The front office and housekeeping teams have been made aware of your comments, and they will ensure that great service experience will be re-emphasised. On a positive note, I’m glad you enjoyed your time at LILO bar. It is truly a perfect spot for drinks and bar tapas. Regards, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    119
    124
    96
    84
See reviews for
89
103
41
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am currently staying here and the service is horrible. Last minute.com said room came with breakfast and it does not. Went for breakfast and was told I was not even checked in. Really I do have a room key. Breakfast was cold. Room service last night was cold. Reception were not interested. Would not even look you in the eye. Cob webs in room. I am not impressed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackmore1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear blackmore1078,
I was disappointed to read the remarks on your time at Rydges Plaza Cairns as your expectations of your stay were not met. I do apologise about the miscommunication with breakfast when you booked via lastminute.com. Since your stay, I have met with with the front desk, housekeeping and the food and beverage teams about your review, and I reaffirmed that level of service that must be met. Thanks, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The deal that we took suited us for the night out. We had a room, movies and buffet breakfast. The room was fine and the hotel was close to all the services that we required. Thought the bed was quite comfy and had views looking back over the city to the south.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregRhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear GregRhonda-Thank you for your lovely review, and I’m glad you had an enjoyable stay with us for your anniversary. I’m delighted you found the location perfect for your needs. The Rydges Dream Beds are quite a feature, and the views of Cairns are truly spectacular. We hope to welcome you back to the Rydges Plaza Cairns next time you are in town. Thanks, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect for what we needed. It was close to shopping, restaurants, grocery stores and the water front. The pool area is very nice and the children really enjoyed themselves in the pool. Front desk staff were very helpful and always willing to suggest places or give advice about local attractions. I would be nice to have internet connection that was complimentary if booking for three or more nights. It was nice to have the wall outlet for recharging as there weren't many power points. We were there from 7th to the 12th and found the hotel to be rather quite and found no noise from local pubs or clubs. The rooms could use an update and our tv played up on us a bit and the aircon didn't help at all with the dampness/ humidity, but the room was really just a base for us to explore the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jodi J-Thank you for your kind review. Our location is truly in the heart of Cairns, and I’m glad that you and your family were able to enjoy the spots around the hotel as well as our pool. I am happy to read that the front desk team was able to assist with local attractions, and I will pass on your compliment to the manager. In respect to internet connection, half price rates are available-regardless of length of stay--when you join our complimentary Priority Guest Rewards program. We hope to see you the next time you are in Cairns. Thanks, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I agree with 'stulec7's review below. I stayed here with friends from 2nd-8th January as part of a trip to TNQ and was surprised at how different the experience of staying here was from what the website promised. The first issue is that the whole hotel needs a complete refurbishment. The rooms are spacious but the carpets are worn and stained, the hotel furniture is worn and knocked about and looks to have been there for at least 10-15 years without replacement. The bathrooms are similarly worn out with chips on the bath, stained shower curtains and rusting metal braces in the ceiling. The air conditioning has two settings - 'Arctic' or 'Off'. There was also a disturbing film of black mould on the ceiling around the air conditioning vent. The one redeeming feature is that the beds were very comfortable. The second issue was customer service. 'stulec7' describes 'the receptionist lady' as 'quite rude and somewhat unhelpful' and I would agree with this too. Although some of the staff were helpful there was one lady in particular who was extraordinarily rude and unhelpful. One evening we returned to our room to find that only one of two beds had been made up and that the floor was unvacuumed, only the bathmat had been replaced and both towels had been left. Furthermore it was clear that the bathroom had not been cleaned. When I called to complain I was told that there was nothing that could be done as the housekeeping staff had left for the day. I was not offered an alternative room and no offer of a discount for poor housekeeping service was offered. Overall, it was a pretty poor experience, though the upside is its location right in the heart of downtown Cairns. My suggestion to others is to find another downtown hotel and to Rydges to close the hotel for 6 months and do a thorough refurb!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Michael B- I was disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. In respect to housekeeping matters, I have relayed your comments to the Housekeeping Manager as the overall attention and cleanliness of your room was not up to standard. In addition, I would like to assure you that overall hotel aesthetics are of top priority to us, and we are continuously upgrading. I have communicated your remarks- to the Front Desk Manager to review with the team. I am glad that you found the location ideal. Thanks, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed for one night over newyears eve, close to gillgans nightclub so noise can be a issue but it did not bother me the slightest. Found the receptionist lady to be quiet rude and somewhat unhelpful, lilo bar and pool area is great and very relaxing but lacks atmosphere..the hotel itself the rooms are in desperate need of a makeover especially the bathrooms..yuck, 1st room we checked into the toilet was leaking and making noise like a boeing 747 and we deffinatley could not stay in that room, request was easy done however no upgrade offered- dissapointing been a PRIORITYGUEST n all. The only saving grace are the rydges dream beds..their perfect, their seriously bouncy and good for jumping on according to the mrs! The location is very central to cairns and overall i spose it was a plesent experience. Cheers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuiec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Stuiec7-
I appreciate you taking time to provide us with feedback. Regarding the front desk comment, I have notified the department manager, who will ensure to reemphasise the correct level of service we, as a brand, aim to provide. I do apologise for the plumbing issues in the bathroom. I’m glad that your request was promptly put through, and that you were able to switch rooms. I’m pleased you enjoyed the Rydges Dream Beds as well as the hotel’s location. We hope to have you stay with us in the future. Kind Regards, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect choice to be on Cairn if you think only on location wise.
It is walking distance to the docks (3 blocks - where you will get the rides to snorkeling or diving), near the best restaurants (2 blocks away) and areas to shop (1 block away)
Now regarding the hotel facilities the rooms are very simple and quite old. The beds are quite old themselves and the bathroom very simple, but the price is not so expensive if you think how much you are going to save on transportation around the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corbellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Corbellini,
Thank for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent stay. I’m pleased you found the hotel conveniently situated in the centre of Cairns, and that you felt you saved costs on transportation because of our location. Some floors have gone through bathroom refurbishments. If you choose to stay with us again, please feel free to request one of these rooms upon booking. Kind Regards, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing