We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another average hotel”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Good stuff, kind friendly, helpful staff, they had my late check in all ready and waiting. Sweet guy at night, sweet woman in the morning. My Bed was comfortable with good linens and pillows. Good Location, never saw pool or restaurant, as I was only there one night.

The ok stuff.. Average size room, the entire place did smell of mold. In the tropics this is tricky as it needs ventilation to get rid of it. Bathrooms are dated, with cheap plastic faucets, that drip into the night, mold in the grout of all the tiles. Super expensive mini bar and snacks.. Internet 75 cents a minute with a cap of the bargain price of $29 LOL haha. The place is just not that clean, the hallways are really dirty. JUst small stuff like where they keep hotel info, the cover was all dark with dirt and coffee stains... I could hear housekeeping above me vacuming and banging kinda early.

It was a perfectly ok place to stay for one night, but not much longer. I felt safe, my bed was good, and they were friendly. It was quiet.. Just an average hotel..

Room Tip: take a room on one of the higher floors....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear MadroneJack,

Thank you for your review.

Glad to hear that the service you received from our staff was of the high Rydges standard.

Since your stay, we have been working quite hard on the overall cleanliness and feel of the common areas that I can assure you is of a higher level.

For your next stay with Rydges, if you sign up to our free loyalty program, Priority Guest Rewards (PGR), you will be entitled to up to 50% off your in-room internet at any Rydges. You will also receive 20% off all full price food and beverage consumed in the restaurant and bar.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    119
    124
    96
    84
See reviews for
89
103
41
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel clearly older building but has been refurbed nicely. Rooms always cleaned excellently. Bathrooms in need of renovation but completely functional and clean in current form. Staff very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear coldaussie,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Rydges Plaza Cairns.

I take on your point about the bathrooms, and some have recently been refurbished. Upon your next booking, feel free to request one of these rooms.

Thanks,


Fareid Taheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

One of the most comfortable hotel beds I've every slept in. The staff were so friendly and genuinely wanted to make sure we were looked after. Buffet breakfast was delicious. Rooms are on the small side but comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Mazza121

I was delighted to receive your feedback about your stay with us recently. Your comments have been passed on to the team that I can assure you are very appreciative.

Thanks and come back soon,

Fareid Taheri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed here on a Saturday night. I really enjoyed the LILO bar. It has a great feel to it and has a beautiful outdoor undercover area. The dj was ok when he finally arrived- he was late for work I guess. It took him too long to play my requests not the best DJ getting around that's for sure.
The location of the hotel is perfect for the night life plus for people who want to explore the city in general.
EVERYTHING is within walking distance it's great.
The hotel has had recent renovations and looks very nice. The front foyer is inviting however the night guy Paul very unpleasant, although I did stumble in a little bit tipsy to collect my key for my room at 2am.
I stayed in a deluxe room on level 9 and it was very nice. Aircon was perfect. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable.
Foxtel was a bonus however tv screen cuts out part of the picture- still watchable though.
Buffet blast in the LILO restaurant was very nice. However bread seamed a little dried out and the scrabbled eggs very runny.
But other than that there's a decent variety to chose from.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MermaidFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear MermaidFace,

Thanks for your constructive feedback. Your comments about guest service, the television and breakfast have been passed on to the appropriate managers who have addressed these opportunities.

Lilo Bar sure is the venue to enjoy a few drinks in great style and our “Dream Beds” are a highlight.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Rydges Plaza Cairns.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at the Rydges for 4 night. It was a very comfortable stay and good value for money. The staff were great, we were upgraded to a room on the 10th floor after arriving which was great.
The hotel location is good, close to everything including the reef fleet terminal which was a great advantage.
Overall a nice experience at the Rydges Plaza Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank May2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear May2203,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here and that it was good value. The hotel is well located in Cairns and there sure is plenty to see and do close by!

Thank you again for you time.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed twice during our last family trip to the Far North. With the wife and two young boys, we got one of the King Suite rooms. The first stay was for two nights, room was roomy and comfortable. Only two problems with the room, the sofa bed for our oldest child was a little broken and the door to the balcony could not lock (luckily son couldn't open it). Our second stay we were the floor above. No complaints with this room, the view was better (both the city and you could see the harbor and mountains. The price of the room was very reasonable especially if you are a member of Rydges PriorityGuest. Going back in a few months and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_the_og
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear matt_the_og,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments regarding the hotel suites, they certainly are spacious and family friendly!

In relations to the maintaince problems with the room on your first stay, I do apologise and of course have since been addressed by the team here.

Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you and your family again the next time you are in Cairns.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

stayed one night, rooms were comfortable and as expected

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Rigseismic67,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was pleased to read that your stay was comfortable with us here at Rydges Plaza Cairns. Be sure to check out Lilo Restaurant and bar on level 3 for a great place to get dinner and a drink the next time you stay.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#57 of 64 in Cairns
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing