We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is very well located, and for us, was just good because we stayed only 3 days.

Room was a bit dated but spa worked ok and beds, couches were comfortable. Is good value for money.

The only downer was that reception is not open only until 8:00 am in the morning, and they give you keys that you have to drop but there is not a box anywhere that you can see so, if you check out early, you had to call the reception, and they could not tell me where the safe was so I have to drop (expensive keys), into the hole of reception, hope they found them. Staff in reception was not very friendly and did not explain this when we arrive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Natalia3611

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found your room comfortable and good value. But you are in a group of one when you say our our reception staff were not friendly. I will defend them vehemently because they are the most friendly and efficient staff I have ever seen - anywhere! We do not discuss early departure procedure with every guest as most guests don't need to know and we want to get you to your room as soon as we can. Most guests who leave early ask in advance and are advised to push their keys through the security grill of the reception area.

Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    252
    75
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
399
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited Cairns for our Wedding Anniversary / My Birthday and chose this place from reviews here. This can be a mixed blessing as I have done this many times before while touring Europe. Noise was an issue for us the first night. My wife and I both work very hard and were looking forward to a nice relaxing 5 night stay, we were booked into room 702 great views of the Lagoon and Trinity Bay.Each room seems to have a separate A/C but the returns are all grouped centrally which happens to be right beside the bedroom wall and the roar from it kept us both awake most of the night with only dozing with an extra pillow on head...

Got up next morning and Had a "discussion" with room 703 about running their A/C all night.. Approached Reception about this who were most apologetic but said they were fully booked but would have the Manager look into it. We were eventually moved to room 408 on the opposite side still with lagoon/bay views. Much quieter but still the return can be heard. Not sure whether this is just a bad design or A/c that needs attention. The other noise issue is that of the doors. Door closers are very strong and doors slam all the time. Couple this with no door seals and the conversations of every individual can be very "interesting". We had to put pillows at the door just to block some noise at night.

Met a couple later that day in the lift who had just arrived looking forward to their stay, I asked which room they were staying in "702" the reply.. nearly choked and got a kick before I blurted out about just vacating room...fortunately we arrived at out floor then. Sorry MATE I hope the stay was good for you...Enough about the bad stuff there is plenty of the good..

Amenities - didn't use the pool or Gym but they looked well serviced and clean.

Reception - Excellent and the two ladies very friendly accommodating and Knowledgeable.

Apartment - A most unusual shower arrangement but room for two :)..Kitchen bench had a few stains heat burns and equipment is adequate. You could cook if you wanted but why bother with such a plethora of great restaurants outside the "back door" entrance onto the Esplanade. The rest of the apartment was clean and serviceable with modern conveniences. and the Balcony overlooking the Esplanade and Lagoon is a great place to watch the world go by as well as the planes taking off.

Parking - Good we didn't have a problem and parked in the same spot each day. although we tended to leave early and arrive back mid afternoon.. by the evening it was full.

I won't go into the surrounds of Cairns other than to say excellent eating can be had within 100m of the Apartments on both sides. Look out for "Johnno" a blues guitarist who plays on the "Golden Arches" corner of Shield and Esplanade. A great Local character and an interesting story. Have listened to him play every time we visit. Lots happening on the foreshore and at night is a fairy wonderland with the lighting now in place.

If you are Gluten intolerant ( sceliac) like my wife. there are many restaurants with GF meals. Try the Turkish place next door on esplanade and the Thai on Alpin is wonderful even the GrillD place is GF..

Hope you found this helpful and happy travels.

Room Tip: choose either of the corner outside front facing away from the central air conditioning returns..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Alpal21

Thank you for your review - one of the best I have read. A good night's sleep is most important and I too have difficulty getting used to a new environment. Like when my wife and I went on a P&O cruise. The first night was awkward but we got used to the steady whir of the engines quite quickly. This is somewhat like your experience I guess, and I wonder if you got used to the sound? You are correct the air cinditioning system uses water pipes throuout the building to take the heat away to cooling towers on the roof. In my opinion the noise is less than a gentle waterfall outside your bedroom window but I realise everybody is different.

The door closers are being attended to - many have been adjusted as far as they can and we are seeking approval from the Body Corporate to buy new ones.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope we see you back here again - maybe next Birthday/Anniversary?

Cheers

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had 3 nights at the end of August and well I was actually pleased to leave. Great location but that's really all for me, the room we were in just didn't feel or appear clean and perhaps had been given just a quick wipe down before we arrived. The room configuration was just bizarre. We asked if we could be upgraded higher up because we were hoping for a better sea view. We were happy to pay extra but that was not possible without us contacting our travel agent in NZ. I needed a topper for the pull out couch, the mattress was terrible but was told they didn't have any was bought an extra blanket, terrible sleep :-( So for me it was a bit of a downer end to our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPip14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear MissPip14

So sorry that you only found us to be average but I guess a poor night's sleep will do that. By way of explanation for other readers, all our apartments are 1 bedroom and, if there's a third person, they sleep on a sofa bed. Obviously sofa bed mattrasses are not as comfortable as sleeping in a king bed or single bed.

You have not given me much to go on regarding the housekeeping but I can say that at the end of August, we had a housekeeper employed here who is now no longer with us because her work was not up to our normal excellent standards.

We were very full in August (actually averaged 92% occupancy for the month) and many nights we were fully booked. In those cases, we just cannot allocate you to a spare room as we don't have any. Also, in your case, because you booked through an agent, any change to your booking must be processed through that agent - that is one of the protocols we must abide by.

Many thanks for your review, and best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

spent 10nights here and absolutely brilliant stay,right in the heart of cairns with beautiful views over trinity bay ,stunning and lovely staff .Would recommend to anyone and gladly stay here again.If any downfall little short on parking but everything else makes up for this

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear ken l
Many thanks for your very positive review, our Team all try very hard to make each guest's stay a great experience so your words have made them very happy. Just a quick comment about the parking, we guarantee one car space per room and our resources can be stretched at this time of year (peak season). Nevertheless, with our parking permit on the dashboard, guests can park in the Night Markets' car spaces which are only a few meters away and we pick up the bill.
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Yes the location is really good. We did however have issues with noise. We could hear guests using their toilet upstairs above us and chairs being dragged across the floor. The bed was very small (singles) but was soft which was a nice change from the really hard ones you usually encounter. The auto door closers do not work and the doors slamming really hard actually makes you jump in fright. The kitchen had only one small hot plate and not enough utensils. The staff are friendly and the room service was good. Overall it was a pleasant stay but it is a bit noisy.

Room Tip: get ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggchad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear chezmNowra,
Many thanks for your review and I am sorry you felt it was a bit too noisy here. I can advise that the door issue is being attended to - it is a Body Corporate responsibility and is being addressed. The bedding configuration is either two single beds or one king size bed in most cases - there are a handful of queen sized beds. We only set up single beds if that was requested by our guests.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Located right in the heart of The Esplanade the position could not have been better. Walk out the front door and you have the choice of dozens of restaurants all within a few minutes walk. The apartment, whilst slightly dated, was great, spacious, well equipped with views to die for and a really comfortable king sized bed. The receptionist Meegan was outstanding, knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, interested and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be back and my only hesitation in making this review is that others will find out about this gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTFROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear GTFROG,
We certainly appreciate your review, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time and trouble to post them. We hope you will come back one day.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the fantastic location of this hotel. It is hidden away from the main street, but is super close to the beautiful lagoon on the esplanade, with easy access to Woolworths and all other necessary shops. The hotel receptionist was super helpful and friendly, giving us sightseeing tips and suggestions. The room was very comfortable and the pod shower being an interesting feature. Bed was perfectly comfortable and gave us a good night's sleep. The only thing that could be improved upon are the bathroom amenities - no toothpaste/brushes which I felt was surprising for a 4 star hotel.

All in all, a great stay. I have no hesitations recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing the garden and pool are very peaceful and you can see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mushypea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear mushypea13
Thank you, thank you, thankyou - a charming review. We do really appreciate you taking the effort to let readers know about us. We hope you will come back and stay with us again some day.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing