We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“top stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

spent 10nights here and absolutely brilliant stay,right in the heart of cairns with beautiful views over trinity bay ,stunning and lovely staff .Would recommend to anyone and gladly stay here again.If any downfall little short on parking but everything else makes up for this

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear ken l
Many thanks for your very positive review, our Team all try very hard to make each guest's stay a great experience so your words have made them very happy. Just a quick comment about the parking, we guarantee one car space per room and our resources can be stretched at this time of year (peak season). Nevertheless, with our parking permit on the dashboard, guests can park in the Night Markets' car spaces which are only a few meters away and we pick up the bill.
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    243
    72
    18
    16
See reviews for
124
385
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nowra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Yes the location is really good. We did however have issues with noise. We could hear guests using their toilet upstairs above us and chairs being dragged across the floor. The bed was very small (singles) but was soft which was a nice change from the really hard ones you usually encounter. The auto door closers do not work and the doors slamming really hard actually makes you jump in fright. The kitchen had only one small hot plate and not enough utensils. The staff are friendly and the room service was good. Overall it was a pleasant stay but it is a bit noisy.

Room Tip: get ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggchad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear chezmNowra,
Many thanks for your review and I am sorry you felt it was a bit too noisy here. I can advise that the door issue is being attended to - it is a Body Corporate responsibility and is being addressed. The bedding configuration is either two single beds or one king size bed in most cases - there are a handful of queen sized beds. We only set up single beds if that was requested by our guests.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Located right in the heart of The Esplanade the position could not have been better. Walk out the front door and you have the choice of dozens of restaurants all within a few minutes walk. The apartment, whilst slightly dated, was great, spacious, well equipped with views to die for and a really comfortable king sized bed. The receptionist Meegan was outstanding, knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, interested and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be back and my only hesitation in making this review is that others will find out about this gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTFROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear GTFROG,
We certainly appreciate your review, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time and trouble to post them. We hope you will come back one day.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the fantastic location of this hotel. It is hidden away from the main street, but is super close to the beautiful lagoon on the esplanade, with easy access to Woolworths and all other necessary shops. The hotel receptionist was super helpful and friendly, giving us sightseeing tips and suggestions. The room was very comfortable and the pod shower being an interesting feature. Bed was perfectly comfortable and gave us a good night's sleep. The only thing that could be improved upon are the bathroom amenities - no toothpaste/brushes which I felt was surprising for a 4 star hotel.

All in all, a great stay. I have no hesitations recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing the garden and pool are very peaceful and you can see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mushypea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear mushypea13
Thank you, thank you, thankyou - a charming review. We do really appreciate you taking the effort to let readers know about us. We hope you will come back and stay with us again some day.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at BreakFree Royal Harbour for 10 nights while in Cairns for Ironman. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 7th floor (northern side of the building) that overlooked the esplanade and the location was unbeatable. Stunning views out over the water and we could walk out the door and be at a cafe or be swimming in the lagoon within seconds.

The apartment itself was well laid out and was sufficient for the reasonable amount of self-catering we wanted to do - half sized fridge, portable hotplate, microwave and toaster were on hand, as was a washing machine. The BBQs on the second level were also great. The only possible thing lacking is a dishwasher - something to consider when the rooms next get upgraded.

The only disappointment (and stopping the rating being a 5/5) was the lack of wifi while we were there. We had specifically searched for a place with wifi internet access (as the place we stayed at on the same trip in 2012 was lacking this facility) and so it was disappointing to arrive and find that the wifi service wasn't working. It was even more disappointing later in our stay for the manager to claim that it had been out for only 2 days when I complained about it - I had to point out to him that we had been there a week by that stage and it hadn't worked in all the time we were there. His attitude was that we could use the free wifi available on the Esplanade and so he didn't seem to think it was much of a problem or that there was much he could do about it.

I would have appreciated it more if he had shown a bit more concern about not being able to provide a facility that they advertise as one of the room services but it wasn't to be. A token gesture to acknowledge their failure would have gone a long way to restore my faith.

The rest of the stay was faultless, however will we stay at BreakFree again when we return next year? I don't know. Part of me says yes, however the wifi experience may well encourage us to continue looking at alternatives for our annual Cairns trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear z3girl

Thank you for your review of your stay at BreakFree Royal Harbour and we are very glad that the apartment's location and facilities were enjoyed by you and your partner. At present just two of our 38 apartments include a dishwasher so if you are planning to return please request that feature and we will try to allocate a suitable room to you. Most guests don't need a dishwasher as our average length of stay ranges between 2 and 3 nights, but when you stay for a week or more, a dishwasher can be a most useful accessory.

I do want to discuss the lack of WiFi during your stay. This service is provided on contract to all Mantra Group Hotels, Resorts and Apartments by a third party. When we were informed that the service was down we contacted that company immediately. This is an automatic response and is arranged by our receptionists. So please forgive me for not knowing that it had been out of action for more than the 2 days since I was informed. The point is that we did all we could as quickly as we could to have the service restored. I tried to offer an alternative solution to you as there are many free WiFi services available on The Esplanade.

Hoping we see you back here some day,

Best wishes

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Suituated in the heart of the action it provides a great location. Guest parking is very limited. Do not, I repeat, do not get a room on the south side of the building. The noise from the exhaust systems and air conditioning from the surrounding buildings make it impossible to enjoy the balcony or even being able the leave the balconary door open to enjoy the view or the fresh air. The north side maybe be better. The rooms are clean and the staff are helpful where possible. We asked to be move but were told there were no vacant rooms on the northern side of the building. Next time we will get a tent next to the runway at the Cairns airport, it would be quieter.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Gary B

I do hope that readers will realise that you have exaggerated about the level of noise. Yes, our staff do everything we can to make every guest's stay as enjoyable as possible and such over-the-top comments are most deflating especially when hundreds of guests have stayed in the same room as you and not even mentioned the noise problem. I actually live on the south side of the building and do not find the adjacent noise to be an issue (and my hearing is very good).

It was true that we could not move you to another room - your stay with us co-incided with the Cairns Ironman and we were fully booked.

Should you wish to return to BreakFree Royal Harbour please request a room on the northern side. As with all requests we do our very best to satisfy them but we just cannot guarantee that they will be fulfilled.

Best wishes,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at Breakfree Royal Harbour. We just love the location, style of accommodation and views. We only made our booking the week prior to staying and were pleasantly surprised by the deal we were offered for our six night stay.
The furnishings in our unit had all been updated and were both comfortable and modern. There is always something different to look at across the park and harbour. Just out the front door and your right in the centre of the Esplanade with it's great choice of cafes, restaurants and more ice-cream shops than anywhere else in Australia.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Janet T

Thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to get it out there. We look forward to welcomming you back for your fourth and subsequent stays.

Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing