We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived boxing day 2012 and stayed a few days we had a beautiful apartment facing the lagoons.
The hotel reception was closed upon arrival however they had been great with communication on letting us know what to do when we got there as well as have lots of signage for after hours guests.
This hotel doesn't look the best from the outside actually it's a hideous green colour but it was fantastic, the staff are extrmely friendly, the rooms and hotel reception and other areas are kept very clean and we had a fantastic view of a nighttime from our balcony.
The hotel is centrel to the dining and nightlife in Cairns and is just across the road from the awesome lagoon, it's probably a 5-10minute walk to Muddy's playground but it's a nice walk along the water anyway.
We really enjoyed out stay at Breakfree and would definatley look at staying at other Breakfree hotels for future holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear JamoJ

Your kind words are most appreciated - you rated many factors and I am glad to see that those things that we can control were rated highly by you.

Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    253
    75
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
402
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I can't imagine a better location for all the action in Cairns. This property is tucked right in with many bars and restaurants on the street facing the beach. It's really close to the marina - a five minute walk - if you have any GBR tours planned. The room was nice and spacious with a gorgeous view (I believe all rooms have a sea view). The folks at reception were friendly and helpful in planning tours. The only drawback is that my bedroom was right across from the garbage shoot and quite noisy at times because of it.

Room Tip: There is no servicing of the room unless you are staying 8 days or more. Clean towels for a fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyMelinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear MellyMelinLA

Thank you for you review, we appreciate your positive comments. The noise from the garbage shoot occurs when guests put bottles down the shoot. We have signs asking guests to not do so, rather to put bottles and other recyclables in the bin below the shoot but, unfortunately, some choose to ignore the signs.

Best wishes
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in room 701 for five nights over Christmas in December 2012. Service from the staff was excellent - they were always prepared to assist and be helpful and courteous. Room had great views over foreshore and park and we always picked up a nice sea breeze regardless of the heat. The room itself has an alcove type one bedroom with a useable kitchen and spa. Could have been a little cleaner with a dirty old sock found under lounge. The owners of this unit need to replace the sofa bed/lounge - it sagged badly when you sat in it and gave you a backache after any lengthy sitting. Air con worked well and bathroom has ample space. The location of this hotel is excellent - close to everything in the city and off street parking was not a problem. It was excellent value for money and would recommend the accommodation to others.

Room Tip: Room 701 for a single/couple is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Gary M
Thank you for your kind words and feedback, our staff and our position are definitely top shelf. I have reminded our housekeepers to check under the bed. As for the sofa, our owners have recently forked out for bathroom upgrades, but I will approach the owners of 701 to see if they can upgrade the sofa as well.
Just one question - your review was mostly positive so I am wondering why you gave us the lowest possible rating, just one "star" is shown at the begining of your review??
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at BreakFree Royal Harbour whilst on honeymoon in July of this year and found it to be extremely comfortable and pin clean. Everything we needed was provided and the layout of the apartment with spa bath was very nice. Beautiful vistas and views. Helpful, friendly staff. The ONLY drawback was the adjacent food-court chimney stacks, belching out noxious fumes, which, depending on the wind direction, was a bit off-putting. However, for our 3 night stay, we were very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear evglen
Many thanks for your review. You were here in peak season and the town was certainly jumping then. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and very grateful to you for your kind words. It's a shame that those chimney stacks were a bit off putting though - the way I look at it is that it's a small price to pay for having so many food choices so close to the apartment.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

With a very friendly welcome and a great vibe as you walked into the foyer, easy room allocation and paperwork filled out we eagerly went to our room.It was as requested spa room, ocean view and close to everything, i was impressed with the layout and cleanliness of the one bdrm apartment.i liked the self contained kitchen and easy access to things like air con, tv, balcony, walking distance to a kiddies water /pool area that my 3 year old loved.its close proximity to a wide diversity of shops markets and street life didn't in any way disturb the peace and quiet that the room offered as well as the many tours you can do from this hotel with shuttle pick ups and its 15 min closeness to the domestic airport...23 by taxi....i will be heading back again soon...next time with my whole family,the only downfall is this hotel say they only have 1 bedroom s available...so a large family would need more than one room...one room equals three ppl and possibly cot if needed with a fold out bed in lounge double and another double in bedroom.thank you for a much enjoyed stay at your hotel.

Room Tip: the spa baths are huge and the ocean views are nice as well as the side view oof the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailhinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you dear guest for your review - we are so pleased to be the subject of your first "excellent" rating. We hope you do return to Royal Harbour.
Best wishes for the New Year.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading reviews from other travellers, obviously the standard of these apartments must vary quite a lot because we thought we must have been in a different place to some of the other reviewers. We were disappointed with our apartment & found that it was "tired" & needed a good clean. The worst was the kitchen with sticky marks & coffee stains & the fridge door was open with a towel in the bottom as if it had been defrosted & forgotten about. The tiles on the floor were so grubby our feet were black after walking about in bare feet.

As everyone else has said the location is very good & you are within walking distance to most shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan-Kevin_Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest
We are so sorry for your unfortunate experience and wish you had said something on checking in so that we could have made things right. In this industry, as with most things in life, one cannot depend on human beings to get it right 100% of every day - but we welcome the opportunity to correct any thing that is not as it should be. If you come back to Cairns and wish to book accommodation please let me know and I will personnaly ensure that you have a remarkable stay here at BreakFree Royal Harbour.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Excellent location overlooking the lagoon pool on the Cairns Esplanade. Apartment is spacious, kitchen is adequate (though we ate out most nights at the many nearby restaurants). Bathroom has shower over a spa bath which was wonderful but may pose a problem for anyone with a disability. Staff very helpful & friendly.
Wine & Prawns (fresh & local) on the balcony at the end of the day was a highlight for us, highly recommend Royal Harbour Resort to anyone wanting a relaxed carefree stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoryBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear DoryBlue,
I cannot connect you with your Pen Name but thank you for your kind words. Our Team Members are all very excited each time I read them a new positive review, it kind of makes us all strive to keep on improving what we do.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing