We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of non-stop noise from building nextdoor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware of non-stop noise from building nextdoor”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just spent 11 days in a 1 br apartment. I had contacted Reception some 8 weeks before we arrived to ensure we had an apartment above the 3rd floor as I told them I needed a quiet apartment to relax on doctor's orders. I was assured our apartment was on the 7th floor, well away from any noise. I was pleased, because I had read the comments on this site about street noise from backpacker hostel next door and on the north side of the building. At check in we discovered we were given apartment No.704 which was located on the 7th floor on the south side of the building. But we soon found that the building next door had an extremely noisy air conditioning unit on the roof which was located less than 30 meters from our balcony. It was on 24/7 and was so noisy, we had to yell whenever we needed to communicate with each other whilst sitting on the balcony. We even had to leave the balcony sliding door shut at all times to avoid the noise. We requested another apartment on the north side of the building but we were told there was none available. No apology was given. Very disappointing, we felt we were deceived and robbed of a relaxing holiday. Never again Breakfree holiday accommodation anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Do not go there. Outdated furniture, hardly any cutlery, not enough plates, no dishwasher, portable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob2012w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear rob2012w

I remember discussing this with you. We did try to move you to another room but unfortunately that was impossible because we were fully booked for most of your stay. The only way we could have done so was to move you several times during your stay to different rooms and in three cases out of four, those rooms were on the same side of the building and lower down - you would have been even more disappointed.

One of our greatest benefits is our fantastic location, being very close to all the best Cairns amenities. But with the yin there is usually some yan and, in this case, the noise from exhaust fans and air conditioners was too much for you. The Chairman of our Body Corporate has recently written to Council about this problem so I want you to know we are doing what we can to resolve the issue.


To other readers:
I want our readers to know that this is not an issue that upsets a lot of our guests, we consider it a problem but do not receive a lot of complaints about it. I live directly under 704 on the second level - closer to the air conditioners - and do not find the noise to be of any concern.

As far as the smoke alarms are concerned, we believe it is better to err on the side of caution when fire is the issue.

I am so disappointed to receive this negative review about an issue which is not a major problem for most of our guests and is something we cannot do much about. We have been striving very hard to improve our TripAdvisor rating over that last year and have done so dramatically. This is a real set back for us.

I need to remember that you cannot please all of the people all of the time though we are endeavouring to do just that.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    252
    75
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
399
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed four nights for second time in this hotel and we enjoyed even more than the first time. Great location, clean with cooking and bbq facilities and most importantly great staff specially Meegan.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsam3018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you samsam3018, we realy do appreciate the time you have taken to say something nice. And I agree with you - Meegan is a fabulous receptionist - so friendly and keen to help our guests.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights 8th - 12th October in an ocean view spa apartment on 7th floor. So close to everything and what fantastic views. The apartment is very spacious and loved sleeping in and then having coffee on the balcony. Night markets are downstairs but we didnt hear any noise. So handy to Pier and swimming lagoon which is across the road and also a short walk to Casino where we went to a magic show which can be upgraded for $21 dollars for a 3 course meal included at the Hilton. Awesome. Staff are exceptional especially Meegan who made us feel so welcome and even brought up some pool towells for us later when there were none left. The apartment is not serviced daily so remember to bring extra soap, shampoo etc but for small fee you can purchase detergents and laundry at reception as well as sunscreen and lip balms. All the little things you might forget. There are funky restaurants, coffee shops, ice cream parlours and everything you need is within easy walking distance. We had one of the best holidays away and could not find fault in any way. Join Club.CuSoon and get further discount!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor if possible with the spa. It is worth the extra $$$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again (maybe next year?).
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

stayed two nights in early October and found the location to be perfect. right on the esplanade close to all the restaurants and marina, high enough to be away from any noise and with a great view - make sure you pay that little bit extra and get ocean view apartment, its worth it. staff helpful and welcoming. then at dusk stand on balcony and watch all the bats fly past - well thats one thing Cairns can keep ! all in all very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBofSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear MBof SA
Yes, those bats are amazing, thousands of them. Just another magic Cairns memory, but good to leave them behind! Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I would like to thank the manager, Brian of BreakFree Royal Harbour for the outstanding efforts of making my stay at the most comfortable level possible. I was located at the fifth level overlooking the esplanade and the ocean was so breathtaking. I appreciated the help he has given my mother and done his very best to help her with the disability access in the room as well. There is a kitchenette with fridge and kitchen utensils and cooked our home cooked meal. There is a pool and bbq facilities. It's very close to the shops, banks, bus station and town is only 10 minutes of walking distance.I would strongly recomend that everyone when wanting to stay at an appartment in the centre of town and the gorgeous lagoon to stay at BreakFree.
Thank you as well to the wonderful girls at the desk for your help as well... We miss you already xxx

Room Tip: The higher the room the the lower the noise. My fifth level appartment was just right
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mytrips123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Mytrips123,
It was a pleasure to help you both with your special needs, your appreciation makes us all feel very good. Thank you very much for your review.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Convenient location, close to shops, restaurants, cafes, marina and esplanade lagoon. All tours we did picked us up from hotel location. Great added bonus of a dedicated tour bookings desk that were very helpful even though we arranged most of our tours prior.

Nice reception and pool/BBQ area and facilities and attentive friendly staff. Slightly unorthodox one bedroom layout with a shower designed for couples and not quite a full kitchen with no oven (would describe more as kitchenette) but had everything we needed for a 4 night stay to see the sights of Cairns. Would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlz135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Carlz135,
Many thanks for your review, we hope to welcome you back one day soon.
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice recently on the fourth and sixth floors overlooking the pool. Our apartmens had a spa and were roomy and comfortable. The views looked across the Esplanade and out across the bay. It was a pleasure to sit out on the balcony, have a glass of wine and watch the cruise ships returning from the reef while the sounds of music drifted up from the park and pool area across the road. Immediately below the hotel are a number of restaurants and also the night markets so we did not have to walk far to obtain an evening meal. The staff are excellent and in particular Meegan at reception who helped with our booking, also helped us with storage of cases while on a tour and found us a park for our hire car when no space was obvious. This location is the best in Cairns and we have stayed in a few others not as good. If visiting for the first time ask the cabbie to drop you at the Abbott St entrance. This was one hotel we did not want to leave. Do yourself a favour.........

Room Tip: Book a seaview room, the higher the better. The extra fee is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seagullz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you Seagullz for your kind words. We hope you come back and stay with us again and again. Maybe next winter - it's such a long way from Tasmania.

As you mentioned, anyone arriving by car or taxi should come to our Reception which is located on Level 1 (up the ramp above the Night Markets), 60 Abbott Street, Cairns. This is the back of the building where the parking is - leaving all the front of the building for the pool, gardens and rooms with wonderful outlooks.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing