We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near the nightmarkets and in close proximity to restuarants,cafes and stores. We were in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor with a garden view. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.We found Franseca who manned the front desk at the hotel to be very friendly and helpful in making all our tour arrangerments. She along with the manager, Brian was helpful in getting our missing luggage.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view on a higher level would give you a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments Dave. We were only too happy to help you recover your luggage which included vital medication. It was a good outcome and we appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    226
    68
    17
    15
See reviews for
105
365
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Recently I stayed here with my 3-year old daughter in a 1 bedroom aparment. I had asked for garden view room (because it was less expensive!), but we were given one on the 2nd floor right in front of the pool and with views out to the sea - it was a lovely surprise! The apartment was a good size, however it wasn't quite as clean as it could have been - otherwise I would have given this Rating 5. The room was also surprisingly quiet given that it is located right on the Esplanade. Location and extremely helpful and friendly staff certainly made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I will have a closer look at the cleanliness issue. We are always striving for positive reviews and these have been forthcoming over the last year. But we must never become complacent, so I take your point.

For those who have not yet visited BreakFree Royal Harbour I just want to clarify that our Garden View Rooms are located on levels 2 and 3. Those on level 2 open onto the garden and pool area, those on level 3 have a balcony overlooking the garden and they all face to the ocean with ocean glimpses through the trees. Then our Ocean View Rooms are on levels 4 to 7 inclusive. The extra height allows for lovely views over the lagoon and out to sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good location. Across the road from the park, adjacent to cafes, restauarants and above the night markets.
Rooms are a good size. However the pool is somewhat small.
The internet at $2 for 10 minutes was a complete rip off considering it is very slow. I suggest you use internet cafes up the street,
Parking can be restricted with 1st in 1st served.
We only stayed 1 night on the 1st floor. If we were there longer would hace preferred room up higher with good views.

Room Tip: Get room up high with ocean views. You will pay more than for garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for your review. May I just add some info for other readers - the computer in the lobby costs $2 for 10 minutes. Most guests who use this computer just want to print out their boarding passes and for this it's perfect. There is wi-fi in our rooms but it is not free. Both the wi-fi and the lobby computer are provided by a separate company. Parking is free and not restricted. There are many parking spaces for BreakFree guests and at this time of year it's possible that they might all be in use. However there are plenty of other free spaces that we can direct our guests to - just ask at reception. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonbeach
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We previewed our room before booking and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff who were very helpful with advice and dates. Our stay did not disappoint... great location right on the esplanade and all activities able to be enjoyed from our balcony. Plenty of restaurants and cafes very close by as well as supermarket for supplies. We loved the spaciousness of the main room and that early morning sunshine was well appreciated by cold old Melbourne visitors! We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: The front rooms have slightly larger balconies and great views of all the activity on the Esplanade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetBonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you Janet for your positive feedback. These days people seem quick to complain but it's not so common for people to take the time and trouble to say something nice. We are most grateful.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tully, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on 6th level ocean view. Pay a little bit extra than the garden view but believe me, it's worth it. Absolutely gorgeous! Beautiful views. Had a late check in and all good, (staff leave welcome letter and key in safe outside reception door). Ideal spot. Walking distance to shops. Units spiffy clean and I can safely say that because my wife is a cleaner and she gave it the thumbs up. We've stayed at quite a few in Cairns and even the best of them didn't even warrant lifting the elbow! Lovely huge unit, with all you could want. Francesca at reception was very friendly, helpful and courteous. Definitely stay here again, but for longer next time. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Many thanks Michael, your kind words are most appreciated.
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed 3 nights on level 4 overlooking the waterfront and hotel pool. A top location, walking distance to shops, night markets, restaurants and attractions. staff were very helpful and we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteraot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to say something nice, we appreciate it very much.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in a 1BR harbour-front room, big and spacious and very high standard of finish, very clean with everything you could want. We arrived late, but received exceptional personal attention for the staff, Brian the live-in manager was just fantastic, and looked after us exceptionally well during our stay. All the staff are amazing, Meegan on the front desk was superb and organised our tours, finding really good deals for us. The hotel was brilliant and with this exceptional level of service we really felt part of a family there. They only downside was our stay was too short! we will definitely be back and next time for longer! highly recommended (and thanks to Brian and the team for making our stay superb!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeKLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Mike
Many thanks for your praise. We are always delighted to know that our hard work is appreciated. But for great people like you, being nice is not hard work, it just comes naturally.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing