We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite, clean and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quite, clean and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was excellent value for money. It is quiet, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The expansive garden is beautiful and well maintained. Three large main pools, surround by beautiful trees were clean and stylish (one had a swimming cave that children loved). An old sytle hotel, well maintained with basic clean rooms. It's not a luxury hotel but has a lovely atmosphere and I felt very comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with others and for highlighting that 'Cairns Colonial Club' offers excellent value for money!
Your comments about the gardens and their tropical splendour will be passed on to those responsible for their care - the gardeners will be delighted. Ahh... the 'cavernous whirlpool' is so much fun - children always love it and we are glad yours discovered it.
Wishing you and your family safe travels.
Kind regards - Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    264
    170
    87
    54
See reviews for
180
246
64
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night when we landed in Cairns and it was absolutely fine for what we needed. We landed very late, came straight to the hotel, crashed and left the next morning for Port Douglas. The price was very good and we felt we got good value.

The room was pretty basic but clean and we were happy. The pool areas looked very nice but we did not stay at the hotel long enough to use it.

Overall, our impression was that the hotel was decent enough with helpful staff. Breaksfast was also nice with decent value.

However it came across as "no frills" so do not stay here if you like luxury. However, for a clean basic room with what looked like a nice pool area, this is a good value place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slav198304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We are pleased you enjoyed your brief 'stopover' - and were happy with the 'value' we offer. Enjoy your time in Tropical North Queensland. If visiting 'Cairns Colonial Club' again, be sure to make time to enjoy at least one of the resort's three lagoon style swimming pools! They are truly a 'tropical delight'.
Kind regards - Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I don't often write reviews, but if writing this saves one person the disappointment I felt when I arrived here, then it will be well worth it !!
The first thing I realised after leaving the airport was that the location was terrible! To get into the restaurants, the beach, or even the shop ... it's a $15 - $20 taxi ride ... each way.
The main entrance to the hotel looks grand, but as soon as you pass the back of reception the hotel takes a dramatic change! The area where the accommodation is, is dirty, overgrown with plants and full of creepy crawlies... The rooms are dated and the facilities are tired. The ceiling fan was barely hanging on, and the tv was ancient.
In the bathroom, I quickly realised the room was infested with ants. The surfaces and bath towels, were crawling with them. We also found several small lizards and frogs living in the accommodation. (They had obviously heard about the ants too!) After mentioning this to the staff, they said it was due to the local 'Eco system' ... Personally I would say it is more down to the two inch gap under our front door, and the overgrown wilderness right outside ..!! We ended up using the ant infested towels to block the gap under the door at night, and still got numerous bites ...
However, despite all of this, the worst part of the stay was the ridiculously thin walls!! The large family of Chinese visitors staying in the surrounding rooms woke us up at 6.45 every morning, banging on neighbouring doors and stepping outside their own front door to hock up flem and cough it into the bushes. Disgusting!!
Overpriced, and falsely advertised! A far cry from what I was expecting after looking through their tactically chosen photos! Do not stay here. Awful!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate_S06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We endeavor to exceed our guests expectations and it seems we did not achieve this which we find disappointing. Location is personal. For many its ideal, being only 10 minutes from the city centre were one can enjoy a property surrounded by lush tropical gardens - but it is not for everyone. We hope you found Cairns fun and will consider visiting again. Kind regards - Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I would not book this place again. It seemed it was the place to go for Chinese tourists. Hundreds of them. We did not get much sleep as they were passing our room door at
all hours of the night and were quite noisy. Maybe they had planes to catch, I don't really know but they certainly weren't considering sleeping guests.

We were apparently upgraded when we arrived. Well thank goodness for that, I would not have liked to see the room we were initially booked for. Our room was very basic, but the price was reasonable though next time I will pay a bit more to get
a better room (elsewhere). There was a bad smell in the bathroom, either coming from the vent or drain. Perhaps a dead animal in the roof?

There were no wine glasses in the room. Had to ask at restaurant for two glasses.
which were taken by the cleaner so had to go and get two more. No ice trays in freezer.

Pool was dirty, a lot of dead leaves on the bottom mainly around the sides. I would
be concerned for small children and ear infections. Guess this would be a constant job with the tropical surroundings.

Desk service was fine and helpful

Room Tip: Don't know what room would be quieter. Can't really make a suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 247HappyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Good sized room. My husband celebrated his 60th birthday here and the hotel supplied us with a bottle of bubbly at a nominal cost, was in the room when we returned from day out. Lovely heated swimming pools. Good restaurant and poolside bar. Daily Bus provided to and from Cairns for a small charge. Laundry room so was able to catch up on washing and drying.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The rooms were simple and clean and the beds were ok The greenery is nice . . The breakfast was tasty but a bit limited especially the fruit etc . Staff were polite and helpful . Overall good value for money as the cost was reasonable , not the standards high .
Now for the negatives .....
1.No hot water at breakfast , hotel bulk coffee (which is universally awful) was available , but the hot water dispenser urn disappeared an did not com back
2.No pool towels in the box at the pool , which said pool towels"" No staff in evidence . Had to go back to the room in wet bathers and dry off . Bit sloppy really .
3. 3 buses blocked the entrance side by side to the hotel by side at 9 am ish . I had to run an errand in the morning and return and wished to park in the car park near the exit close to our room but not possible due to tour buses inconsiderate behavior . I had not the time or interest to cause a scene and simply took an inconvenient park and walked .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Grantlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing