We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$151
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$94
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$97
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Balinese Motel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$88
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Gardens(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$185
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$81
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Il Centro Apartment Suites(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$130
$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
$65
$62
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveler rating
133
289
190
96
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
289
190
96
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomestead restaurantgames roommain poolnice resortcairns centrereception areastudio roombuffet breakfastpoolstropicaltennisrainforestaustraliatoursreef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 769 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I don't often write reviews, but if writing this saves one person the disappointment I felt when I arrived here, then it will be well worth it !!
The first thing I realised after leaving the airport was that the location was terrible! To get into the restaurants, the beach, or even the shop ... it's a $15 - $20 taxi ride ... each way.
The main entrance to the hotel looks grand, but as soon as you pass the back of reception the hotel takes a dramatic change! The area where the accommodation is, is dirty, overgrown with plants and full of creepy crawlies... The rooms are dated and the facilities are tired. The ceiling fan was barely hanging on, and the tv was ancient.
In the bathroom, I quickly realised the room was infested with ants. The surfaces and bath towels, were crawling with them. We also found several small lizards and frogs living in the accommodation. (They had obviously heard about the ants too!) After mentioning this to the staff, they said it was due to the local 'Eco system' ... Personally I would say it is more down to the two inch gap under our front door, and the overgrown wilderness right outside ..!! We ended up using the ant infested towels to block the gap under the door at night, and still got numerous bites ...
However, despite all of this, the worst part of the stay was the ridiculously thin walls!! The large family of Chinese visitors staying in the surrounding rooms woke us up at 6.45 every morning, banging on neighbouring doors and stepping outside their own front door to hock up flem and cough it into the bushes. Disgusting!!
Overpriced, and falsely advertised! A far cry from what I was expecting after looking through their tactically chosen photos! Do not stay here. Awful!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate_S06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your review. We endeavor to exceed our guests expectations and it seems we did not achieve this which we find disappointing. Location is personal. For many its ideal, being only 10 minutes from the city centre were one can enjoy a property surrounded by lush tropical gardens - but it is not for everyone. We hope you found Cairns fun and will consider visiting again. Kind regards - Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I would not book this place again. It seemed it was the place to go for Chinese tourists. Hundreds of them. We did not get much sleep as they were passing our room door at
all hours of the night and were quite noisy. Maybe they had planes to catch, I don't really know but they certainly weren't considering sleeping guests.

We were apparently upgraded when we arrived. Well thank goodness for that, I would not have liked to see the room we were initially booked for. Our room was very basic, but the price was reasonable though next time I will pay a bit more to get
a better room (elsewhere). There was a bad smell in the bathroom, either coming from the vent or drain. Perhaps a dead animal in the roof?

There were no wine glasses in the room. Had to ask at restaurant for two glasses.
which were taken by the cleaner so had to go and get two more. No ice trays in freezer.

Pool was dirty, a lot of dead leaves on the bottom mainly around the sides. I would
be concerned for small children and ear infections. Guess this would be a constant job with the tropical surroundings.

Desk service was fine and helpful

Room Tip: Don't know what room would be quieter. Can't really make a suggestion.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 247HappyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Good sized room. My husband celebrated his 60th birthday here and the hotel supplied us with a bottle of bubbly at a nominal cost, was in the room when we returned from day out. Lovely heated swimming pools. Good restaurant and poolside bar. Daily Bus provided to and from Cairns for a small charge. Laundry room so was able to catch up on washing and drying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoverMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The rooms were simple and clean and the beds were ok The greenery is nice . . The breakfast was tasty but a bit limited especially the fruit etc . Staff were polite and helpful . Overall good value for money as the cost was reasonable , not the standards high .
Now for the negatives .....
1.No hot water at breakfast , hotel bulk coffee (which is universally awful) was available , but the hot water dispenser urn disappeared an did not com back
2.No pool towels in the box at the pool , which said pool towels"" No staff in evidence . Had to go back to the room in wet bathers and dry off . Bit sloppy really .
3. 3 buses blocked the entrance side by side to the hotel by side at 9 am ish . I had to run an errand in the morning and return and wished to park in the car park near the exit close to our room but not possible due to tour buses inconsiderate behavior . I had not the time or interest to cause a scene and simply took an inconvenient park and walked .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Grantlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews