We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service...Yeah Right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed August 1, 2008

I stayed here for four nights in July 2008. On one of the nights the conference room got booked for a wedding which had a live band thumping away until well after midnight. A complaint was made about the noise but the manager didnt care. If you want peace and quiet maybe look somewhere else for accommodation. Its a shame because it is a good resort otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kjmreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 740 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2008

If you plan to stay at this hotel, please make sure you request a newer room....preferably one on the top floor. We stayed at this hotel for three nights while traveling through Australia with a group of 42 teenagers from the US. For the first night, we were given a decent room (215) on the second floor that was quiet and well appointed. Nothing special about it. Many of our students were given rooms on a ground floor in the 300 block. They were smelly, musty, and unappealing. The kids liked them because they could fit four people in their room and they had mini kitchenettes.

Upon our return for the final night of our stay, we were now given a room in the 300 block. As soon as I walked in, I could feel a headache start to come on. The room was moldy and musty. When we requested a room change, we were given a room three doors door. Same problem. I went back to the reception and the clerks then gave us a room in the 400 block. They did admit that they were having problems after the recent rains. Whey they booked people in those rooms when others were available is a mystery. Our room (403) was wonderful. It was on the second floor with a nice balcony and was well appointed with a nice bathroom, iron and ironing board, safe in the closet, and other nice touches. That room was heaven!

The grounds around the hotel are beautiful, but it does take you a while to get a lay of the resort as there are many twisting paths and walkways. The pool is gorgeous, although a bit cold for our tastes. The kids loved the game room, and there is a small sanded play area for little tykes.

Great food at dinner and breakfast. There is a computer room with 5 terminals....we paid AU$8 for one hour's worth of computer time, which we could spread out as we pleased. Very nice gift shop. I do wish it were closer to downtown Cairns. There is an IGA grocery store and a few take out restaurants within a 15-minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Peter10573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

So tacky, all the trademarks of a hotel trying to be something it's not. Ridiculous fees for everything, horrible service (the people behind the desk won't even acknowledge that you're standing there), and cheesy decorations everywhere. The hotel is in a compound . Why did you come to Australia to be in a compound? Also, the food was awful.

Go to Port Douglas! It's an hour North and so much more charming, with a great nightlife, and great wildlife. Not to say that Cairns isn't great... but steer clear of this hotel unless you are an obnoxious beached whale tourist who thinks that traveling means a compound with fake colored swimming pools and floral Hawaiian shirts.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank gcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed here because our young adult tour began here. The staff were friendly and helpful, letting us keep our room after we joined the tour so we wouldn't have to pack up and move again. The pools were beautiful and quiet. Our room was wonderful, with a flat-screen tv, mini-fridge, energy-efficient light switches and a roomy closet. I would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mtraveltastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Cairns Colonial Club for three nights during July of 2008. Our advice is to STAY AWAY if you can. There were several other hotels in the area that were much nicer than this one for the same price.

One of the hotels our friends enjoyed was "The Lakes" which was completed in early 2008 (IE It's new!). The other hotel, that is near the downtown/beach area, is Gilligans.

I would suggest, if you are staying at this hotel, to ask for a room far away from the pool area or main bar. Anything on the first floor remotely close to this area will have loud noise until all hours of the night. People walking by your room will be heard as if they are in your room. This is due, in part, to the fact that the door has a one inch gap between the door and the floor. No, there is no molding or weather stripping just the opening. Using the house towels will help block the sound if you have already booked your room there.

PROS
- Free Shuttle to Downtown

CONS
- Run Down Hotel
- Noisy 1st Floor Rooms (Walkway Areas)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JonathanOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We only stayed at this hotel for two single nights at separate points during our month trip to Australia over Christmas and New Year 2007 / 2008. We used this hotel as our airport stopover in between connecting flights.

I also stayed at this hotel for a few nights about 6 years ago as part of a Contiki tour and the hotel and facilities do not appear to have altered in this time.

The hotel is a way out of the centre, but for an airport stopover or if you hire a car or use the hotel's bus, it's fine. The rooms we had were basic, but spacious and clean. The bathrooms could really do with refurbishment though - yucky orange colour suites.

The hotel gardens and pool area are lovely, but all the times I have stayed here (including 6 years ago), they have had a problem with biting insects. Take plenty of insect repellent with you!

We were pleasantly surprised by the food at the Jardin restaurant and thought this was good value.

In summary, this is a good budget hotel that represents excellent value for money. We would stay here again for an airport stopover, but if we were looking to stay in Cairns for a few days, we would prefer to stay at the Rydges Tradewinds (where we also stayed for a few nights during our trip) due to its location closer to the centre and the marina.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We were a little worried having read some of the reviews but were pleasantly surprised by the excellent service and well equipped rooms at this resort. The only negative was the food in the main restaurant which was shocking and the Jardine restaurant was closed due to being out of season. That said there's a free shuttle bus into town every hour or so and a cab back costs about 13 dollars (if you miss the last shuttle bus back!).

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shanda66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 63 in Cairns
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $72 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include a Conference Centre and a Gazebo. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing