We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed September 2, 2013

we stayed here for six nights in august, the pools were nice, though we didn't have time to use them, the rooms are basic, but clean. choice of pool cafe which has a games room or restaurant, food was basic, but nice. it is starting to look run down, but for the price we didn't expect 5 star so we weren't dissapointed..lots of chinese tour groups coming through, who were at times quite noisy especially when u are trying eat a quiet meal and watch the flat screen tv in the pool cafe. a fair way from any other eating places, but we had a car, so that wasn't a problem. compared to other places it was cheap and it suited our needs,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qldmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments - we value and appreciate your feedback.
The Resorts location 10 minutes from the Cairns CBD enables us to offer an ideal value option for those holidaying in Cairns. The expansive tropical gardens and three swimming pools - make for a truly tropical experience and a must to enjoy!
When next in Cairns we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 733 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

we visited for only a few days but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves would happily go back we had great rooms less than 20 metres from 2nd biggest pool . everyone flocked to main pool with the bar and resturant so had pool almost to myself . very friendly staff .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 12, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The Poolside Cafe by the Resorts main pool is a fun place! You can laze by the pool with a cocktail or catch up with friends and enjoy something on offer from the blackboard menu. With a games room, childrens playground and spa there too - there is something for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would love to go back for a longer stay. It has everything, Great pool and spa.
I arrived early and my room wasn't ready and they provided a spacious relaxing room to wait with coffee facilities, internet, television and even showers. The staff were excellent. We were a little too close to the pool and heard some noise outside the room but all else was top class.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 12, 2013

Thank you - your postive comments are appreciated. We trust your next visit to Cairns is longer as there is so much to see and do in Cairns. Or, if it a totally relaxing holiday you wish for there is no need to leave the Resort, we have three pools to laze around - perfect on a warm tropical day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Big affordable units with all the comforts you need. Great if basic food. Good and affordable kids meals with a play park and games room to keep them busy while you relax. absolutely beautiful pools and spa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnj512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with others - we are pleased your family enjoyed their stay! The tropical gardens are a highlight for many, and, the three swimming pools each with a waterfall are very hard to resist. The games room, and playground help to entertain the young ones and with childrens menus offered in the outlets - its an ideal holiday option for families visiting Tropical North Queensland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We flew into cairns late from weipa after a week of fishing, there was a group of nine of us.
Arrived at the hotel just before 10pm. The receptionist was fantastic ( her name was geisha?) organized our luggage ,rooms and kept the restaurant open just to serve us.
It is a nice motel with great pools, very good value but most of all the staff are fantastic, helpful and happy.
This motel does more than just look after you, they will help and make your stay rewarding.
Thanks again, recommend!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 12, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your experience at ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club with others and will be certain to pass on your positive comments to the staff. It inspires the team to know a guest has enjoyed their stay as they strive daily to make everyones visit a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Rooms are very basic, sofas not cleaned for a long time, everything looks like needing a makeover / renovation urgently. Stayed there before 10 years ago before it became an ibis Hotel, it lost soooo much since then. A very nice poolbar is closed now because it was broken into it. I definetly won't come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank holidayAugust2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 24, 2013

Please accept our apologies as the Resort did not meet your expectations on your recent stay.
As a team we strive to provide a pleasant and memorable experience for everyone and we are disappointed to know we did not achieve this on this occasion.
The Pool-bar has not been in operation for over 5 years. We found with people taking shorter breaks guests spent most days in Cairns out touring and away from the property. Poolside Cafe and Homestead Restaurant both offer bar facilties for those wanting to enjoy a cool tropical beverage.
Your feedback is appreciated - it is anticipated as the economy improves it will be possible to make further improvements to the infrastructure of the Resort.
We hope to have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice clean motel style room. Beautiful gardens and pools. Freindly staff - even opened up the suveniour shop for me at 3am so i could grab suveniours before my flight home. Everything you could need on site. Would certainly book again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 27, 2013

A leisurely stroll through the Resort's tropical gardens is always interesting. With 11 acres - we do boast our own 'little pocket of rainforest' which attracts local birds and butterflies.

If holidaying there is no need to leave the Resort as there is something for everyone - a Restaurant and Cafe, tour desk, guest lounge, resort shop, games room, childrens playground and three swimming pools to enjoy on a tropical day!

We appreciate your positive comments about our Team and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $76 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing