We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feel welcomed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The staff are always happy an friendly,
And welcome you like its your home ,
It doesn't matter if it's your first stay or your tenth.
They are always happy to help and make your stay as comfortable as can be .
A big thank you to all the staff .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 26, 2013

Many of our guests say it is 'their home away from home' - which is delightful to hear and rewarding for our team.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 738 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

For an older hotel the service and staff were very good and very helpful. The area was peaceful without a lot of traffic noise. Very good value for money and in a handy location.

The staff at reception were excellent and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 60grce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments. With the Resort surrounded by 11 acres of tropical gardens it lends itself to a tranquil relaxing stay - yet we are only a short distance to the city centre.

Your positive comments about our team are appreciated. They strive to provide friendly and efficient service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked online and I received a room upgrade with tropical breakfast. Pleasant surroundings with a pool view. Clean room, bathroom was a little tired but ok. Breakfast was good, but get there early. If the price stays the same, I will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tregaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is very dated and is like stepping back into the 1950's It needs a complete overhaul. Finding your way around even following the signs is like a maze. The location is far from the city centre and requires either your own transport or taxi use. There are far better hotels than this to stay at in Cairns.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank keg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club. Location is personal, some guests love the out of city experience, and some like to be near the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the 'pontins' style chalet rooms. They may look a bit tired on the outside but the room we stayed in had been re-fitted on the inside. The bed was amazingly comfortable. There were all the mod cons including a flat screen tele, ironing facilities in the room, a decent sized fridge with ice box and tea and coffee making facilities.
Cleaners were very helpful and came everyday. Clean towels, toiletries and tea/coffee/milk replaced everyday.
The pool areas were all relatively well kept and the gardens were fantastic. There was plenty of room to sunbathe - we didn't see another person all day at one pool we sat by.
Alcohol is expensive compared to the uk (it seemed this was the case everywhere though). Food at the pool bar was good quality, tasty snacks at a reasonable price - no dearer than in cairns centre.
The hotel is about 5km away from the centre of cairns. This was a bit if a pain as taxis everyday would have proved expensive (especially at night). The hotel shares a private bus service with the palm royale hotel. The bus was ok during the day but was a joke at night. There simply weren't enough seats to accommodate the number of people using the service. This resulted in people being left behind. On one occasion, none of the people (mainly Japanese and French) would get off the bus to allow parents with a small distressed child to return to the hotel - shocking!
Aside from this the stay was comfortable and good value. If you aren't interested in going out at night this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club with others.
The contemporary style of the refurbished rooms has proved popular with guests and the new beds ensure a perfect nights rest. Set on 11 acres has it advantages as it is always easy to find a quite spot around one of the three swimming pools. Or, if you choose you can mingle with other holiday makers in the Restaurant or Cafe at the Resort taking in views over the pool and lush tropical gardens. If visiting Cairns again - we hope to see you back at the Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Colonial club. Our ground floor Superior room was clean and cool. Although the resort rooms are dated, the bed was comfortable and the room clean and services by individual heat/cooling quiet heat pump units.
The restaurant and cafe food was good and like any restaurant (including 5 Star restaurants) its menu allowed for a 3-5 stay without having to revisit the same course twice.
It is a little out from the main strip of Cairns but there is plenty of free car parking within the resort. There is a regular resort bus which will transport you to and from Cairns if you don't have a car.
Family and couple friendly , the resort has multiple pool areas located around the resort so it isn't hard to get away and find a quiet place to relax and unwind or stay close to the main children friendly areas.

Room Tip: The superior rooms around the rear pool areas are quiet and relaxing. Heat pump style heating /cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CJ_reviews2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay for the price including breakfast. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was tidy and clean and serviced each day. Would stay there again next time I'm in Cairns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We thank you for your feed back and will pass on your comments to the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
502 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#22 of 63 in Cairns
519 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $73 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing