We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wullie39
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 732 reviews

An Accor traveler
Melbourne, Australia
94
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mkn56
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for work, and loved it. It was so relaxing and peaceful. There's a lovely eatery next to the bar. Nothing was too much for the chef, and I appreciated the beautiful grilled fish and salad. This wasn't on the menu, and he happily made it anyway. The service was always done with a smile. Thank you to all the staff, including the hotel maids who also were more than happy to help.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your enjoyment. It also pleases me greatly to hear your impressions of the Team – we do receive great comments on their friendliness and we are very proud of this fact. I will be sure to pass your comments on to all of the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Saffali
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Checked us in early at 8am after a long night of flying! Beds were comfy, but the rooms and bathrooms were a bit dated, as were the other parts of the hotel. Also a 20minute bus ride is required to get in to the city (that cost $8 for a return, last bus is at 9pm!!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback - it is our hope that plans to refurbish and improve on our facilities can be implemented as the economy improves enabling us to better serve our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Only stayed for one night which is a bit of a shame because the gardens and pools looked amazing. I arrived late in the vending on a dark and drizzly night and on check in was given a map to find my room which was on the other side of the resort. I think clearer signs are needed especially at night because it was quite the task to just find the room.
The room itself was spacious and the bed comfortable but it certainly showed lots of wear and tear and had certainly seen better days. The bathroom was where the room room really showed its age and was in desperate need of renovation or even just a replace not for the water damaged door.
The restaurant was very average. The food was ok but the service was not good at all. The waiter wandering around complaining to himself very loudly about guests and management was very off putting as we're some of his comments made to guests. They may not speak English but others in earshot certainly do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback - it is both valued and appreciated as it helps improve on our hotel standards.

With guests our priority, we are proud of our team who strive consistently to provide friendly and efficient service.

We appreciate your concerns and it is our hope that plans to refurbish and improve on our facilities can be implemented as the economy improves enabling us to better serve our valued guests.

I hope this will not deter you from future visits and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
511 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $76 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing