We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The place felt like an shack. Everything felt old and creaky. But very clean and it does have some charm about it. Lots of children and families running around and the pool is great. For the price this is a great hotel and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebuckby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and what we can do to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    264
    172
    88
    54
See reviews for
180
248
64
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

family friendly, excellent and curtious staff would highly recommend for family holiday.
excellent pool and spa services and games room tennis court.
several pools available including a childs pool area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dads_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your feeedback and positive response. Hope you have the opportunity to stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After driving from Melbourne to Cairns in a campervan this was our last night on the east coast before flying to WA. We were allowed to check in early which was a great bonus and gave us all afternoon to sit around the pool which was right outside our room.
The room had 2 large double beds in (not sure why?) but was very comfortable, clean and cool! The bed we used was very comfortable and quiet, the whole of the hotel grounds are planted with palms and tropical plants, very relaxing.
Dinner at the restaurant was very enjoyable and the breakfast very substantial. As we didn't have to be at the airport until 4.30pm we were allowed to check out at 12noon at no extra cost and then were given use of a room with showers where we could change after another relaxing day around the pool.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only slight downside is the remoteness of the hotel, quite away out out the city which meant either getting a taxi or bus into town. We didn't see any shops or restaurants close enough to walk to but as we were there only one night it didn't impact on our stay. Very handy for airport though.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sass157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. It is always good to receive feedback and we appreciate your comments on the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location of the accommodation was perfect - it provided us with a central base to visit all the activities we wanted to engage in from white water rafting at Tully, Hartley's crocodile farm, scuba diving, barrier reef and other tourist attractions
A great central location
The accommodation was great as well, a large master bedroom, a second bedroom, 2 shower/toilets and a loung and balcony that you could sing a cat in

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tato2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed there for a week in November 2012 with a large group of special needs athletes. Very comfortable units, lovely tropical atmosphere, and the 4 natural pools were wonderful. The staff were very helpful in giving us information on trips etc. We had large breakfast groups and the staff were very friendly and catered for all our dietary needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolin716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with the Special Olympics. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your enjoyment and the Team enjoyed serving the group, who were very special people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staying here is good value, although a little far from the centre of town. There are taxis available if you dont have a car. I love the breakfast that is included. The pools are lovely and the staff are always friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank local_one_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback and it is
pleasing to hear your impressions of the Team - I will be sure to pass your comments on to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've stayed here numerous times and can't complain. I generally arrive from overseas in the late afternoon/early evening and leave early in the morning (4am) and the staff at reception are always friendly and the shuttle bus is always there waiting.

The rooms are a little aged but they are clean, comfortable and there is always plenty of hot water.

I've eaten at the restaurant once and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. A little expensive for the meal (but hey the company pays!) and it was lovely.

I wouldn't recommend a room near the pool when it's holidays because where there are pools, there are children and noise!

A side note: this is generally the first stop for the shuttle bus when it's heading into Cairns, so when the bus is packed you don't have to stop at several hotels before you arrive to yours.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool during busier periods are always going to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_El_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your enjoyment. When the economy improves, further work will be carried out on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#32 of 64 in Cairns
467 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing