We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    269
    174
    90
    54
See reviews for
186
248
65
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Friendly staff, huge lobby, great Pool, beautiful garden.
Restaurant needs a bit of an upgrade. Tiles around the Counter where kitchen and salatbar is, were missing. Outside dining chairs needs new covers but otherwise it looks clean.
We had the Veal scallopini which was a bit disappointing, the sauce was not creamy and the taste was not as good. The salatbar was too expensive and again the taste was not great. The cakes were bland and the water for Coffe and tea was luke warm could get the tea to develop.
The view from our table was nice.We looked directly onto the Pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhx2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal, the Team would have been happy to replace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Location: 8 minutes drive to the city.
Facilities: poolsl, tennis court, 3 car parks (to minimise walk in the humid sunshine), restaurant and pool side bar restaurant.
Food: nice. Continental breakfast includes a variety of fruits and nice warm pastries.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petange, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

When a guest pays full price then full service should be provied. This wasn't the case during last xmas. In room, no new towels during 3 consecutive nights. No beds made, no cleaning, no coffee .... nothing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. My apologies for what appeared not to be our normal level of service.
I am sorry that you did not receive the advice that limited Housekeeping service was available [on request] on Christmas Day and Boxing Day - the Housekeeping Team were on hand and on call to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our second visit. The greats: 3 pools for the kids to choose from and they quickly made friends each day. We booked with continental breakfast included which was better than what you get at other places (included ham and cheese, fruit, yogurts, bread, croissants, chocolate croissants, fresh coffee and variety of cereal) could upgrade to a cooked if you want. We booked a room for a family of 5 which had a separate room with king and 2 sofa beds and roll away. We put the sofa beds away each morning which gave us heaps of room. It also had microwave, a good sized fridge ( bigger than a mini bar one) and it also had an electric frypan, which was great as we cooked for the kids each night to save a dollar. The room was generally clean, and even though other posts say that the place is noisy, we found it peaceful and had a good night sleep.

Things to improve: pool towels were hard to come by, but staff always got one if you asked. Hate paying for the shuttle bus into town as it was free back in 2010. But the drivers were lovely and were always on time. Otherwise if you walk out of hotel and down the road straight ahead of you, you can catch the 123 bus which goes ever 30 mins right into the centre. Pool bar needs some new fresh ideas of how to run it... Needs a new menu and open a little later. Even New Year's Eve it shut a 8pm. Heaps of families sitting around with money to spend ... but CLOSED. Reception staff tried to be funny and friendly but came over as patronising and unprofessional.

Best bits: A couple of staff seem to 'own' the experience which is rare to see with bigger hotels. We had 2 issues (out of hotels control) which were quickly solved and service recovered. Nice work which will ensure my advocacy. Special mention to Duty Manager Damian, head housekeeper Karen and most of all Peter who walked around the grounds and stopped every time to ask about our day... Could bottle these 3 up as great ambassadors of the hotel.

So in nutshell for the price we paid we were not expecting the Savoy, and got what we paid for and will be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a family room. The bedroom is at back so peacefully. If you can't walk w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshinOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you positive comments and also on the ways we can improve. Hope to see you at the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 64 in Cairns
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing