We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #41 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

OK for the price but do not expect anything out of the ordinary. A fair way out of the city area if you do not have a car.Pools good but noisy with the kids around .
Definately a motel rather than a resort.Getting a bit tired around the edges.

Room Tip: do not get near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated. We believe we offer value for money in a location out of the city in beautiful gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    262
    168
    87
    54
See reviews for
177
245
64
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our second trip to the Colonial Club and it ws as lovely as we remembered from our first visit. The tropical gardens are lovely as is the choice of three fantastic pools and a tennis court. My children loved the play area too. Rooms adequate and comfortable and excellent value for money. Buffet breakfast was included and this was enjoyed immensely by the whole family - plenty of food choices and a lovely restaurant setting made this a great start to each day for us. We also enjoyed the pool bar area and ate here a couple of nights. My children could not get enough of the pools - they just loved this resort! Very friendly staff who really went the extra mile and we were thrilled to meet Clive the Lorikeet on our first morning. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: The Superior rooms by the children's pool are in a great location with their own garden settings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a studio room upstairs. Slightly awkward dragging our suitcases upto it. We had a very nice outlook over to the pool area which was very attractive. The setup is very motel-like - and people needed to walk right past our door to get to their rooms , so at times it became quite noisy.
The studio room was quite compact - no chairs to sit on though, which we missed. Bathroom adequate, but the shower leaked quite a lot of water. Clean.
The breakfast restaurant was just lovely and we enjoyed three delicious breakfasts there.
All in all, perfectly good 3 star accommodation.
Location - you need a car or make use of their shuttle service into town, as it is about 10 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments as we always appreciate feedback. The Team would be always willing to help if something was missing or you needed assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel resort is unusual for Cairns as it is build low, with single story only so one quickly forgets that you are in the middle of a city. The only problem with this type of building is that the noise levels can be a problem so pack ear plugs just in case!! The pools are great!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We do ask our guests keep the noise levels down so as to respect others but it is hard to manage; sorry if you were disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the colonial club resort for three weeks in a fabulous one bedroom apartment. The facilities are second to none with a tennis court, for which you get easy access via the gift shop where you obtain tennis rackets and key to the court for a $10 refundable deposit. There are three fabulous pools, one with an in-cave jacuzzi and a hot tub! The poolside snack bar serves delicious food, we ate here on many occasions. The colonial club is situated in a great location, just a ten minute taxi ride into cairns town centre or you can take the free bus service from the hotel at regular times throughout the day with a return service. Overall we had a fantastic holiday in cairns, definately the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your positive experience and we will continue to strive to be good at what we offer - value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our room was lovely and spacious. There were several pools to choose from and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Service was great at reception and at the restaurant.
It's the perfect place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG-TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback which will be passed on to the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Cafe or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant to something more casual at the Poolside Cafe. Work up an appetite on the tennis court. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing