We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned to Mission Beach after spending 4 nights at the Colonial Club.
First of all I would like to congratulate the Staff on the excellent service provided. From the receptionist who processed our check in right through to the bar staff the gardners and even the room attendance. They were all very friendly and welcoming.
We had one of the recently refurbished standard rooms which was excellent value for money. $79.00 per night which included breakfast. Stay in Cairns CBD and you would be paying at least $150.00.
The 4 days we had at the Colonial club was very enjoyable so we will return on a regular basis from now on.
However there is one area I would like to suggest to Management for improvement.
This is 2012. Smoking is now anti social so why on earth would you spoil this delightful resort by allowing people to smoke openly throughout the resort.
We were is room 60 and had to walk through the gauntlet of 3 smoking stations to visit the dining room and reception area. We also noticed people smoking in rooms which seem to filter through the building we were in. I realise it is difficult for staff to police this problem so why not make this beautiful resort smoke free the same as most hotels in Cairns. If you need to cater for the Asian guests I suggest you have a separate area at the rear of the resort for this purpose.
Because people were smoking in rooms we were also concerned that there were no smoke detectors in the rooms.
So that we can improve your rating next time to excellent can you please make some drastic improvements in this area. After all you will only be catching up with the rest of the hospitality industry.
Colonial Club has an excellent future and Iam sure we will return. Hopefully to see an improvement in the above area.

Room Tip: Refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hibiscuslodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

We endeavor to exceed our guests expectations at all times and it appears we did not achieve this on all occasions during your visit. I am sorry the points mentioned were not taken care of by the Team who would have been happy to fix any issues for you. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 740 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here 25-29 aug. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was in need of a major face lift as was the public areas. Our bathroom was not clean upon arrival, there was a coffe stain on the back of the bathroom door, there was hair in the bath tub and during our stay the bed sheets were not changed once, despite there being a coke stain on the sheets. We enjoyed the pool and the outside bar was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback and it helps us improve on our standards. We are working on some minor improvements to the bathrooms which is an ongoing project for a property of this size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights as a base for our holiday in the far north. Reception staff exceptionally welcoming and helpful, well done! Room was more modern than expected and well cleaned, just the bathroom needs a little maintenance - but all was satisfactory especially for the price. Gardens and pool areas immaculately clean and very pleasant. Noisy at night due to the location of our room in a courtyard but this was of minimal inconvenience. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. It is always good to receive positive feedback along with constructive comments to help us improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked last minute and got a really good deal. Having read the reviews I did not have great expectations, but was very pleasantly surprised. My room was spacious, well equipped and very clean. Tropical breakfast was included and there was plenty to chose from.

The hotel grounds were full of beautiful local flora and there were 3 lovely pools.The staff were all extremely polite and helpful. We ate most nights in the restaurant where the food was very good and excellent value. I had a most enjoyable stay and would definately go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbowoverwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We appreciate your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

the rate was impressive . i used 4 rooms. $71 including breakfast more than makes up for slightly tired rooms and a location that is not on the waterfront.
arrived very loate - after midnight & staff very efficient & pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atmbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay. We believe we offer good value for money and are currently working on some minor upgraded to the oldest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Attended a conferene. First time in Cairns and will re-visit for holiday. Found the staff very helpful and polite the only quibble is they do not do early access until AT LEAST 2pm, unfortunate if you have an early landing flight.
Grounds are as expected for a "Tropical" location. Room was adequate but not luxurious.
As with MOST establishments these days an ARMCHAIR would be a good idea.
Beds were good, some people were disturbed by noise early in the morning but this was due to early departures and luggage rattling past.
Restaurant - Breakfast and main meals are of good quality and value, very fresh.

Room Tip: A room by the pool is still OK as they do not allow late night swimming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

There is always room for improvement and we thank you for your feedback and positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desusa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 63 in Cairns
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $72 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include a Conference Centre and a Gazebo. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing