We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff and comfortable accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #41 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and comfortable accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We both really enjoyed our stay. The staff are fantastic and the resort overall is lovely. Some areas of the resort are a little tired but if you are looking for clean and comfortable and want great value for money accommodation then this is your place.

We would stay there again (as a couple, not family).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thank you so much for posting your response following your stay with us and thankyou for highlighting our wonderful value proposition for guests.
I trust you enjoyed your time in Tropical North Queensland and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    262
    168
    87
    54
See reviews for
177
245
64
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Simple and fuss free , decor is typically Queensland style , nice open areas, breakfast was adequate , room was adequate.
Staff were helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy&suey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post your comments following your recent stay.
I trust you enjoyed your time in our part of the world and that you managed to visit the world-heritage-listed Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest whilst you where here.
We look forward to the possiblity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I feel a bit of a fraud reviewing this hotel- my family only stayed here because our Jetstar flight was simply cancelled- this is their hotel of 'choice' so we weren't paying! Budget airline... budget hotel.
Peter on reception was delightful- couldn't be more helpful- even came out and took us to our room on the far end of the 11.5 acre site. The room, a 'family' room, had 2 fold-out beds for the 2 kids. The other room had a big bed with a couple of feet clearance either side. The bathroom had a mini bath/shower which doubled as a fungus factory, wall-to-wall mould. The bedroom had blood on the wall. It could only be described as filthy. The air con unit was covered in dust. There were toothpaste 'splatters' on the mirror- yuck!

The restaurant manager was kind enough to let us have more choice than on the short 'airline' menu and allow us into the more salubrious white linen restaurant with a wider choice. Dinner was fine albeit that a basic Swan Valley Sandalford wine delivered was ordered as a 'better' Margaret River wine.

We didn't see the grounds in daylight but they are described as 'tropical gardens'. They certainly are infused with some tropical 'scents'- not all pleasing!

Given the opportunity by Jetstar to spend most of the next day before they would fly us out of Cairns we decided to spend the money and get the hell out at the first opportunity- daybreak. On the plus side we didn't see a single insect or a rodent in our room but all in all not an experience we could recommend to anyone.
The restaurant staff couldn't be more helpful- the reception staff were absolutely first class.
Maybe they have 2 classes of accommodation- one for paying customers and one which accomodates those being put up by a budget airline?? I wouldn't take the risk...

Room Tip: I don't think the best room is in THIS hotel! Try another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had not booked prior to arriving back into Cairns after being on the road around the Atherton Tablelands and found it impossible to get accommodation close to the Esplanade due to the Cairns Festival.The Four Seasons in Cairns was very kind and phoned ahead to the Resort for vacancies for us. I must say we were a little desperate at the time and didn't really mind what standard the accommodation was. We jumped at $135 plus breakfast for a night and were pleasantly surprised with the room, the pools the breakfast and the over the top friendly staff. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything right. We stayed three nights and the staff even organised a tour for us to Green Island for the day which was simply fantastic. We had a hire car which made it easier to get to the main area of shopping.We had a 5.30am flight to catch from Cairns to Canberra and the hotel has it's own bus, so we and about 10 others set off for the airport at 4.30am with one of the nicest, brightest staff ladies you could meet at 4.30 in the morning. The check in was seamless and the checkout just as good. I will be recommending this hotel to anyone that I know who will be travelling to Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForbesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
It is so uplifting to know that, on occasions, we get it right....it is what we strive to do constantly...!
I believe human interaction is what one recalls following a visit to a hotel / resort and I'm so glad to read that you not only enjoyed our facilities but also the interaction with our team members - thank you for that.
I trust your trip back to Canberra was safe and that we'll have the possibility of welcoming you back to our region and to our resort soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

stayed there for 3 nights part of a conference. nice resort with three great pools, loved it - although aparantly they are slowly renovating it - so the room felt like it needed some work, dripping shower, some peeled paint here and there - but overall it was a good place if you are happy to just stay there and stay by the pool - not much around the resort you will need to take a bus or taxi to get to centre of Cairns.

Also, the only place they have internet access is around the reception area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you so much for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
With our 345 rooms across the 11acres of land, we are constantly in a state of maintaining our infrastructure including rooms and gardens.
I'm glad you were able to take in some wonderful Tropical North Queensland winter weather by one of our 3 swimming pools.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We booked at the Cairns Colonial Club for a week on a friend's recommendation but ended up leaving after one night. Their wheelchair access rooms are the most accessible to the car park, but in all other respects have the worst location. You are right next to reception and the smoker's area, and the room has paper thin walls, so you have smokers talking loudly on mobile phones at midnight and 2am, and busloads of Chinese tourists yelling as they walk past your room on the way to check out at 4am. It was also filled with ants. And although this accommodation offers rooms with cooking facilities, this is not an option if you are in a wheelchair. (They did offer to put a microwave in our room, but without utensils or plates also being offered it was a bit useless.) To top it off they have the rudest guy working in the dining room at breakfast time; I told him the manager had quoted me $15 for breakfast but even when I showed him her email he told me it was a typo and she was wrong - talk about bad customer service! Also, although they offer an airport shuttle, you aren't allowed to catch it if you're in a wheelchair - which means you have to pay four times as much for a taxi. (Incidentally the compedium in the room and the video on their website say the shuttle is free - it's not, they are just useless at updating their information.) The only nice thing I can say about the place is that their pool looked pretty and they have delicious croissants for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thankyou for taking time to post your review following your recent stay.
We constantly endeavour to exceed customer expectations - it appears on this occasion we did not achieve this goal.
Your points have all been taken very seriously and we are in the process of attending to many of the items you've raised including smoking sites around the resort, wheel chair friendly room types which have mini-kitchen facilities etc.
Please rest-assured that customer service from all team members to all guests is always our number 1 priority.
I trust you were able to enjoy your time in our part of the world.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Overall the resort is very nice, they're doing lot's of renovations to the grounds which will make it even nicer.
The food at the restaurant was great and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Reception staff were good also.
Location is a little out of town, but that's ok as it gives the place more of a resort feel. The shuttle bus is good value and the times are frequent and handy. It leaves from the major shopping areas so I just picked up some drinks and snacks at the supermarket in town to bring back with me although the prices at the resort shop aren't too bad.
The rooms are all renovated and was extremely clean and tidy when I checked in. The daily service seemed a little rushed though. Tea and coffee weren't always replaced, the bed was often made badly with it looking like the sheets were just pulled up and the pillows thrown any old way (i should have taken a photo) and I don't think the floor is vacuumed daily.
Internet next to reception is reasonable for a hotel although in the rooms it's extremely overpriced. Also they have probably the worst selection of tv channels i've ever encountered in a hotel. There's no reason not to have the digital channels these days. I think it's a way to make you use the pay per view movies. I did for one day and got the $24.95 all you can watch option which isn't too bad. I know you don't go to a hotel to watch tv but at night it's nice to have something to watch.
Overall it was a good experience and i'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay.
We are always trying to update our services and I'm glad you were able to utilize our frequent airport and city transfers - both available at nominal fees.
The room servicing issue will be taken up with our housekeeping department - thank you for bringing this to our attentin.
I'm also pleased with your mentioning of our team members who do an amazing job at ensuring all guests are made to feel welcome - such an easy thing to do and yet difficult for some to master...!
The selection of in-room channels has been noted and will be discussed further; I'm glad you chose not to spend your whole time in your room though and enjoyed all that our region has to offer both around our gardens and our all-important Reef & Rainforest, World Heritage-listed sites.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Cafe or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant to something more casual at the Poolside Cafe. Work up an appetite on the tennis court. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing